We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bourbon Street experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Spring for the bourbon st side suite for the people - watching and bead - throwing. 2-level Room was great except for no sheets on fold out couch. Noise is as expected but tolerable with doors closed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Signchic,

Thank you for coming over from Beaumont for a visit. I am delighted you enjoyed one of our loft suites. We only make up the sofa bed upon request so everything is always perfect. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,683 - 4,689 of 6,379 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I stayed Friday through Wednesday at the Bourbon Orleans and loved it. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. It is truly a beautiful hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. It is clean, well-maintained and modern but retains the old world charm and decor you would expect to find in the French Quarter. We were able to walk to almost every place we wanted to see and dine at without any problems despite the August heat. I can not imagine a better location if you want to see the French Quarter.

It has a reputation for being haunted which is well-deserved. That is not a reason to avoid this hotel and if you are interested in the paranormal, it is a very good reason to stay here. The local haunted tours actually include the Bourbon Orleans in their tours. On our second night, I saw a shadowy figure in the mirror in our room (#522) while it walked a short distance in the hallway by our bathroom. One afternoon, we went to the ballroom which is supposedly haunted. After taking a few photos, our camera started doing multiple flashes and just stopped working altogether. I just uploaded the photos onto our desktop here at home. One photo shows 2 very distinct, large orbs floating in the room and one less distinct orb closer to us in the upper left corner of the photo. Oddly enough, most of the photos of the ballroom did not come out at all and the camera worked just fine for the rest of our trip with no adjustments.

The Bourbon O Bar and staff actually deserve their own review. It is attached to the hotel and is really a wonderful place to enjoy some of the most unique local cocktails anywhere in the French Quarter and classic cocktails too. The atmosphere is great with perfect music to fit the decor, either recorded or live, and has a truly talented staff. These are professionals who know their craft, use the best ingredients and enjoy sharing their knowledge. So, a big thanks to all of the bartenders and bar backs and a special thanks to Becca, Steve and newcomer Brendan for making us feel welcome. Becca June's "Love Interruption" cocktail is a must.

We highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans to anyone who is lucky enough to visit New Orleans. We will go back and when we do, we will stay at the Bourbon Orleans again - just not in Room 522.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear William C,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our staff and historic property. I will be certain to share your nice comments with Steven, Becca, and Branden in the Bourbon O Bar. We will keep our eye on room 522…shadowy figures are not paying guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans in July, 2014 and loved it. The location is perfect right in the heart of Bourbon Street. Easy to walk to Frenchman Market, Jackson Square and near great resteraunts and bars. The staff is extremely friendly and the rooms were great. Our room overlooked the pool so it was extremely quiet. We will stay there again for sure.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sherry B,

Thank you for staying with us in July. We certainly appreciate all of our guests from O Canada! Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights (M-TH) in a two queen Vieux Carre room. One of the largest most well maintained room with great amenities in the room of any hotel that I have stayed in. Courteous and professional staff throughout the establishment. Perfect location for day and night exploring. Would not even consider staying anywhere else on return visits.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cdm1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear CDM1153,

Thank you for staying with us 4 nights in July. Please let all your friends and family in Pennsylvania know we are ready to welcome them to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The Bourbon Orleans has it all for a perfect French Quarter holiday: impeccable service, fabulous location, elegant decor, lusty history and ghosts! The physicality of this hotel is awesome. Hospitality is spot on. The bar serves solid drinks. I was disappointed in the in-house restaurant, however. There is a great sounding menu, but in spite of the competition in the Quarter, the
dishes were mediocre and, frankly, bland. But with so many fabulous restaurants in the neighborhood, this is no reason to avoid this amazing hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Donna B,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Yes, the physical architecture and design of our hotel is very iconic and distinctively French Quarter. Please let all your friends and family in California know we are her for them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A lovely hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. Exceptional staff...very courteous, professional and attentive. The food served during our meals was delicious especially the bourbon pecan pie at lunch! Magnificent! The balcony view from our networking room was quite entertaining with bustle of Bourbon, Royal and St Charles Street. A bird-eye view never fails to amaze. Love the hotel and all its amenities. Will definitely return for a another fun time in Nawlins!

Room Tip: The sixth floor has a great skyline view... Always request a room far away from the elevator and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Barbara T,

Thank you for staying with us and for your nice comments regarding our dedicated team of associates. Come back and see us again soon………..Jackson is just a hop, skip, and a jump away!

• Great location hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lobby and room were spacious and very nicely appointed. The king bed was very large and comfortable.
Location was the key point as it basically just a block between Bourbon Street and the Jackson Square area. Service was excellent and all hotel personnel were friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay at Bourbon Orleans again but specify an Orleans street of courtyard room. The only complaint I have is our room was facing toward Bourbon Street and we could definitely hear the music and sounds until well into the morning.

Room Tip: Inside or courtyard side rooms may not have as much of the Bourbon Street night sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kenneth B,

Thank you for coming over from Dallas for a visit. Bourbon Street can be a noise issue but we do work very hard to minimize internal noise. Our interior courtyard rooms are tranquil…..try one on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,370 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,704 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,315 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,587 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £125 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing