We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great room, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hyatt's location on the border between the French Quarter and Canal Street (the main road that divides the French Quarter from the CBD) made all of the sites of New Orleans easily accessible via foot or streetcar. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who mapped out directions and assisted with booking tours. The room was clean and spacious, with contemporary accents and decor. The free, in-room mini fridge was a great amenity. Although on the small side, the outdoor pool was a relaxing way to cool off at the end of the day. One of the hotel's restaurants, Powered Sugar, was a decent cafe to grab breakfast or a snack on the go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    619
    153
    51
    28
See reviews for
317
870
69
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at this Hyatt for fourth of July weekend for a music festival I have attended since 2001. Like the Hyatt standard it did not disappoint. This hotel has balcony rooms over Bourbon but I opted for one without and chose not to be on that side of hotel. The rooms are rather spacious, with a nice sitting area. Modern chic decor, I believe this Hyatt is fairly new and they put millions into renovated what used to be another hotel brand. Rooms are very clean, bed was super comfortable! This hotel is right at Canal, Iberville and Bourbon streets. The Hardrock cafe is located adjacent along with another restaurant, I think it's called Redfish Grill?? Even though it's at noisy and busy Bourbon street, it has a quiet and laid back feel. The doors are locked at night so you do need a room key to gain access, which I liked. Hotel has a great staff, from the Manager on down to the staff that cleans the rooms. The hotel has a nice pool area with a bar for snacks and drinks but I think it's open seasonally only. I know it closed at 7 p.m, the bar that is but I did go out late night to sit pool side. There are also rooms that open to the pool if that's your preference. Overall, Hyatt did not disappoint and it's a brand that you can always trust. Just remembered there is a cafe in the lobby area, a bit on the expensive side but it's what I expect while on vacation. Breakfast cost me about $20 one morning. I ordered eggs, bacon, potatoes, and a croissant. I know they do a breakfast buffet but I am not sure if it was free or not. I never made it down there early enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcia0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Located a block off Bourbon in the French Quarter the Hyatt is a luxurious Hotel with large rooms. Rooms are quiet and you can sleep really well despite being just off Bourbon Street. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel and room are clean, comfortable. The only drawback was that the rooms had no free Wifi. That was only provided in the lobby. We stayed there before, 10 years ago, before it became a Hyatt hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralf_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hyatt French Quarter is a marvel considering its former life as a D.H. Holmes Dept. Store fronting Canal Street. In the building's current incarnation, Hyatt has honored its past department store life with several photos and display cases of interesting memorabilia.

With its main entrance and lobby off Iberville Street away from the foot and auto traffic of Canal Street, Hyatt French Quarter provides a modern subdued atmosphere that is very welcome considering its location steps away from Bourbon Street. Location should play an important role in whether you choose this hotel; there are exits onto Canal Street, Bourbon Street (through Red Fish Grill), and Iberville giving you access to both the Central Business District as well as the heart of the French Quarter. Shopping on Royal Street, fantastic dining (Bourbon House, Palace Cafe, Deanie's, Arnaud's, Felix's, Acme) are all very close to the hotel...several right across the street. The wonderful Red Fish Grill, Hard Rock, Fro-Yo, Powdered Sugar (GREAT breakfast items), and Batch are all on property. Harrah's Casino, Insectarium and the Aquarium are all within walking distance. For nightlife, Bourbon Street is right out of the door as well as the phenomenal Davenport's Lounge in the Ritz-Carlton; Jeremy Davenport's show is a MUST-SEE!

The hotel lobby, guest rooms and common areas are washed in metallic silvers, grey, white and soft subtle shades of purple with comfortable contemporary furnishings and lighting. Our guest room (490) was massive and not just compared to cramped French Quarter spaces. With a ceiling of 12+ feet, two queen beds, sofa, dresser/entertainment center, and game table; our room provided plenty of space for our family of three. As an added bonus, a wide balcony with chairs and a table overlooked the manicured courtyard below. Bedding was upgraded and very comfortable. Toiletries were top notch, and the shower never ran out of HOT water.

Unfortunately, all of this bliss was clouded a bit with a few missteps. The wood threshold underneath the french doors leading to our balcony was rotten providing a bit of a gap to the outside; Hyatt brass should address this immediately. Housekeeping as it related to toiletries and in-room coffee was never on their game during our stay as soap/shampoo was rarely replaced as was regular coffee and condiments. However, calls to the front desk concerning these lapses were met with expedient response.

All in all, this Hyatt is worthy of a four-star rating...and definitely worthy of your consideration for your next trip to The Big Easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcdato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

A great hotel in a great location. Close to all things New Orleans, but also very quiet once back. Staff was very involved to make sure everything went great. Food at hotel was very good. Pool looked nice. Will be staying here again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysSomewhereElse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for my bachelorette party. I went to Tulane for college but didn't spend any time at hotels in the FQ. That being said, I know location is the most important thing- and this hotel has a phenomenal location. On top of the location, it is new, clean and has a great little restaurant downstairs that is very reasonably priced. A lot of times, they charge you a fortune for the hotel restaurant, but this was very reasonable- buffet breakfast for $12. It's not a fancy place, just a deli/sandwich shop type place- but perfect for a small bite or easy breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again and suggest it to friends and family!

Room Tip: We were in their largest corner room on the 4th floor- ceilings must have been 20 feet tall and it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKKKTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is located at a great location to just about anything in the French Quarter and also to the Superdome etc. There are many great restaurants and cafes in walking distance. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. The double queen room was huge. The pool courtyard was nice and relaxing. All of the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Being the hotel is on the corner of Bourbon and Iberville it can be noisy. Ask for a courtyard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing