We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BabsBritTaylor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A lovely hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. Exceptional staff...very courteous, professional and attentive. The food served during our meals was delicious especially the bourbon pecan pie at lunch! Magnificent! The balcony view from our networking room was quite entertaining with bustle of Bourbon, Royal and St Charles Street. A bird-eye view never fails to amaze. Love the hotel and all its amenities. Will definitely return for a another fun time in Nawlins!

Room Tip: The sixth floor has a great skyline view... Always request a room far away from the elevator and th...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Barbara T,

Thank you for staying with us and for your nice comments regarding our dedicated team of associates. Come back and see us again soon………..Jackson is just a hop, skip, and a jump away!

• Great location hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,976)
There are newer reviews for Bourbon Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,305 - 4,311 of 5,976 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lobby and room were spacious and very nicely appointed. The king bed was very large and comfortable.
Location was the key point as it basically just a block between Bourbon Street and the Jackson Square area. Service was excellent and all hotel personnel were friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay at Bourbon Orleans again but specify an Orleans street of courtyard room. The only complaint I have is our room was facing toward Bourbon Street and we could definitely hear the music and sounds until well into the morning.

Room Tip: Inside or courtyard side rooms may not have as much of the Bourbon Street night sounds.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kenneth B,

Thank you for coming over from Dallas for a visit. Bourbon Street can be a noise issue but we do work very hard to minimize internal noise. Our interior courtyard rooms are tranquil…..try one on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is by far the better of the hotels in the French Quarter/Bourbon Street area. From here it is a hop, skip and jump to Royal St. for shopping and a short walk to Decatur for the Market as well as Cafe Du Monde. The front desk staff were all very friendly and eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Prior to our arrival, I emailed and requested a late check-in and asked the room to be defeathered as I am allergic to down and sure enough, it was. We were there for 4 nights in the Vieux Queen (2 queen beds as there were four in our party) and our room was on the second floor right next to the linen/cart housekeeping room. The first morning we kept hearing a constant squeaking noise and found out it was housekeeping going in and out of that room. Told front desk about it and the hinges were oiled and we never heard it again. The only thing is that our room did not have any drapery, just shutters, so it got a little bright in the morning and there is a constant blinking from the smoke detector that is a little distracting in the middle of the night. Otherwise, nothing bad to be said about my experience. Look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you do happen to have a room on the second floor, just be aware that the corner (Bourbon and St...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichaelHouTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Michaelhoutx,

Thank you for staying with us 4 nights. As a leisure hotel we are very fortunate to have so many guests stay 4 and 5 nights and really get a feel for FQ life. Please let all your friends and family in Houston know we are ready to welcome them to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second visit to this lovely hotel. They were offering a special summer rate that included breakfast each day, drinks, and free parking. The room was large and overlooked the pool. Everything seemed fresh and new. The bed was comfortable and the linens so nice. The staff were all very nice. The breakfast was fine, although we took advantage of the free breakfast only once, preferring the coffee and beignets at Cafe duMonde, a short walk away. It was a great deal and we certainly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We had a traditional king room and were very happy with it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear JoJotn,

Thank you for coming to visit us for a 2nd time. We are very fortunate to have so many repeat guests. Our “Summer in the City” package is a great value. Let everyone in Memphis know we are here for them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a six-night stay at the Bourbon Orleans. The location is fantastic: right behind the St. Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square, which means that everything in the French Quarter is within a 10-15 minute stroll (not walk - it's too hot for that kind of speed) from the front door.
The service is excellent. The gents at the door will always hold the door open for you on your way in or out and greet you warmly. There's complimentary coffee in the morning and fruit-infused cold water throughout the day in the lobby. The pool area is a relaxing little haven of quiet.
There are only two reasons why I didn't give this hotel a 5/5: the towels and the doors. Twice, I unfurled a bath towel only to find that it was still kind of crusty from a previous use. Don't get me wrong, the towel had been laundered; however, I think that whoever used it last must have been wearing a lot of sunblock and that stuff is difficult to get out. So I'm not saying the hotel doesn't wash its towels, but I am saying that I found two towels that I opted not to use on myself.
The thing about the doors is that they're fantastic sound boards. They amplify every sound you make on either side of the door, so that people in the halls can hear every sound you make in your room, and vice versa. It's kind of funny during the waking hours, when you can clearly hear what's being said in each room you walk by. It's less amusing after midnight, as everyone stumbles back in from a night of partying on Bourbon Street. To be fair, the hotel tries to address the noise problem: they have these huge five-foot-tall signs right outside of each elevator bank that reminds guests to speak quietly. Sadly, the doors' excellent acoustic properties foil people's best intentions.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely. The price is comparable to similar properties in the area but, having stayed in the Sheraton on Canal Street this time last year, I now appreciate that being in the heart of the French Quarter, rather than just outside of it, has its benefits - especially after a night of partying. I also appreciated the presence of three late-night hotel personnel guarding the one entrance into the lobby. Definitely helped to make me feel safer in the wee hours of the morning. Finally, the bar that's in the hotel is great. They seem to take pride in making everything except the alcohol from scratch, and it shows.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear Bourbon Street revellers late into the night, ask for a room that over...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Travelincoach,

Thank you for staying with us for 6 nights. We certainly appreciate you and all your countrymen who visit New Orleans! Thank you for your nice comments regarding our service. The 3rd floor is where all our major balcony suites are located and this can be noisy. However, we have suite policies in place and noise is top of the list of items to enforce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Hotel was clean and the staff very helpful and very informative. It was located in the center of everything. Go right and your at Bourbon Street, go Left and you are in Jackson Square, just loved this vacation. If you want to know what to do talk to Keana at the front desk, awesome Lady!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sonya CC,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding Keyiana at the Front Desk. I will be certain to share them with her………..come on back soon…….Keyiana will be here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful hotel right on Orleans street and Bourbon st....close to everything. Room was very quiet at night too...couldn't hear any of the Bourbon street craziness. Our room is a little small, but luxurious and the bed and linens are lovely! We are even on the haunted floor...but no sightings yet! Ha!

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies facing Bourbon....but if you like to sleep... You should request a ro...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewJerseySass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear NewJerseySass,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I understand you were staying on the 6th floor which is Haunted according to many sources. Come back again soon………the ghosts must have been having a restful night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,721 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,428 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £126 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing