We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely historic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely historic hotel!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

First and foremost, the staff, from the front desk staff to the housekeeper, was the most courteous and helpful I have seen in years! They seemed to truly like their jobs and went beyond the call of duty to make us comfortable. Bravo! The location is perfect, a stone's throw from Jackson Square, and more importantly, the Cafe du Monde and beignet deliriousness! The property itself is lovely and historic, though they could do a bit more to highlight the building's historical role in New Orleans. They have a great pool and the room was impeccable, well-apportioned and always clean. We are regular visitors to NOLA and this will be were we stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Lyle N,

Thank you for selecting the Bourbon Orleans for your future home away from home! We are delighted you enjoyed our property. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,894
    1,457
    324
    96
    57
See reviews for
1,206
2,490
182
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

My family just stayed at this hotel and loved it. We had the best time. The rooms are clean and beautifully furnished. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We loved the location of the hotel. It was within walking distance of just about everything we wanted to see. We will for sure be back,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear SB,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. We are delighted you had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Hotel was perfect for our first visit to city. Great French Quarter location. Easy walk to streetcar for cross town sight seeing. Rooms were classy with superb beds. Serviceable workout room and bar with one great bartender. And after a day of walking, the courtyard pool was a marvelous way to soothe tired muscles and feet, especially comforting during a summer visit. Nice touch was iced tea available in lobby during the day. We will return.

Room Tip: St. Ann side of hotel is quieter. Interior room even better if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wmdhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Windhoops,

We are delighted that you had a great stay and will be back! We are very fortunate to have many repeat guests who enjoy coming back many times a year. The ice tea in the lobby and our craft cocktail bartenders are ready to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our family of 4 adults stayed at the Bourbon Orleans August 10th through the 15th. A beautiful, clean hotel centrally located in the French Quarter! No need to have a car as everything is within walking distance! We had a pool view room on the 5th floor which was lovely and very quiet! The pool was never crowded and very refreshing and relaxing after sightseeing all day! It was also nice to be able to order food and drinks poolside! We would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting NOLA!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Susan P,

Thank you for staying with us. Poolside libations have been very popular this summer! Please let all your friends and family in Pennsylvania know we are ready to welcome them to the Bourbon Orleans Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We love visiting the French Quarter. Decided this trip we wanted to be closer to the action. The Bourbon Orleans is a pleasure from the first minute you are greeted at the entrance and get Caleb Law's from the luggage handler. Caleb is the bellman who's energy and helpful tips brings a smile every time you see him. Although located with one side on Bourbon Street, the hotel is cool and quiet. We especially liked the fruit infused iced tea and water in the lobby. Great live music is available every night in the bar. We usually don't like hotel breakfast buffets, but we were pleasantly surprised at how good the scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy were. Room tip: ask for a room that doesn't sit under a suite. The suites have more people and can get noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that aren't under a suite. The suites hold more people and can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Michigan Park Trav,

Thank you for your nice comments about Caleb, our bell captain, and Eudora Evans, our singer in the Bourbon O Bar. I will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great for our family of four visiting New Orleans. It is a wonderful charming and clean hotel so close to everything. We were able to easily walk to all the attractions and restaurants. The pool was also welcoming after a full day of walking the streets. The staff and the concierge was always helpful. As most people have stated, a room facing the pool is your best option, if you want somewhat quiet evenings. The restaurant was good and do go to the bar to meet the staff. They made some amazing drinks for us.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Scott W,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans! We like to think of our Hotel as an “Oasis in a Sea of Celebration”. We are delighted you enjoyed our libations in Bourbon O Bar. Please tell all your friends and family in Canada we are ready to welcome them to the French Quarter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A hotel with a wonderful history - originally a home, then a meeting place for the "sugar daddies" to meet their mistresses, then a convent and now a very comfortable hotel in the heart of the French Quarter in between Royal Street with its rich mixture and variety of interesting shops and Bourbon Street with its famous night life, neon signs and sleaze. It is a short walk to dozens of good restaurants, the French Market on the Mississippi, the Cathedral, the trams and no end of things to do. And after a day of shopping, touring or sight-seeing, there is a good sized pool to cool off in waiting back at the hotel for you. The staff are friendly and helpful and our room was spacious with all amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 104 on the ground floor along from Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewJames2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Mathewjames 2009,

Thank you for coming all the way from “Down Under” to visit our great city of NOLA! Certainly the Bourbon Orleans and the French Quarter have lots of interesting history. We have been very fortunate to have many of your countrymen with us this year! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
4,625 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing