We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great location - close to everything. Hotel was very clean and staff friendly. Didn't love the bar but only went there once. Found the bartender a bit full of himself. Doormen were all friendly and helpful when asked for directions. Would stay there again on next trip to NOLA.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Kim P,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans! We were delighted to have you with us and hope you will let all your friends in Canada know we ready to welcome them to the “Heart” of the FQ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,463
    1,337
    298
    84
    48
See reviews for
1,044
2,255
154
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel for the 2014 Trad Jazz band camp. I travel a lot for business and have stayed in far too many hotel rooms in my life. I can confirm that this hotel is elegant and comfortable, and that the staff is exceedingly gracious and accommodating. The location is great - right in the center of everything, between Jackson Square and Bourbon Street. If you go, don't miss a visit to Fritzel's jazz club next door for some authentic New Orleans music.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bourbon Street can be noisy until late at night. For a quieter room, ask for one facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschneid93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jschneid 93,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our property and gracious staff. Fritzel’s is a good neighbor and a fun place and I am happy you enjoyed the music. Please tell all your friends and family in Illinois to come on down and enjoy some good Jazz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Pros :
Great Location, You just cant beat the location
Good Service - Staff is very attentive, professional and tries to do everything they can.

Cons :
Rooms are extremely small. Amenities are very limited.
This is a good quick weekend hotel. extended stay, as I was (5 nights) is not conformable. hotel is not designed for longer stay.
As I suggested staff tries to do everything that they can, but what they can is very little. room noise are very loud. walls are very thin. you can hear and join in the conversation from next room. Bar downstairs have very weird process of ordering food. sometimes your drink order was forgotten and showed up twice in the bill.

I would stay there for a night or two, for quick gateway but nothing more then that.

Room Tip: just ask for pool side room. trust me at least it quiets down after 10pm . bourbon street does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Gunjan S,

Thank you for staying with us for 5 nights. I have taken note of your comments and appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly when planning a future visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Bourbon Hotel over the Father's Day weekend and enjoyed this place. The staff was excellent, the room was clean. It's location was perfect. We were able to walk to everything. We saw the people from the jazz camp performed. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool. I loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Gracie 829,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans. We are delighted to be a wonderful surprise and hope you will come back soon for a repeat performance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just return from our stay at the Bourbon Orleans hotel. We are a middle age couple. I was looking for a hotel with historical charm. This hotel not only meet but exceed our expectations. The staff was delightful. The room was wonderful. We had a balcony - that we enjoyed every morning and evening. The room had a loft for the bedroom. It was spacious, clean and very charming. I loved the French doors to the balcony.

The location is wonderful. We walked every where..obviously through the French quarters, to the Mississippi River, Harah's and Riverfront outlet stores. Definitely no need for a car.

I definitely would stay in this hotel again. And will recommend it to my friends

Room Tip: The French Quarter area is very loud at night which goes on until early morning. For a quieter night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jackie H,

Thank you for staying with us this month. Certainly the Bourbon Orleans has historical charm and our lobby and ballroom areas actually date back to 1807. I am delighted you experienced one of our balcony suites, they are a special experience. Bring all your friends and family from KC for a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Location is perfect, in the middle of the French Quarter, and many of the rooms have quiet windows facing away from noisy Bourbon Street. I was part of the TradJazz Camp week, and we were all treated wonderfully. Staff was very courteous, and the non-camp guests seemed to enjoy our presence there, especially in the evenings when we jammed in the lobby, the bar, and across the street at the wonderful traditional-jazz-supporting Fritzel's.

Room Tip: You can get a room overlooking busy Bourbon Street, the beautiful pool area, or other quiet directio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear WATDOT,

Thank you for staying with us this month. The Traditional Jazz Camp event is really wonderful and we have had the honor of serving this group for the past 5 years. It is certainly a bit of lagniappe to be a guest at the same time as this group. The hotel rocks with Jazz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a few rooms booked, and were anticpating "middle of the action"...we weren't. This property is at the very end of Bourbon Street. The New Orleans Police Department puts up a barrier just prior to the block where this property begins. So, essentially, if you are looking to avoid the action on Bourbon...but be near it...this is the place. We were looking for more a center of the action place. I would recommend Royal Sonesta or Four Points by Sheraton. Now, the staff here. EXCELLENT! Everyone from the front end staff, to the bell desk, to the cleaning staff...all above and beyond great. We were happy with the suite and the "rack room" and the price was pretty good too. Just a little let down that our Bourbon Street Balcony, wasn't really as advertised...very little foot traffic, and not busy at all even during peak hours.

Room Tip: Bourbon Balcony Suite not worth the money...cool room but defeats the purpose of being on Bourbon St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Anthony M,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans. The police barricades are up on many cross streets during the evenings to encourage foot traffic and restrict cars and trucks. This being said, our 700 block is generally very busy. Thank you for your nice comments on our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
2,958 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing