We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect French Quarter Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #7 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second visit to this lovely hotel. They were offering a special summer rate that included breakfast each day, drinks, and free parking. The room was large and overlooked the pool. Everything seemed fresh and new. The bed was comfortable and the linens so nice. The staff were all very nice. The breakfast was fine, although we took advantage of the free breakfast only once, preferring the coffee and beignets at Cafe duMonde, a short walk away. It was a great deal and we certainly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We had a traditional king room and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear JoJotn,

Thank you for coming to visit us for a 2nd time. We are very fortunate to have so many repeat guests. Our “Summer in the City” package is a great value. Let everyone in Memphis know we are here for them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,830 - 4,836 of 6,519 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a six-night stay at the Bourbon Orleans. The location is fantastic: right behind the St. Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square, which means that everything in the French Quarter is within a 10-15 minute stroll (not walk - it's too hot for that kind of speed) from the front door.
The service is excellent. The gents at the door will always hold the door open for you on your way in or out and greet you warmly. There's complimentary coffee in the morning and fruit-infused cold water throughout the day in the lobby. The pool area is a relaxing little haven of quiet.
There are only two reasons why I didn't give this hotel a 5/5: the towels and the doors. Twice, I unfurled a bath towel only to find that it was still kind of crusty from a previous use. Don't get me wrong, the towel had been laundered; however, I think that whoever used it last must have been wearing a lot of sunblock and that stuff is difficult to get out. So I'm not saying the hotel doesn't wash its towels, but I am saying that I found two towels that I opted not to use on myself.
The thing about the doors is that they're fantastic sound boards. They amplify every sound you make on either side of the door, so that people in the halls can hear every sound you make in your room, and vice versa. It's kind of funny during the waking hours, when you can clearly hear what's being said in each room you walk by. It's less amusing after midnight, as everyone stumbles back in from a night of partying on Bourbon Street. To be fair, the hotel tries to address the noise problem: they have these huge five-foot-tall signs right outside of each elevator bank that reminds guests to speak quietly. Sadly, the doors' excellent acoustic properties foil people's best intentions.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely. The price is comparable to similar properties in the area but, having stayed in the Sheraton on Canal Street this time last year, I now appreciate that being in the heart of the French Quarter, rather than just outside of it, has its benefits - especially after a night of partying. I also appreciated the presence of three late-night hotel personnel guarding the one entrance into the lobby. Definitely helped to make me feel safer in the wee hours of the morning. Finally, the bar that's in the hotel is great. They seem to take pride in making everything except the alcohol from scratch, and it shows.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear Bourbon Street revellers late into the night, ask for a room that over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Travelincoach,

Thank you for staying with us for 6 nights. We certainly appreciate you and all your countrymen who visit New Orleans! Thank you for your nice comments regarding our service. The 3rd floor is where all our major balcony suites are located and this can be noisy. However, we have suite policies in place and noise is top of the list of items to enforce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Hotel was clean and the staff very helpful and very informative. It was located in the center of everything. Go right and your at Bourbon Street, go Left and you are in Jackson Square, just loved this vacation. If you want to know what to do talk to Keana at the front desk, awesome Lady!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sonya CC,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding Keyiana at the Front Desk. I will be certain to share them with her………..come on back soon…….Keyiana will be here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful hotel right on Orleans street and Bourbon st....close to everything. Room was very quiet at night too...couldn't hear any of the Bourbon street craziness. Our room is a little small, but luxurious and the bed and linens are lovely! We are even on the haunted floor...but no sightings yet! Ha!

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies facing Bourbon....but if you like to sleep... You should request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewJerseySass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear NewJerseySass,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I understand you were staying on the 6th floor which is Haunted according to many sources. Come back again soon………the ghosts must have been having a restful night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I just stayed at this hotel from Saturday morning till Monday afternoon. The staff at the front desk are excellent. We had a standard room with a pool view (room 260) the first night and were able to upgrade for $50 for the next night, we stayed in a room with a balcony and two floors (room 335 I believe). The first room was pretty tight to be honest. We liked the second room much more! We got two free drink tickets to use at the bar as well. The concierge had amazing suggestions for restaurants. we went to Tableau, Muriels, Cafe Amelie, cafe du monde, cafe beignet, acme seafood, nola po'boys. All of them were excellent aside from NOLA po'boys. The pool at the hotel was great, make sure you get up early to put some items and a towel on a chair you want otherwise in the afternoon or later morning there will be no more left. There was a room we would LOVE to get next time with a wrap around balcony on the third floor as well, which you could see bourbon street from perfectly.

The room with the pool view was quiet at night and the one with the balcony was loud obviously from the party people on bourbon street as its very close, its part of the experience. This is a great hotel and we were very pleased with our stay. We didn't eat the breakfast or dinner there so I cannot comment on that. We are already itching to go back!! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Away from elevator, try and get a balcony its worth the upgrade fee!!! also away from the pool entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jackie89Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jackie89Toronto,

Thank you for staying with and for your nice comments. Our concierges are very engaging and I am happy you experienced there expertise. The wrap around corner balcony, the Andrew Jackson Suite, is the suite you are referring to…….come on back and try it out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room was wonderful, 1st floor facing pool, and was still very quiet. Had a fantastic time. Breakfast buffet was great. Hotel is right in the middle of the french quarter, so close to everything. Husband loved free drink coupon for bar. Son loved that he could get a rootbeer float with the free drink coupon. Very friendly staff, remembered us each time we walked out of door and returned. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnWPesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear AnnWPesson,

Thank you for visiting us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I am delighted your son enjoyed a root beer float created by our mixologists at the Bourbon O Bar. Our poolside rooms are very tranquil indeed. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for an extended weekend, Friday - Monday. We were very pleased with every aspect of the hotel and staff. The bellboys were awesome. I have never had anyone deliver our luggage and explain to us, in detail, our room accommodations. We were given drink coupons to the house lounge while waiting for our room, then given 4 more when we checked in, which is another aspect that we aren't used too. Perfect location, right behind the St Louis Cathedral, perfect location to Jackson Square and the sites surrounding it. We stayed in room 505 which was a Jr balcony suite and it was very nice. Overlooked Bourbon to the right of us. Late at night the room did get very noisy with all the late night party goers and early in the morning you could hear lots of street noise including traffic and businesses opening. So if you are looking for quiet, you definitely need to request a courtyard room. Housekeeping was always finished with servicing our room in a timely manner and we had an abundant amount of towels every day we were there. Overall, we were VERY pleased with Bourbon Orleans and would definitely recommend this hotel for any type of visit.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Alicia G,

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing one of our private balcony rooms on the 5th floor. I am delighted you enjoyed it and will be sure to share your comments with our bell staff. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,811 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,438 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
5,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,347 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,656 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £120 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing