We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Erin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We took a good look around the internet for a nice but not overly extravagant hotel near Jackson Square. The Bourbon Orleans fit perfectly. The arrival and check in (earlier than stated time) was quick and painless, everyone was very cheerful and attentive. We had a 3rd floor loft room that had a good sized downstairs living room with bar, upstairs bed and large bath. Lots of light through the large windows with inside shutters. We heard very little noise from the street at night. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, and only had 1 drink in the bar, but it was nice, opened up right onto Bourbon Street. We ate the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant. It was great but a little pricey, but worth it since we didn't have to go out and stand in line somewhere else. Check out was easy, and they held our bags while we spent another few hours touring the city. We had until 4pm that day to get our car from the valet. I was very pleased with the friendly service we received throughout, and you really can't beat the location. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mark R,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed one of our loft suites and that our staff was engaging. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,484
    1,343
    298
    84
    49
See reviews for
1,051
2,264
155
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a gem !!! Perfect location,close to everything, including the excitment of BOURBON STREET,but walk in the front doors and you step into the peacefull , elegance that is the BOURBON ORLEANS HOTEL .Perfect staff who care,great rooms , beautifull courtyard and pool area.GO NO FURTHER THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU !!!

Room Tip: interior room are so quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyglimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear JohhnyGlimmer,

Thank you for coming to visit us from Canada and for selecting the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I agree with your comment-Go no further- this is the hotel for you! We appreciate all of our guests and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our valet, Wendell Davis, and his partner absolutely sprinted and sweated to make sure that we got our car just in time to make a morning meeting. Service like that is not forgotten and well appreciated!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Kyle D,

Thank you for your nice comment regarding Wendell. I have shared your feedback with our valet team and it will serve as great motivation as we enter summer! Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We researched the heck out of hotels in New Orleans for our first trip there. There seemed to be a lot of good reviews for this hotel, so we booked this. It was not a cheap place to stay, especially for the 1st 2 nights (we didn't realize until after the trip was booked that the New Orleans Jazz Festival was going on the same time - oops!), but it was so worth it. We were in New Orleans for 5 days, and having this hotel right in the French Quarter and so close to everything was great. Very convenient to all the FQ tourist spots, and it was nice to be able to take a very short walk to the river and Jackson Square area in the mornings. I'd requested a high floor, courtyard side (for quiet) and something nice, as this was our anniversary. The hotel came through, and booked us into room 656, and had champagne for us when we arrived - very nice.The room was small, as others have mentioned, but we knew that, and it wasn't any smaller than other rooms in Europe. And even though Bourbon Street was very close by, we couldn't hear anything at night. The bathroom was very clean. The A/C worked great in the room, and was very quiet - yay!! A really nice touch for me was the chair in the room. Most hotel room chairs are pretty standard. This room had a Herman Miller Aeron ergonomic chair! Just like I have at work. It was really nice having an adjustable chair, and even better, one that could recline. So I could kick back and put my feet up. That was an unexpected and really nice touch. The bar was nice, for the one time we visited there. The hotel puts out iced tea in the lobby in the afternoons - that was nice. The staff at the hotel were all very polite and accommodating. I don't know that the swimming pool was up to par. We went in one night, and it seemed that the water was not that clean, or that the filtration wasn't quite working. The pillows in the room were very firm, and there weren't any other softer pillows - that was too bad. However, all else was great, and I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: High floor, courtyard side if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qaxalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear qaxalot,

Thank you for staying with us for your anniversary. Special occasions are always delightful here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Please let all of your friends and family in the Bay Area know we look forward to welcoming them to the World Famous French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

i loved everything about this place, although it borders on bourbon st you would never guess it from inside. the pool was perfect place to relax and the bar was amazing, beds were easy to fall asleep on, as soon as i can take some more time of work i will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

When researching where to stay for our trip to New Orleans, I think I looked at everything on Tripadvisor. Something kept drawing me back with the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Once I booked, I still kept looking, but was still drawn back. I have concluded that I could not have chosen better for us. The location was central to everything for us. The service was amazing and the people went out of their way to say hello. The only drawback for me was the garbage pick up outside between 6 and 7 am. Thankfully always get up early....(sad huh).

Both the Bourbon "O" bar and Roux were very good and the service matched the rest of the hotel. Can't wait to come back and explore further!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlfaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear tifaria,

I was delighted to read that the Bourbon Orleans kept drawing you back and that you made the decision to stay with us. We appreciate you nice comments regarding our restaurant and bar and that you enjoyed our staff and location. Please let all your friends and family in California know we are ready to welcome them to our distinctive city and provide them with a unique FQ experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel has a beautiful lobby. Caleb, a bellman, was very welcoming and attentive. The rooms very comfortable and clean. Loved the hotel bar. We spent our late evenings in there listening to the wonderful live music and people watching out the open French doors. Would recommend this to everyone and will stay here again when traveling to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Lisa F,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I appreciate your nice comments regarding Caleb, our star bell captain. He is truly unique! Please let all your friends in Georgia know we are ready to welcome them to the FQ where live music is really happening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,917 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing