We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Love this hotel! All the staff is more than accommodating and the hotel bar - Bar O is fantastic with their unique craft cocktails. Stephen is by far a treat to meet who is a bartender here and will entertain you and wow you with his drinks. The hotel is clean and walking distance to everything and even being so close to bourbon street is so quiet.

Room Tip: Request the rooms with a seating area, they are $20 more a night but the room is huge and views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Melissa g,

Thank you for your nice comments about Steven in the Bourbon O Bar. Craft cocktails are his passion! Come on back from Texas soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,342
    1,309
    290
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,000
2,189
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful, but the hourly staff does not care about the quality of service provided or the promises they make to customers. Management does care and claims to have spoken to hourly staff but my room was only half cleaned even after mentioning the issues to the maid in person (housekeeping manager had to remove dirty dishes). I asked the doormen for a location to purchase lunch because I understood the restaurant is closed during lunch. Doormen directed me to the restaurant stating, "you can dine in our restaurant." He got a waiter to bring me a turkey melt, but then the waiter stated, "you can't eat this here. In the lobby, your room or at the pool BUT NOT IN THE RESTAURANT." Really??????

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Christine W,

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly apologize for the restaurant confusion. All of us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel look forward to serving your group this fall. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Bourbon for three nights early August. The accommodation was good, service exceptional and property well-located for the French Quarter and of course Bourbon Street! The advice and guidance provided by John (Concierge) made our stay a most memorable one and we made the best use of our time to see this great city. I would recommend John as a must for visitors (thank you John). In addition, we must mention Stephen (the Mixologist) who made our visit to the cocktail bar a most enjoyable experience. Overall, a first class establishment with great staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is in the center of the French Quarter just a short walk from any of the many area attractions. The room and bathroom were quite spacious with very nice decor. The service from the staff was very good. The only problem we had was that our reservation stated we were entitled to complimentary beverages at the bar upon our arrival, but when we went to the front desk to get our complimentary beverage coupons, we were told they had "run out" of the coupons and were no longer offering them. The email we were sent two days prior confirming our reservation which stated what our stay offered did not say, "offer good until we run out of coupons." We felt the response from the front desk to be unacceptable. This was really our only complaint about the hotel; however, because of the lackadaisical attitude the front desk clerk had regarding our request and his "sorry" reply when we complained, it is enough to make us consider other hotels in the Quarter for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Janet A,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans. We appreciate all of our friends from Lafayette Louisiana. Come back soon and I will personally buy you a drink at our Bourbon O Bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel (and bar - Bourbon O), as it is in a great location and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. Would highly recommend to others and plan to come back for future trips!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Sasha S,

Thank you for staying with us on your Honeymoon! We look forward to you returning for a very special anniversary. Please let all your friends and family in Ohio know we are ready to welcome then to the French Quarter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very clean and updated hotel. Excellent customer service. Great rates. Located in the center of the French Quarter. Easy access to the waterfront, Bourbon St, French Market, Jackson Square, Frenchmen St.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkcommeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear tkcommeau,

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. Please let everyone in Arizona know we are ready to welcome them to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Bourbon Orleans is a lovely hotel, right in the middle of everything. The room was large, the bathroom really nice - particularly the shower - and the beds clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - wait staff very good - and the food was hot and prepared to order. The entire staff was first class.

A word of caution: beware of staying here over a Friday or Saturday night. Our room was on the first floor with a window facing the street in back. Thursday was great, noise stopped at 11pm. On Friday the music was extremely loud and obnoxious and did not stop until 4am. Be sure to ask if the interior rooms are less exposed to the "elements."

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Paula C,

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff. Yes, noise can be a challenge but we have many interior guestrooms that are truly tranquil. Please feel free to contact me when planning your next visit and I will ensure you a perfect room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,820 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing