We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Hospitality at its best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is located off Bourbon Street. Our room was huge with 2 queen beds, huge ensuite and a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The room was the cleanest room of our whole trip and there was ample room to spread out suitcases and still have room to move. I love this hotel. From the moment I stepped into the lobby I was impressed. Exactly what I expected from a New Orleans hotel. Very big lobby with great café and the staff were so friendly. Southern hospitality at it's best. Tours were easy to book and the staff were always spot on when giving us directions.
My friends and I were travelling alone and were slightly worried about safety but this hotel is right off Bourbon Street and also the Hard Rock Café so we were comfortable walking around the area at night. we were only here for 2 nights but what an impression it made. I will definitely stay here on my next trip and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Aussie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    619
    153
    51
    28
See reviews for
317
870
69
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was at the Hyatt French Quarter November 9th-11th and I loved it! I will stay there again if I go back to that city. The staff was great! We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the swimming pool. The room was clean and modern and quite! The only little problem was the pillows were a little to flat and soft for my liking.... Great location!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

As return visitors to NOLA we wanted something a little closer to bourbon, but not too loud....we made a good choice. From the outside to the inside this hotel is beautiful, and its location is perfect walking distance down all the action on bourbon as well as canal street and the waterfront. As for the staff.....I found they were either realllllly good or reallllly crappy. There was no average. Even with that said, I will probably stay here again next year when we return.

We met 2 couple friends of ours, we are all from different cities in Canada, 2 of us had chosen bourbon balcony rooms, that morning before we checked in my friend who was already there inquired if we could have a balcony that was shared with our friends(2 rooms share one balcony). It was not booked at that moment, so when we arrived we inquired again; the girl just kept saying she could put us up a floor and over one balcony, we asked the direct question, 'is there anyone in that room now, why cant we have it' and she wouldn't answer, and she was quite snobby. If the room was legitimately taken, we could understand but it was vacant as far as we could tell(and we were watching the curtains and listening), it was vacant until Saturday night. Like what would the big deal to give us that room checking in 2 days earlier and them our room? Its the same room type! I did let the manager know on the Saturday about this, and he was going to look into it, and he seemed somewhat apologetic and wanted to look into it....I never heard anything back.

Second issue we had, somehow our friends ended up with my cell phone; they were flying out and leaving hotel at 4am; they said they would leave my phone with front desk. Next morning my husband goes down to ask for my phone, and asks the front desk girl if there was a phone turned in, and she just says 'no, sorry sir.'.....he said, well were you working at 4am, could security or someone else have it? She rolled her eyes and said fine ill check. Came back, said sorry no phone.

When he got back to room he told me how she was less then helpful so I said, lets go ask concierge or security, and we ended up having a guy help us; he went and checked security tapes, he took us up to our friends room to see if it was in there. He sure made us feel better leaving that day knowing phone must be on plane with our friends.

Turns out after we went to airport our friends texted it was under bedside table in room....I called hotel and they are apparently shipping it to me, but it has yet to arrive.

Anyways, if you choose this hotel, if you are a light sleeper do not choose a bourbon balcony room, get courtyard for some quiet at night. If you like to watch the world go by and can sleep through trumpets, screaming, and obnoxious people, a bourbon room is fun!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter for 3 nights during August. From the moment we walked into the lobby we had nothing but good experiences. The staff were always very friendly (from checkin, restaurant staff and concierge). Even the cleaning staff were always happy and friendly and would say good morning when walking through corridors. The rooms were very modern, and nicely decorated. We had a room with a view of the pool which was very nice. We had no night time noise in our room at all. Beds were comfortable. The hotel was located in a very central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melifranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for business and fun.
PROS:
The room was large, clean and quiet. The bed, sheets and pillows were very, very comfortable. There was an empty fridge in the room ( nice touch although I'd prefer it had some itens inside).
Location was great too. Next to Hard Rock Cafe and Red Fish Grill, steps from Bourbon street and with entrances to Canal street and Iberville street.
Complimentary wi-fi at the lobby.
Nice hair salon at the Canal street entrance.
CONS:
Coffee amenities were the worst brand.
Powdered sugar (restaurant) where I had breakfast was crowded and the staff was very rude.

Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wanessacarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It was my first stay with a Hyatt hotel but definitely my favorite hotel in New Orleans so far (3rd visit). Was upgraded to a balcony room with 2 queen beds. The room was clean comfy and quiet. I left a list of items for house keeping and received them when I got back (slippers, robes, etc). Got the breakfast package which was pretty good. Worked out at the gym, which had ear phones and cool towels. I was able to print boarding pass at the business center. Locations was great too. Next to Felix, which has great reasonable priced food. All in all great stay. I would stay here again next time!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lulupitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish Midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights with wife and 2 teenagers.

The hotel was very good in every aspect.

Our room was of a very generous size and, like everywhere in the hotel it was spotlessly clean. I liked the fact that there was a fridge in the room as it was nice to be able to have favourite cool drinks to hand.

The beds and pillows were very comfortable and our room (488) was very quiet.

The staff were more efficient than friendly but not so as to make one feel unwelcome. The parking attendants were exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

The bar was empty at night which is hardly surprising given all of the competition in the area.

The location of the hotel is great in terms of access to attractions and trams. It is only seconds from the famous Bourbon Street which was hugely disappointing. I thought Bourbon Street would be filled with jazz bars, quaint restaurants etc. It is a haven of dull sleaze and tiresome trash. Nearby Royal and Canal and Decatur streets are much more appealing.

We didn't eat in the hotel at all. We indulged in a few cocktails and although my wife had the same one each night the flavour and "punch" varied greatly.

Bar prices were reasonable for a hotel.

Overall it was a very satisfactory stay and I would have no hesitation in staying again.

The only significant negative was the in-room air conditioning which each time it kicked in did so with a huge slurping sound that woke us up a few times.

Otherwise, go to this very nice hotel and enjoy it.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Longfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing