We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in August 2013. The location was perfect for walking around the French Quarter and once you figure out the navigation on the one-way streets, the approach to the valet stand was easy. I also liked that you can call ahead to the valet and have your car waiting by the time you come downstairs.

The lobby was pretty and the reception staff were super friendly and accommodating. They actually upgraded me to a large king room with french doors opening to the pool deck for free. The room was enormous with a heavenly bed, small sitting area with modern furniture, spacious bathroom and separate dressing/vanity area with plenty of mirrors.

I was a little skeptical of having a room right next to the pool, but with the drapes drawn, the music was barely audible...no problem at all. And we didn't hear any of the Bourbon Street noise at all.

While we only had pool-side burgers and did not eat at the restaurant, the downstairs bar gets big kudos. The bartender made me the best mint julep I've ever had and the bar itself was gorgeous. There is also a little bakery/coffee shop off the lobby that had some delicious and reasonably priced sandwiches and pastries.

All of the staff were courteous and helpful and I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation!

Room Tip: The rooms with doors opening to the pool are great and not as noisy as you might expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,131 - 2,137 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

I Stayed in this hotel for business. Everything fine. Bourbon Street is just Next door. If you stay here you won't be far from alle the life there and the harbour is just a good walk away. Had breakfast at another place except for 1 day because of business. But I did not really se a buffet, but rather a small cafe. Friedly and fine staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgenGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Wow, you can't get any closer to the action than this place. First, the hotel, great blend of old and remodeled new. Easy to find, with a courtyard area to pull into and unload. The staff was great, check-in fast and off to the room. I upgraded to a suite with one of my four upgrades per year. The room was huge, high ceilings made it feel even larger. No problems with the room at all, loved it. I had breakfast in "Powdered Sugar", one of the best omelets I have had, great coffee and service. I knew ahead of time, but remember your in the quarter, I self-parked and it was $38.00 per day. As everyone else has said, walk out the door, hang a right, and in 30 seconds you have the non-stop party of Bourbon street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was invited to a bachelor party in New Orleans and we ended up staying at the Hyatt French Quarter. Centrally located a half of a block from Bourbon St. In the French Quarter you can only imagine that the party was on. The hotel staff where kind an courteous. The concierges where very helpful orchestrating day trips or whatever you want. Rooms where very nice, great beds, and extremely clean. I highly recommend this place for any occasion and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yetiman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A very nice hotel indeed.

Situated just one block from the alive and bustling Bourbon Street area and a comfortable walking distance from the waterfront area.

From the outset the Registration procedure was smooth and efficient. The rooms were large, contained King bed, table, chairs etc and overlooked a peaceful courtyard.

Price of $150 was great value. Breakfast is not included but is available on the ground. A wide range was available and at a very reasonable cost.

There was nothing about this hotel not to like with the minor exception that Wifi was not available in the rooms unless incur a cost of $10 pd, but it was available in the lobby for free.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dencal1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Hyatt was a brilliant choice for our stay in New Orleans as part of our honeymoon. It was central to everything and within walking distance of most things. The staff were extremely helpful with all our requests and organising excursions for us.

The food at the lobby cafe was a bit expensive but very nice and handy for a quick snack. The room was very spacious with a separate dressing area. We were told you had to pay for wi-fi but we managed to log on for free! The only downside was the noise - it can get a little loud on Bourbon Street so ask for a room away from that side if you want a quiet night!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great location. Hyatt was walking distance from most attractions. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The security guard even tried to track down bubble wrap for us to package some artwork we had bought. The food at the hotel was expensive but tasty. There is a cafe in the lobby that serves a wide selection of beverages, snacks and meals which was handy if you wanted to grab something on the go. Room was spacious and clean. A downside was that you had to pay for internet in your room (approximately $10/day) but if you went to the lobby the internet was free and there was free cold water available while you relaxed in the lobby. There is also a pool available in the courtyard and a small gym for those who want to burn off any calories!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,499 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £147 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing