We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Labor Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Labor Day Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have been staying at this hotel every Labor Day weekend (Southern Decadence) for the last 7 years and the GM...Mr. Wilson does an amazing job! This is a very busy weekend with numbers in the hundred of thousands in the French Quarter and his staff is TOP notch. Anytime I need something I have it with 10 minutes or less. the buffet is just wonderful...and the coffee is amazing. The rooms are clean. I can't say enough about the staff... Polite, respectful, friendly,.knowledgeable about their city.... ..I travel a lot for my work and so many hotels could take a lesson from this one. I give it an A plus.

Room Tip: If you want to over look Bourbon Street and watch the action...their 2 story suites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFriedman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear EFriedman1977,

Another successful Southern Decadence IS under our belt and we are looking forward to our 8th year together. Thank you so much for your recognition of our team here at the Bourbon Orleans. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,484
    1,343
    298
    84
    49
See reviews for
1,051
2,264
155
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I read a few ghost stories about the hotel before going, but apart from the guests nothing haunts that lovely hotel - a charming encounter at the corner of the cocktail bar with a young man dressed in XIX century clothes and a white boater - but he wasn't a ghost - he could comment on my cocktail - ghosts don't speak.
Anyway, the patio and the lobby are amazing, the cocktails are delicious, and the staff incredibly nice and helpful. If you prefer modern decoration avoid it - this hotel has all the romantic charm of the XIX century. I absolutely loved it - and the location is ideal.

Room Tip: demandez une chambre avec vue sur le patio - ask for a room with a view on the patio, some even have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Christelle h,

Thank you for your nice comments about our friendly staff. We are fortunate to have an iconic property, a wonderful location, and a top notch staff to boot! Comments like yours are very motivating and rewarding to our team and are very appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

The staff was incredible - so friendly and genuine. They demonstrated great Southern Hospitality and made my stay at this beautiful, historic hotel a wonderful time! I look forward to my next trip to New Orleans and will stay at Bourbon Orleans again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Laura E,

Thank you for your nice comments about our team of associates here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Providing a fun, friendly and authentic French Quarter experience is our goal every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel at the end of August.

The hotel is spotless, the staff is incredible, the rooms are nicely appointed and very, very clean. Being that it is right in the middle of the action on Bourbon Street, it is definitely a place you want to look at when you book a trip to the big easy.

The only thing we caution is the picking of your room. Those that are directly on Bourbon Street, or on the St. Ann side, unless you have ear plugs, will keep you up most of the night with the noise of revelers in the street and/or from the music coming from the surrounding clubs. There are some great rooms overlooking the pool and courtyard area which, for you that like your quiet, are definitely the way to go.

You are within walking distance to bars, clubs, restaurants, tourist sites, and so much more.

Overall, a great experience and we cannot say enough about the friendliness of the staff, they really helped to make our stay special.

BOOK THIS HOTEL!!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the courtyard or pool area are more quiet, the rooms on St. Ann or Bourbon put you rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dechuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

For our 5th trip to New Orleans, we decided to stay in the heart of the French Quarter. The Bourbon Orleans is wonderful in every way: beautiful, clean rooms; excellent customer service; friendly staff; 1/2 block from Bourbon Street (actually borders Bourbon on one side) and 1 block from the Cathedral; great swimming pool. We were greeted with a super good Bloody Mary, given astute advice about nearby restaurants and attractions, and helped and guided in every way. I won't stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear rsmin,

We are delighted you have visited New Orleans on many occasions and are even more thrilled to be your new home in the French Quarter! We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arthur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Bourbon Orleans is a fabulous hotel with wonderfully decorated rooms, great service, located right in the heart of the French Quarter. I attended a dinner catered by the hotel and the food, wine and service were marvelous as was the dinner conversation. I urge everyone going to New Orleans and the French Quarter to stay in a New Orleans Collection hotel and especially the Bourbon Orleans. If I could have slept in I would probably still be asleep..... the bed was so comfortable.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the Bourbon Orleans many times and each room has been wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Marion Fox,

Thank you for your nice comments about the Bourbon Orleans. Our Executive Chef will be delighted to hear you enjoyed our special 5 course dinner……….I sampled a few item too and they were outstanding! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed with my daughter and her husband from 19th to 22nd August, everything was as I expected.

Beautiful lobby, easy and very quick check in, lift arrived straight away, in fact I dont think we waited at all for a lift at any point.

Rooms were huge, and well appointed, the bed very comfy, an amazing shower, and for those that want to know a very good hairdryer ! easy to charge phone on the radio docking station next to the bed.

My room was overlooking Bourbon street but I heard no noise whatsoever, but we were on the haunted 6th floor, although no visitors on this occasion.

The pool was a lovely break from the heat of the afternoon, and very comfy loungers and towels provided.

The bar attached to hotel was fabulous, huge array of cocktails and drinks and happy to make one for you even if it wasn't on the list, helpful and friendly staff.

Location of the hotel was spot on for walking round the French Quarter, near some very nice restaurants, in fact it was near everything.

check out was straight forward and simple and the price paid was the price quoted when we booked it.

Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone, in fact I hope to be able to go back there one day - thank you

Room Tip: I was in Room 619, overlooking Bourbon Street, but actually didn't hear any noise, large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiP1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear PattiP1604,

Thank you for coming over from London for a visit. Our city is working on a direct flight from London to New Orleans………..bring all your countrymen back with you! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,917 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing