We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of both worlds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Best of both worlds!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited N.O. for the first time this past weekend, and would DEFINITELY stay at the Bourbon Orleans again! This hotel has the room amenities of your larger, big chain hotels, with an old-world, private inn feeling. Beds and bedding were great, bathroom was modern (and spotless), and the room in general was clean, modern, chic, and yet reminiscent of a "classier" period! We booked a package, and our daily breakfast was delicious, with great service. Didn't have an opportunity to use the pool in their pretty courtyard, but had a nice view of it from our room. I highly recommend that you ask for a courtyard-view room if you are not in to the Bourbon Street or party scene - that side of the hotel will be quieter. We arrived on a Saturday evening, and while there was a little bit of noise in the hallway after hours that evening, we generally didn't notice any other disruptions. Front desk personnel were helpful and efficient - we almost had to leave a day early due to my husbands health, and they would have been more than happy to adjust our package had we left. This hotel is perfectly located - we wanted to be close enough to walk to Mass at St. Louis Cathedral on Sunday, and it's less than a block away, while also being less than a block from Bourbon Street (if you're "in" to that!) Being at the corner of Orleans and Royal streets, you are so very close to an AWESOME variety of restaurants and shops. We couldn't have picked a better location. We delivered our son to college north of the city, and so we plan on definitely coming back to visit N.O. again, and will definitely stay with our new friends at the Bourbon Orleans! Two thumbs up!!!

Room Tip: Choose interior/courtyard side rooms if you're not in to the party scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Pamela Y,

We were honored to serve as your host for your first trip to New Orleans. As you son will be attending college in the area we hope you will come often to visit. Please let all your friends and family in Georgia know we are here for them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,563
    1,370
    306
    88
    49
See reviews for
1,067
2,313
159
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Hotel is very well situated in the French Quarter just off Jackson Square. We were moved (an upgrade so it was said) from a Vieux Carre double queen room to a one bedroom Loft with sleeper sofa on the first floor. At about 5:00 am we were awoke by VERY loud metallic banging noises taking out huge metal trash bins on metal rollers for at least 20 minutes to the street to the dumpster truck. We later learned our room was next to the hotel internal alley to the street (room #151 for inquiring minds). Wish we would have gotten the Vieux Carre double queens like we reserved/paid for. Others comment on noise levels as well. Only other thing was a empty can of Red Bull in our car when retrieved from valet parking.

Otherwise a pretty nice clean ~4 star hotel with attentive staff and rooms are nice/roomy. Nice touch is cold flavored water and tea in the foyer, complimentary newspapers, and the summer package is good value. The bar is atmospheric but not rowdy like most on/just off Bourbon street. Note if you order room service for any item it is a $2.50 delivery charge plus 20% fee, tip not included. We had a couple of other "gratuities" on our order but the front desk kindly removed it. A $12 hamburger can get expensive.

Room Tip: Get high and inside if you don't want outside street or very early morning trash pickup (east si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgurutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear TravelguruTx,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans. Noise can be a challenge along Bourbon Street but as you have noted we have many types of rooms including interior Courtyard accommodations that are truly a tranquil experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Perfect location for seeing the French Quarter. We were there for a girls trip and had a a wonderful time. The hotel itself was nice. The staff was helpful.The pool was lovely. It's across the street from our favorite jazz club, Fritzells and a short walk to Jackson square and the French Market. Of course, parking is pricey but it's the Quarter and parking is always difficult. We booked on Hotel Tonight and encountered some extra fees. Not sure if it was the hotel or the booking site that was to blame. In the past, I've always had good luck with Priceline so I think I will continue to use them. FYI we love the horse drawn carriages but for quick, easy trips back to the hotel after a day of wandering/shopping you can't beat the easy to find bicycle cabs. They saved our lives!

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise, our room was on the 6th floor facing Orleans St. and we found it qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyndiM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Cyndi M,

We were delighted to host your girlfriends getaway visit! We are a very popular hotel for girls and guys getaway trips as a central location to everything in the French Quarter. Please let all your friends in Tallahassee know we are ready to welcome them……Fritzels awaits their arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was perfect! The location, the employees, the cleanliness of the rooms and it was beautiful. Couldn't of stayed in a nicer place!!!! I will stay here anytime I visit New Orleans. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Jennyrainy,

Thank you for staying with us this month…….we loved having you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for 4 nights from last Thursday. Upon arriving the check in was super smooth and quick. The front desk clerk was very polite and courteous.

When we arrived at our room, we weren't super happy with the size, however we realized we probably weren't going to be in there much as there is so much to see in the French Quarter. Besides the size the bed was super comfy quality Queen. The washrooms were marble and fully stocked!

As far our favourite feature was the beautiful pool in the center of hotel. This was so key as temperatures were above 35 degrees each day with a lot of humidity. We would wake up each morning, grab some breakfast in the French Quarter, then head back to the hotel for some drinks by the pool for a few hours.

We did not dine in the restaurant as we wanted to get out and try some of the many restaurants New Orleans has to offer, however we heard from many the food was great.

Will definitely come back and highly recommend this hotel. It's just off Bourbon St, so you don't get too much of the craziness that you expect in the French Quarter. Great service and a great time!

Room Tip: Regular suites do not come equipped with a fridge. Ask the front desk and they can have one sent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation_dud3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Vacation_dud3,

Thank you for staying with us for 4 nights this August. Our pool courtyard and libations can certainly “cool off” summer! Come on back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beautiful Hotel and you feel the history. The Breakfast buffet is beyond outstanding!

Did not quite like the structure of the restaurant. Top Heavy - too many supervisors and not enough workers and lack of team atmosphere - Forbid someone step out of their role to assist or even communicate with their team member who had a bit too much on their plate to ensure great customer service. The staff themselves were great and helpful, however lack of teamwork. You knew who's job it was not to look after the coffee... Should never happen...

Room Tip: Do not get the room right next to ice machine.. your husband will get no sleep :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Michelle F,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the Bourbon Orleans. I am happy you experience our breakfast buffet and will certainly address your comments about teamwork. Every associate and manager must always be available to serve our guests. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location was great close to Bourbon Street, restaurants and attractions in the French Quarter. Room was comfortable and spacious. Had an internal room facing the pool to avoid the street noise which was perfect. We loved New Orleans and the hotel was just what we needed. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Tom M,

Thank you for staying with us in July. We appreciate all of our guests and certainly have loved serving our friends from Australia. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,992 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing