We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Just got back from an amazing weekend in New Orleans. When we arrived at the hotel, we received an upgrade with out asking. We had a corner room, which was a block from Bourbon St. Never heard the all night partying. Only negative was the throw pillows on the coach were dirty. Staff was very pleasant. I'd stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MBluEyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    641
    160
    56
    29
See reviews for
336
905
73
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Every once in a while, I feel let down by glowing TripAdvisor reviews and the Hyatt French Quarter is a definite example. My wife and I just returned from a quick weekend getaway to this highly-touted property and in retrospect, there is much missing from the reviews. Of course the property is well-located in the heart of the French Quarter. I had reserved a "Bourbon Street Balcony" room @ $369 per night. When we arrived at 2:30 pm, that room was not ready and so we took the same room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Yes, the hotel is newly refurbished but it was done so on the cheap. Our room had a very slanted/uneven floor which was odd and disorienting. We loved the high ceilings and the modern furnishings were fine but the overall feel was a bit too cold--too many LED light fixtures. The bathroom was tiny with just a walk-in shower with a sliding glass door that leaked after every shower. The flat screen was too small (32" I would guess) for the distance from the bed. No minibar. The balcony was great but shared with another room which would have been nice to know about in the first instance. Housekeeping isssues came up when my wife grabbed a wascloth with someone else's makeup on it. The pool was very "blah" and looked like one you might see at a Motel 6. If you're going to spend all of that time fixing the place up, why not update the pool deck or at least put some nice plantings down there? And what kind of "luxury" hotel at $350+ a night does not have 24 hour room service? When we came back from a concert at midnight and wanted to eat, we were offered a choice of "two pre-made deli sandwiches". No thanks. No Sunday newspaper delivered to our room. In sum, while the hotel was well located, it is absolutely overpriced for what it is and was definitely missing that special Hyatt touch that I've come to expect. On a previous trip to NOLA I stayed at the W French Quarter and that was a far better option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mickshrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

For the first time, we took a chance and booked a hotel through Priceline. This hotel did not disappoint: great location, extremely pleasant staff (thank you David D. who mailed my iPhone charger to me), lovely room and luxurious bed, and a beautiful pool area and another courtyard area. And a great coffeeshop! Only wish free Wi-Fi had been in the rooms and not just the lobby. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We came here for a bachelor party and had a great time. The suites are very large and the room itself is comfortable. Only complaint I had was the shower wasn't as strong as I would like, but that's just personal preference. The location of the hotel is fantastic, it is right next to Bourbon and there are plenty of food options around the hotel. One thing to avoid is the restaurant adjacent to the hotel, red fish grill, it was good food, but very expensive and TERRIBLE SERVICE.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Volfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for a wedding. The reception and wedding were all at the hotel. Front desk experience was excellent, coming and going. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Powdered sugar has great food. It isn't real apparent but look for it and you will not be dissappointed. The menu is limited but what they have is good, and convenient. The layout is mazelike. Charging for WiFi is ____ y (insert your own four letter word). Speaking of four, $4 for a bottle of water is almost as bad. Skip the Ws and you will have a great stay.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms were quiet but it was too cold for swimmers. If you swim there are rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Location was key in choosing this hotel for our New Orleans stay. Right in the Quarter, close to Bourbon St., with a balcony room. The hotel is updated with a very nice roof top pool, friendly staff, as well as kept very clean. The 2 downfalls that we had were with the pool area (not that we spent that much time there). Being as the pool is in the middle of the hotel, the building hides the sun sometimes, not giving enough time to get your tan on without having to move your lounge chair. Also the bartender was a real stickler about bringing your own drink into the pool area, in a city where you can drink anywhere all day and night, let us be. We had left some precious items in our room safe when we checked out, 1 of them could never be replaced. With the help of Ken from security he got our stuff back to us without a snag even though there was a hurricane ocurring right after we left. Thank You! On a return trip to New Orleans and as a recommendation to friends or family we would definitely chose Hyatt French Quarter.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to have a balcony overlooking Bourbon street its going to be pricey. Opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 972NickC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. I used hotel points for my stay, so I was a little unsure if this location would be okay given that it was just steps from Bourbon Street. We stayed in a room with a view of the courtyard and did not have any noise issues other than from a few over-served ladies walking back to their room at 3 am, but hey it’s New Orleans and is to be expected. The accommodations were terrific. The room was large and updated. I loved the inside coffee café as well as the bar area. Both had great service. This location is unbeatable. You are steps from Walgreens, Canal Street and Bourbon Street. It’s easy walking distance anywhere inside the French Quarter. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memphisgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing