We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantasic Birthday Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Fantasic Birthday Stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was First Class. I had so much Fun and Relaxation. All of the Employees were Friendly and Accomdating. They even surprised me for my Birthday by Placing a Bottle of Champagne and Chocolate Covered Strawberries. The Pool is awesome. It has enough Lounge Chairs, a Pool Bar and plays nice music around the pool area. The Gym was adequate. The rooms are spacious and clean as is the rest of the hotel.

You do not need to rent a car. Everything and I do mean everything is within walking distance. You will not make a wrong choice by booking this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseyboyinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    628
    156
    55
    29
See reviews for
328
883
72
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel is located right smack dab in the middle of the action of the french quarter/bourbon st. It is extremely CLEAN, the staff is very attentive and go way above and beyond to make sure guests are happy. I was here on business, so I had free wifi to use as well as a convenient business center. The fitness center was adequate and is located on the 2nd floor. They have a nice coffee shop off the main lobby that is a bit pricey, but so is everything else near Bourbon St. Please note that parking is $36 PER NIGHT, and valet is $40 per night.

The room was gorgeous! The bed was very comfortable, and very tastefully decorated. Tall 15-20ft ceilings, clean furniture. The only down side about the room was the less than stellar shower stall (tiles looked mildewed),but other than that no real complaints. The hotel layout can be very confusing depending on where your room is located, as there are a lot of twists and turns.

Overall, if I returned on business again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitadj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

In N.O. for conference the last week of July. The location as the former D.H. Holmes department store with direct entrances on Canal, Iberville and Dauphine St. make this property ideally situated to get anywhere on foot, by streetcar or cab quickly and easily. Any amenity you need or forgot is within 1 block on Canal with Walgreens and CVS (liquor sold there). Rooms are modern, clean, large and well appointed with the exception of very limited drawer storage which was odd. 12 ft ceilings and very comfortable beds are an added bonus. Staff are outstanding and very well trained. Leah at the Concierge was always helpful and a pretty awesome wakeboarder in her own right. Dawn at Front desk went above and beyond helping a not so smart smartphone user unlock an app for a dinner invitation that would otherwise have been missed. Try the coffee and steel cut oatmeal in the Deli. Get a room on 2nd Floor facing the courtyard, not the pool. Pool gets loud. Petite suite is almost too big; plenty of space in king standard. Great property at a great price... I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed at Hyatt French Quarter weekend of 12th July - 14th July, loved it. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, the room was big, air-conditioned. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. Our stay was most enjoyable, and the staff were very helpful as well. I can't recommend it highly enough. I would definitely stay there again. My only criticism is the breakfast bar, not like other hotels in the States you pay for one cup of coffee and that is what you get, not a bottomless one as we experienced everywhere else - but that was the only flaw in what was a tremendous weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The location could not be better. Room was located on the 3rd floor and was close to the elevator which made it easy to get in and out. Our room was cleaned daily and the pool was a great way to start the day. The coffee shop is nice but super expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forti51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed here 4th of July weekend. The hotel is in a great location. Smack dab in the middle of everything. its one the corner of bourbon and Iberville. We got a room at the courtyard and it was a nice area to hang out and talk. The pool was nice but dont dare try to bring any outside food to the pool area or you will be told to leave. Food and drinks are served at the pool and the drinks arent bad at the pool bar but not worth the price. The have a great bar inside the hotel with delicious drinks. The powder sugar has a breakfast buffet it is decent but not the best. If you are lazy in the mornings like me you will just eat there every morning like I did. I think the buffet was $11. The staff was friendly and really I have no complaints. You need a key card to enter the hotel in the evening which is awesome because it keeps vagrants out. Its a nice jewel in the middle of the french quarter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linasegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was here for a seminar, so I did not use the restaurants, but the catered lunch was absolutely delicious. This says much for their kitchen. The rooms were nice and the staff went out of their way to be obliging. The wi-fi in the common areas was speedy,

One issue with my room was that there were no towel racks and the air conditioning vent was right at the head of the bed. The air conditioning was nice and subtle though; there was no "wind" and it was neither too hot or too cold.

Room Tip: My room was on the fourth floor, overlooking a quiet street. You may want to avoid the Bourbon Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalSal_Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
2,649 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing