We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun family weekend!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel was prefect for a four day getaway with our 10 and 13 yr old kids! Toured the Garden district, French Quarter. & swamp! Hotel was centrally located to everything! Within walking distance to everything in French Quarter including cemeteries, shops, and restaurants. Easy drive to Garden District to park and walk. Room was spacious, clean, and modern. Powdered Sugar had delectable breakfast treats that can't be overlooked! Price was extremely affordable for the location!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CHulgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    640
    160
    56
    29
See reviews for
336
904
73
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed at Hyatt French Quarter Feb 19 - 22 for Mardi Gras. Perfect location - super close to Bourbon Street when we wanted to experience the craziness and Canal Street where we waited for the parades which was a blast, street cars were just a block away and went everywhere. Rooms were very nice, had a courtyard view, and had no outside noise at all despite being so close to Bourbon Street. Derek at check-in was super nice and worked with us in getting an extra night when I couldn't get our mlast night stay on line. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a courtyard view if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! hands down the WORST customer service i have ever experienced from any "business"

We booked this room in November, spoke to the hotel multiple times prior to booking, never once was anything mentioned by the staff, by the website or by the booking agency about needing wristbands, let alone the cost of an extra $30/night for each wristband (totally UNACCEPTABLE). They will not let you check in or enter the lobby without the wristband so we had no choice but to pay. the MOST we were able to find prior to checking in (on the FB page) was that the wristbands would be necessary and it would be a $35 charge for any lost/replacement bands which is totally understandable. They made it sound as if it was included with the room reservations, Not a peep anywhere about a daily cost, until after you try to check in.

The manager was "unavailable" the entire stay and despite talking to the asst manager numerous times. they would not budge. After we got home we have attempted to resolve this with the Operations Director "Travis" (he needs a new job) the following occurred...

"just spent the last hour and 7 minutes on the phone with the manager of Hyatt... All he kept saying was we appreciate your feedback, but it is our policy not to adjust any prices after checkout during Mardi Gras.... he must have said it like 100 times. When I told him I tried to speak with him at the hotel, but he wasn't available, he told me he was off and that it was not his problem if I didn't get it resolved before I left. I even pointed out that I spoke with the assistant manager multiple times and he said it wasn't him so it also didn't matter. He said that they would have to review their process and confirm with 3rd party booking agencies that the fees are better identified, but that in the fine print it always says there may be additional fees/charges... they slide by under this for Mardi Gras. He also reviewed my reservation and said that he saw I had my name on the room, but that I planned to have 4 people and that he couldn't help that it wasn't charged correctly since I went through travelocity. He was a jerk and the hotel knows they are doing this - he even slipped and said he has been handling these calls all day and will not make any exceptions. He said it is a matter for them to review and that they hope to improve the process in the future. I can damn near guarantee that he wouldn't meet with anyone that week cuz they had to prep for how to handle all of the complaints. He tried to tell me his front desk people were more credible than I was and when I told him what I did for a living he was like well, ummm, I'm sure you are very credible, but I'm still not able to solve this for you.

I posted to their FB page and the response from the social media director was sincere, however the people we were directed to speak to were already the ones we tried to resolve it with. I dont know about you, but i dont typically have an extra $120-150 to just throw away.

The main staff (housekeeping, front desk etc...) was very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: if you plan on staying here for a Mardi Gras plan on paying an extra $30 per person per night! They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TLS422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was me and my husband's first visit to New Orleans and Mardi Gras. This hotel was absolutely delightful. It was in a key location to enjoy all of the Mardi Gras activities, including Bourboun Street. Our hotel room was very spacious, clean, and we were well sheltered from the noise of the festivities. The Batch Restaurant staff was great and the food and drinks even greater. All of the hotel staff was wonderful! Would definitely stay here again. Only con was there was no microwave in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a recently remodeled property that is in a great location if visiting the French Quarter is your plan. Staff is very nice & the room was large. It was also surprisingly quiet, given its proximity to the craziness of the French Quarter close to Mardi Gras. However, it is not suitable for business, the reason for my stay (a small conference). There is no desk in the room. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels & never seen this before. The front desk sent up a small table & a banquet chair but this is hardly adequate for doing work. Also, the breakfast I ordered for 7:45 never arrived. If you don't plan to use your computer except in bed or need to be someplace at a fixed time, this property might work for you. I won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were generally very pleased to stay at the Hyatt French Quarter in February 2014. Two things that were disappointing: (1) we had almost no water pressure in the shower; and (2) this Hyatt location still charges for WiFi. Our King Balcony room was comfortable and was on the 4th floor facing the interior courtyard with the pool, which was generally unused this time of year so there was no residual noise and was overall very quiet and tranquil.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twenty49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A group of about 55 of us were in New Orleans for a week during Mardi Gras, for a small convention. We all stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter, and ou rdaily meetings were held in the large conference/ball room adjacent to the lobby. The location and layout of the hotel are both ideal. The food in both Powdered Sugar and Batch Bar was great. However, the food that the hotel kitchen provided for our group's lunches and dinner was superb. Fantastic soups and salads, regional dishes,and creative deserts. In addition to the unexpectedly delightful food I have to mention the staff. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the bell, concierge, housekeeping, restaurant, catering and even the security staff were friendly, helpful, and truly welcoming. The Hyatt staff is what makes this hotel truly stand out. Our group will be returning next January and we will certainly be in attendance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the atrium or pool if you desire quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanNMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,117 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing