We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed here for Jazzfest in a double queen room with balcony with wife and friends. Really enjoyed most aspects of our stay. The hotel is obviously a remodel of an old hotel but up to snuff with most Hyatt properties. The bar (Batch) had some great and unique options and the bartender was extremely friendly. Powdered Sugar, the small cafe also had some great options but was a little slow. The portions were huge and the food was good... check out the fries. Room accommodations were very good, housekeeping was a bit stingy on towels and other supplies given that we had a double room and left tips.

I would recommend Hyatt French Quarter and will likely stay here again for my next trip to NOLA.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    652
    164
    57
    30
See reviews for
345
925
74
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel from April 14 to 17, 2013 (last day of the French Quarter Music Festival).

Overall, we were very impressed by this, what felt like, newly renovated hotel. The Hyatt French Quarter is at the centre of it all (Canal and Iberville), but offers a quiet and comfortable retreat from the stir that is the French Quarter (notably Bourbon street). Our rooms felt brand new, very clean and well appointed. The hotel has a great bistro inside, offering local foods and a great variety of well made healthy choices. There are also many other restaurant choices attached to the hotel and thousands in the area. We used the gym on all days, in the morning, and we found it more than adequate for our needs. The large square pool is located in sizeable courtyard. There were more than enough lounge chairs and the bar was a great plus, but it was only staffed on Sunday (our first day there). The staff at the Hyatt was very welcoming and generally went above and beyond to make you feel at home. This must be the southern hospitality because this was reflected everywhere we went on our trip in NOLA.

As stated, the major positives were location, renovated building and friendly staff. We agreed that there were little to no negatives about this hotel. It certainly helps that we received an incredible price with the help of Priceline, but would have had no problem paying full asking price for what we received. This hotel easily receives a 4 star (out of 5) for what has already been mentioned. We definitely recommend this location.

Room Tip: To avoid the ruckus that is Bourbon street and have a good nights sleep, ask for a room facing eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degrace26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice in a few months. Very nice, clean, spacious rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Did have an issue with our room not being cleaned one day, but the hotel compensated us nicely for that. Café so-so. Super location. Easy walk to everything in the FQ. Love Nawlins.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a very nice hotel with nice rooms in the heart of the French Quarter. However, its central location is a problem for those who are not into partying all night everyday of the week, especially Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Being almost at the intersection of Iberville and Bourbon St., there are numerous bars and lounges that have loud boisterous partying all night until 5am. Along with loud music and singing, you have drunks and near drunks singing, shouting and fighting, motorcyclists with deafening modified exhausts being revved again and again and doing wheelees, and finally there are multiple shrieks of sirens of police and ambulance vehicles. Then at 5am, when the party is over and it seems quiet, the city workers come to clean the party mess with hoses, power washers, and dump the trash.

So be forewarned. If you got this place through Hotwire and though you got a really good deal, chances are you will get a room with a window facing the noise. While the view is great and the windows are double paned, don't expect to sleep very much unless you also have propofol-like sleeping aids or are drunk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have stayed in MANY of the hotels in the French Quarter and the Central Business District (CBD), and this one was the BEST! Extremely clean property, rooms were spotless, hotel was quiet and the staff was top notch. A cool feature was instantly hot water in the shower and sink. Tall ceilings in the room made the room seem huge (which ours was compared to other hotels in the quarter). The beds were comfortable with luxury linens and duvets. A nice cafe and bar were in the lobby. The cafe has reasonably priced with tasty breakfast and lunch items (we never made it to the bar). We go to NOLA about twice per year and this will be our #1 choice going forward!

Room Tip: We had a courtyard facing room which probably cut down on the noise. Also, we got a Petite Suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRewerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel was very clean and the employees were very happy to help. The room was great. The rooms have 12 ft ceilings which make the rooms look huge. Very convenient to Bourbon Street.
Only down side, they pick up the garbage on the street at 2:30 am and the garbage truck takes for ever. They pick up garbage from 4 areas and dont move the truck. But nothing that the hotel could do about that.

Room Tip: don't stay on the Iberville side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Had a great time in New Orleans! My husband and I got in at 9am. The staff was pleasant and we got a huge room with a beautiful view. The hotel is very close to everything. Cafe Dumonde is about 5 minutes away. Bourbon Street is the street over. Great hotel and great location. We had a good time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,459 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 162 in New Orleans
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,118 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing