We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel...would return and recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel...would return and recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Location is close to bourbon but far enough so you dont hear anything from the street. The decor in the hotel was lovely, very modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The concierge was knowledgable and gave good advice ie places to eat, visit etc. There is a cafe bar and restaurant in the hotel, all of which were good, especially the restuarant. After finding a lot of deep fried seafood the red fish restuarant with its various grilled options was great. Getting to our room was a bit tricky you kinda felt like you were in a maze:-) Once you got the hang if it though it was fine.
The Room: the bed was amazing. Honestly the best bed i have EVER slept in. One downside was that the shower was not very powerful and the water a bit lukewarm on one or two occasions. The only other issue was the wifi....they charge $10 for 24 hrs that you have to use in one go. Kinda annoying but we found a few bars in bourbon street who had wifi. There was a gym (which i didnt use but looked nice) and a pool in the court yard decor and service top notch...attentive but not overbearing. Overall a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank monick213
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    621
    154
    52
    29
See reviews for
321
872
69
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Positives:
1. great location, within walking distance of everything, including public transit
2. recently remodeled, rooms are beautiful, high ceilings and lots of space
3. staff was both friendly and helpful, Charles the concierge is a huge asset to utilize
4. exits onto several major streets allows for safe and easy access in/out of hotel

Negatives:
1. you pay for everything, even the internet and at $10/day it is worth the walk to a cafe for free access, plus we purchased breakfast items from the local Fresh Market to save on meals, breakfast at the hotel is pricey and not anything special
2. tv goes in and out, so if you like to watch tv when relaxing in the room, good luck getting decent reception
3. water pressure was lacking, not bad but not great
4. noisy at night but it is NOLA, if you want quiet, I recommend you stay somewhere outside the quarter

Overall, we would stay again but only at a discounted rate, I would not pay full price to stay here.

Room Tip: choose a room in the inner courtyard to reduce noise, there is some construction on the Iberville St
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmansfield719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the at the Hyatt French Quarter and found it a comfortable place to return to at the end of the day after working on Hurricane Isaac relief. Rooms were clean and well designed, beds were comfortable and the in room amenities were perfect. Ice machines did not seem to be at the places indicated by the signs on the walls and in the guest room guide, I had walk all the way down to the bar on the first floor to get ice. The attached dining facilities served a variety of good food but were priced just a little higher than I expected. Bourbon Street is an exciting and noisy street but the Hyatt French Quarter is adequately insulated and the sounds do not come through to the room-- peaceful and restful sleep is the norm. Bourbon Street is right out the front door and every type of dining or entertainment you can imagine is just a few steps away from your "home".

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor and take advantage of the courtyard and pool or stay higher up to take adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Bourbon despite reading reviews about the renovation. We are very happy we took the chance for the Jazz Fest. The location was ideal, we were able to venture on our own. The staff could not be more accommodating and friendly- southern hospitality at its best. Our modern room was more to the interior so we did not hear Bourbon St or outside noise. We ended up having the best time at the pool which has a bar. ****We were able to comfortably walk to the main attractions including a dinner cruise on the Natchez. That was the only information I could not tell on the boards. We walked to dinner at both Brennans and Galatoire but rode the trolley to the Fest. We plan to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artistwriter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter Sept. 7-9th. The hotel is sleek and modern on the inside. It is a very large building so you you have exits on Canal and Burbon St. We had a balcony King on Iberville facing the Ritz. The room did not have a bathtub but did offer a double shower. The beds were very comfortable. The TV was small for the larger room size but we did not come to NOLA to watch tv in our bedroom. Yes, the parking is overpriced. There is a garage around the block that is more reasonable. Overall it was a great stay and the hotel made me feel fancy.

Room Tip: The pool closes at 10pm so there isn't much noise coming from the courtyard too late. I would g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saraeob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter for a long weekend and we couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The entire hotel is beautiful and all of the staff were incredibly helpful and gracious. It is a great location and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelloChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

we stayed from august 23rd till the 26th....from the moment we got there the staff was very friendly!!! they were very helpful if we needed anything.....they were there from the moment we pulled up to the front door....valet parked our car for us....it was a little pricey to park but it was worth it....left car in parking the whole trip...the hotel was close to everything we wanted to do....the room was very nice,we had a balcony. the water pressure left a little to be desired in the shower.... overall our trip was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: if you want the burbon street experience get a room with a balcony on burbon st. nice to people wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,820 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing