We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! What a great hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow! What a great hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Location, value, facilities, history, beauty: this hotel has it all.
Situated in between Bourbon street and the cathedral. Right in the best part of the french quarter this hotel had an amazing location. The hotel itself and the rooms were stunning. Walking into the lobby I felt like I was stepping back in time and everything was amazing.
The pool was refreshing and well kept. The rooms were clean, comfortable and surprisingly spacious.
All of this and we paid much less than I would have expected to for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jeanette E,

Thank you for coming all the way from Down Under to visit us here in the French Quarter, we were honored to have you as our guest. Our location is truly one of the best in the city and I am delighted you had a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,343
    1,309
    291
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,000
2,190
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

had a good time in a nice, lively hotel. If you want to get some rest, this is not the place to stay. At least don't get a room that faces the street. Great location...almost right on Bourbon St. The bar was great!!!

Room Tip: if you want to get some sleep...don't get a room near the street. NOLA is a party town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammyk3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Pammyk 3434,

Thank you for staying with us here the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. While we are in a sea of celebration we do work to ensure our guests experience an oasis of hospitality. The Bourbon O Bar is a fun place and one of the only craft cocktail bars on Bourbon Street. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are small but I wasn't here for the room. The part that did bug me the most was the AC blows right onto your face ALL night long. Also the fan in the bathroom is motion sensed so it regularly turns off while you are in there. Other wise no complaints.

Room Tip: The street gets some noise from Bourbon which doesn't close down....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Amanda G,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans. We appreciate all of our visitors from Canada! I will review our air conditioning fans with my Director of Engineering. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Bourbon Orleans is a beautiful hotel and its location is perfect. It will take less than 5-10 minutes to walk to Café du Monde, Jackson Square, Bourbon St or the French Market. The staff is very friendly and had excellent recommendations for tours, restaurants and shops. Has a superb bar, Bourbon O, in house. The rooms were roomy, clean and had comfy beds with plenty of pillows. My room was facing the street and I did not hear any noise. What I really loved, besides the incredible friendly staff, was that it was located in the heard of the French Quarter and easy walk or short distance from everything. This is my choice hotel to stay for any future trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Myriam L,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our friendly staff. We strive to represent the best in hospitality! Please let all your friends in California know we are here and ready to welcome them to the Vieux Carre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My mom and I stayed here on a work trip a fews weeks ago. What a great find. It is right in the heart of the french quarter and on the end of bourbon street. We stayed on an inside room and had our own door to the pool. It was on the bottom floor and a great location. The room size was large, perfect for two people. The beds were nice and soft. The walls and carpet are slightly showing their wear, but kind of added to the french quarter charm. The pool was adorable and got lots of sun even though it was surrounded by the hotel. We got there and our room wasn't ready, but they sent us with a drink coupon and a smile. The breakfast buffet was not too expensive and really nicely done. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor with outside access to the pool was really a lot of fun! Very quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateluvssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Kateluussun,

It was a pleasure to learn how you enjoyed our poolside guestrooms. I am delighted you enjoyed the Bourbon O Bar as well. Please let all your friends and family in Oregon know we are here for them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tn
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

These people have hospitality down to a "T"!!! I can NOT say enough good things about them. They are friendly, warm and welcoming. There is nothing that they can not fix, with out question, with utmost professionalism, and with a smile. I LOVED staying at this hotel. Our room was superb! The room was clean, neat and beautiful. The hotel is in a great location and the price was great!!! The restaurant was wonderful! Timothy was our waiter and he was very accommodating!!! Detail was paramount to this staff. Thank You!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneof5Knoxville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear one of 5 Knoxville_TN

Thank you for your very nice comments regarding our hospitality. Our associates are very engaged and I will be certain to pass on your comments regarding Tom and Melissa. As you know, details are what the hotel business is all about. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We had a corner room on the 6th floor with windows on both Bourbon & Orleans. A little noise at night but nothing one couldn't sleep through. The room was xtra large, U shaped with living room, bar & TV on one side, hallway with bathroom, then large bedroom on other side. The bathroom fan had a sensor so when you walked in the fan would start, which drove my husband crazy but I liked. Location is fabulous, staff friendly & helpful-especially Melissa at front desk & Louis at the door. Mimosas&Bloodys in lobby on weekends nice touch. Would definitely recommend !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Pamela B,

Thank you for your nice comments about Louis at the Front Door and Melissa at the Front Desk. I will be certain to recognize their contribution to your guest experience. Please let all your friends and family in Indiana know we are ready with Bloody Mary’s to welcome them to the Bourbon Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,893 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,821 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing