We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bourbon Orleans really enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bourbon Orleans really enjoyable”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Bourbon Orleans has a lot going for it. Location, a beautiful lobby, lovely pool area, nice rooms. I would suggest a room overlooking the pool area as rooms overlooking the street can be a little noisy sometimes. Breakfast, as in most hotels, is a little too pricey. Plus you're in NOLA - there are so many great places to eat. Pere Antoine around the corner is wonderful for breakfast and the Orleans Grapevine, right across the street, is an amazing little restaurant, without being too touristy. The pool area is lovely but would be better with more chairs and no smoking (particularly cigars). The hotel bar is good, but sometimes gets overwhelmed with Bourbon St. drinkers. All in all, a great place to stay in NOLA, safe and convenient. The door staff are particularly friendly and helpful - a great group of guys!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter than overlooking the street. Lower floors are more convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniel716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,798
    1,433
    317
    93
    52
See reviews for
1,160
2,436
177
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel it was immaculate from check in to check out it was great the staff was courtesy, professional and extremely helpful. The hotel set in the French Quarter was a perfect location walking distance to everything, we chose a room with a balcony which just added to a perfect stay, we enjoyed after touring relaxing on the balcony listening to music and hearing the excitement of the streets before going out to indulge. Here are a few people whose names I remember but understand everyone was wonderful. Thanks to Ron the concierge was amazing and knowledgable he booked all are tours effortlessly. WW2 Museum a must , we did the swamp tour which my husband loved and the Cemetery Voodoo tour. Allen and Caleb great housekeeping perfect .

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froggie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford On
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Small rooms but big enough to accomadate. Nice decor with everything you will need but a fridge in the room. Luved this place great location wonderful staff. The staff were very helpful in finding the best out of the norm places to eat. Give it a try you will be happy!

Room Tip: Ask for inside rooms if you value sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet-MikeQuest4Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Third visit, if possible, gets better every time. Wonderful location, very historic building, immaculately kept. All staff very polite, helpful, and knowledgeable. Went to the Easter Sunday Brunch there, all was top of the line, surroundings, service, food, and the Jazz Trio.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor overlooking the pool, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We've stayed at several hotels in New Orleans, each with their many charms. Hands down, the hotel staff at Bourbon Orleans was the nicest and most attentive we've seen. Their personal service truly elevated the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELC686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel has the location for tourists of New Orleans. It is close to everything in the French Quarter but retracted enough to be quiet (at least our room).

On the bright side our room as quiet, overlooking the pool and had what you would need. On the bad side the room was tiny with everything crammed into it including a desk jammed between the bed and the wall. The shower was LOW and as a 6'4 I had to make Circue de Soleil moves to get completely washed. I also has the unappealing lift of the side-corridor which makes it seems less then attractive.

The really selling point was the extremely nice and smiling staff and the location, so with a good price I would go back, otherwise not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for the second weekend of Jazz Fest - I'd been wanting to check this hotel out for a long time - glad we finally did! The hotel has a quiet, stately feel to it. Every member of the staff, from the doormen to the front desk to housekeeping was fantastic - warm, professional, and on top of it.

Or room was both charming and modern. The best part about it was how QUIET it was - I was floored to find out how close we were to Bourbon street, but noise was not an issue at all. Further, our room actually faced the pool on the first floor - but we didn't hear a thing.

Loved that we were able to walk to everything - it was a longish but do-able walk to the fairgrounds (maybe 40 mins?) - and of course the hotel is IN the French Quarter, so you're close to anything you'd feel like doing there. Grabbing a cab was no problem either the couple times we opted to do that.

Would definitely return again - and next time want to check out the hotel bar - sounds like we missed out by not doing so!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,101 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,306 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,154 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing