We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful but loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous room just a little loud. We had a balcony suite, it was very entertaining to watch the people below but when it was time for bed it was hard to fall asleep. We were woken up a few times through the night from the hotels fire alarm going off about three times in the early am hours when Bourbon street finally got quite. Then after the fire alarm finally shut up the people across from the building decided 6 am was a great time to run a wood saw. So all in all I didn't get to enjoy a nice peaceful sleep in a queen sized bed ( we reserved a king) due to the noise. Because of that I doubt we will return but it was a awsome beautiful hotel and the staff was very friendly. If you don't have kids and don't care about noise this would be a great place for you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taboggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,484
    1,343
    298
    84
    49
See reviews for
1,051
2,264
155
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was my 3rd visit to this Historic property. Each time has been a treat. I'm already looking forward to returning. The staff is amazing. Service, courtesy & friendliness are in great supply. The location is fantastic just behind Jackson Square and on the corners of Bourbon Street & Orleans Street. The pool is a quiet oasis when one is ready to escape the Nawlins' rowdy scene :) Excellent food is the 'frosting on the cake'. Pun intended.

Room Tip: Located on the corner of Bourbon St. & Orleans St provides lots of people watching and even part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkSaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us for a 3rd time. Certainly repeat guests are a big part of our hotel! I am very happy that you enjoy our staff, we work hard to provide an authentically friendly guest experience here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. We are ready for your 4th visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanham, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

July 4, - 7, 2014

Customer service was excellent and the accomodations were beautiful. Had not stayed there since 2004, and we were impressed than and even more impressed this time around. All of the staff was very accommodating. We not hesitate to say at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel on my next visit to New Orleans!

Room Tip: be sure to reserve the Loft that has the balconly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poocupcakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your nice comments regarding our hotel improvements. We are continuously upgrading our product and service as we work to ensure our “French Quarter Treasure” meets our guests expectations. Please let all your friends and family in Maryland know we are ready to welcome them to the French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Best location in French Quarter, bordering Bourbon Street, but without the noise!
Pool and bar were great, friendly staff and guests. Hoping to go back to NOLA next summer and would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 06harts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hennepin, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Loved the Bourbon Orleans! I visited NOLA once before and stayed on Canal Street so I was a little worried about this hotel being in the middle of the French Quarter. Having stayed in both areas now ... I would ten times rather stay in the middle of the Quarter. I felt safe, the hotel staff was extremely accommodating, and the rooms were lovely. We had a room on the notorious 6th floor overlooking the beautiful courtyard and pool. We didn't see any ghost, but there were a few weird things that happened. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcasey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear tcasey09,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed our hotel and the service provided by our dedicated associates. The 6th floor has a reputation for being haunted…….I am interested to hear of your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited here for an anniversary trip. The loft suite was spacious and welcoming. We had a balcony overlooking st ann street. There was considerable night noise, but nothing overwhelming. We lived having a central location to pop in for bathroom breaks, see the sights and stop in for short breaks to freshen up. The staff was very helpful. Loved it!

Helpful?
Thank laurelwest
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear laurelwest,

Thank you for staying with us for your special anniversary visit! I am delighted you enjoyed one of our loft suites, they are a unique experience. Please let all your friends and family in NY know we are ready to serve them here in NOLA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Customer service and atmosphere was excellent. we had a huge wedding party which added to the fun. All were welcome, even people on Bourbon St. walking entered the bar and joined in on the fun. Much more fun with couples than with just 2 people. (someone has to look after your purse or bag.) Lots of action but not for children. Rooms were a bit small but the bathroom had been updated to very modern.

Room Tip: We received a room on the 6th floor (which was haunted with voodoo) and was above the noise on bourb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Pdgutie,

Thank you for staying with is for a wedding celebration! Wedding events are very important to us here in the French Quarter and we enjoy our reputation for romance. Please let all your family and friends in Huntsville know we are here for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,917 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing