We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #26 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Second time to stay at this hotel. First time under new Hyatt Management. Room was chic/modern. Nice & quite, clean comfortable beds. Good location for easy access to Bourbon Street fun. Fast, friendly Front Desk & Valet. Will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Valet parking available or self park in garage across the street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjb4715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,328)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,181 - 2,187 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

We got the room thru Priceline and saved over 50%, So well worth the price we paid. Fantastic location, excellent service, very nice, clean, quiet room. My biggest complaint was lack of tv channels...no Fox News!!! Parking is expensive, a public garage across the street for $20/day or $42/day for valet. The bed was very comfortable. Internet access is $9.95/day but you can add up to two devices for an additional $5.00. Lots of restaurants nearby, and bourbon street. Lots of road construction going on right now on Canal street.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank carolelynnemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest didn't do a lot of research on hotel prior to booking as it was selected by travel agent. Located in the French Quarter it was within close proximity to Bourbon St and Canal St. Unfortunately our room was too close to Bourbon St and you could hear everything throughout the night. If light sleeper recommend ear plugs, Hyatt charges for wifi & room safe. Room does have coffee making facilities which is free. They have a small pool, bar, restaurant & cafe but did not utilise any of the facilities. You can print boarding passes at no charge in the business centre.

Room Tip: Rooms near Bourbon Street are noisy
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We spent 5 nights here and I would gladly stay again. The staff was wonderful and they gave us the quiet room we requested. Our room did not have windows looking on the outside, but rather into an interior two story area with skylights. There were wonderul blackout drapes that made the room a restful cocoon at night.

The room decor was contemporary but warm. The couch had a chaise section that was extremely comfortable. The bed was great, as was the lighting and the huge bath. My only complaint is there were no towel bars and only a hook on the bathroom door.

This was as nice a hotel as I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ResearcherMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed at in my 55 years. It was super clean and for the first time ever I turned down my covers, and without looking, just climbed into that bed. Even my very own bed at home doesn't come close to the comfort. The location is excellent and within walking distance, if you enjoy walking, to everything. The food and the people were just as wonderful as the hotel and bed. I would love to come back to N'awlins and wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were in 407 and had absolutely no complaints.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The opening of a Hyatt in the French Quarter, just across the street from the Central Business District, was great news to many of us Hyatt fans. Although the other Hyatt in New Orleans, the recently reopened Hyatt Regency, was always a nice hotel -- and is reportedly even better after several years of post-hurricane reconstruction and renovation -- its location near the Superdome makes it a long walk to the Quarter and to most other places of interest.

So I'm happy to report that the new Hyatt French Quarter is a very nice hotel in almost every way. The rooms are quite large, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom fixtures and electronics are state-of-the-art. There's a well-equipped exercise room and a pool that's large by downtown New Orleans standards. Although the hotel has only four floors, it takes up a whole city block, so there are rooms facing four different streets, the pool, and a courtyard. My wife and I like quiet rooms, so we were happy to be overlooking the courtyard; but there are also rooms with balconies overlooking Bourbon Street for those who don't mind all-night street noise and/or are hoping for a glimpse of "Girls Gone Wild". We were not impressed with our one experience with in-hotel dining, but several of the world's best restaurants -- including Galatoire's, Arnaud's, Antoine's, and Brennan's -- are a few steps away. And it's just a short walk to the nightly jazz performances at Preservation Hall, the antique and curio stores on Royal Street, and the cafe au lait and beignets at the Cafe du Monde.

My only regret about the Hyatt French Quarter is that I wish there more about it to remind us that we are in New Orleans rather than in a good hotel in Dallas or Pittsburgh. Although most of the hotel is what was once the historic D.H. Holmes Department Store, a previous reconstruction apparently destroyed the magnificent arched cathedral ceiling of the Holmes building and replaced it with low-rise drywall. The design of the Hyatt is modern verging on ultra-modern: the walls and carpets are in various shades of grey, and the fixtures and furniture in the rooms seem to be made mostly of plastic and metal. I much prefer the decor at other leading New Orleans hotels such as the Roosevelt and the Monteleone, whose Victorian wallpaper, four-poster beds, and Audubon prints remind me of my grandmother's house in old New Orleans.

Finally, Gold Passport elite members and others who are accustomed to using Hyatt executive lounges should know that there is no such lounge in this hotel. In lieu of the usual lounge privileges you will receive two breakfast coupons for the small and limited-menu Powdered Sugar restaurant.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a fourth-floor room overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Patrick, Steven, and Chris who worked in the valet service were a great help to us. They were really friendly and offered good places for us to go. Vincent in guess service was EXCELLENT from the time we checked to the time we checked out he made sure we were taken care of. Ms Cynthia in maid services was also very friendly and came to our assistance with a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 165 in New Orleans
2,978 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,417 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £134 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing