We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Yes it isn't the nicest hotel in the world, but it is very nice for the price. The standard room was large and pretty. The court yard and pool are great on a hot day. Powder sugar had really good breakfast. Staff was friendly and the location is great! You can walk to so many great places. For a nice hotel in the french area it was a price. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,995 - 2,001 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Very good quality Hotel with well above average size rooms. Amenities were decent and staff friendly.

The only negative item was the poor sound proofing of the rooms, which if you want to get to sleep before 3 am on a Saturday night may prove problematic. There were ear plugs supplied in the bedside drawer however they didn't really do the trick of eliminating the outside street noise.

I would stay here again during weekdays as this Hotel does have a nice feel about it but would probably go back to residing next door at the Ritz Carlton if staying over a weekend, purely as the latter seems to be a little quieter judging from previous experiences.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank NC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel on March 1st 2014 for Mardi Gras, the first room they gave us was directly above the street we asked to be moved but they couldn't do it until the following day which was ok as we were so tired! we left our bags in our room and went out and when we got back everything had been moved to another room over looking the pool.
the rooms were really lovely quite large with lovely bathrooms.
we had a banking issue one day and a lovely young lady on the reception rang around for us and helped us out she was great! couldn't do enough all the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful would definetly stay here again as it also had a great location.
only con I would say is rooms could be better soundproofed but we did sleep!

Room Tip: have a room overlooking pool or attrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel long before it was the Hyatt French Quarter (Chateau Sonesta, then Chateau Bourbon) based on the excellent location to Bourbon Street, access to the Red Fish Grill, mostly spacious rooms with some having Bourbon Street balconies, 24 hour room service, work-out facility, and excellent staff. We will now ONLY stay at the HYATT FRENCH QUARTER for ALL future trips to New Orleans based on how they treated us during a recent emergency we experienced while guests at this hotel. We arrived in New Orleans for Mardi Gras on Friday, February 28, and my husband had a heart attack that same night! (Not the kind where he collapsed and the ambulance rushes to his aid, but the kind where he woke up after having a somewhat restless night with an inexplicable pain in his shoulder, and after Googling "angina" taking a cab to the ER and learning he had a heart attack at that point.) Long story short, he ended up having a quadruple bypass at Tulane Medical Center, which obviously extended my stay while my husband was in the hospital. Manager, Derek Chivers was so compassionate and accommodating by arranging to give me the best room-rate possible for the additional stay. Every night when I returned to the hotel after being at the hospital all day, I was always greeted by a friendly staffperson asking about my husband, as well as how I was! 5 days after his bypass, he was released from the hospital but not given the ok to fly back to Austin, Texas for a few more days. I requested that we be moved to a room with two beds, in order to allow my husband to sleep better. The day before he was released from the hospital, Mr. Chivers told me to simply leave our luggage packed and that they would move everything for me. I was beyond pleasantly surprised when hotel staff was waiting for us prepared with a wheelchair to take him to our room, and to find that we were now staying in a fabulous suite that allowed my husband to recuperate comfortably, take sit-showers, and was more than spacious enough to safely walk around the room! (Per doctors orders.) During this time, housekeeping came by to check on us several times and after hearing that he was having a bit of trouble getting comfortable in bed, brought us several additional pillows to help support him, and therefore sleep more comfortably. One morning, they even closed the doors to the hallway because they were cleaning the carpet and wanted to be sure the sound didn't disturb him! Room service attendant, Joseph Russo, called several times to check in on him and to confirm whether he needed anything! When we checked out, I called for a cab in advance and asked if they could let the cab driver know what our circumstances were. We were thrilled to see a larger and more comfortable black SUV waiting for us with a driver that was so careful not to drive over bumps, etc! Overall, the service during this stressful time was above and beyond what we would expect, but very much appreciated! In sum, I wish to convey that there are not enough stars that I could rate in this review that would reflect the excellent and caring service we received in a time of great stress!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cynpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was awesome! Location, one block from Bourbon, walking distance to everywhere in French Quarter. A lot of restaurants, near casino, trolley cars. Hotel was very clean, front desk was very efficient with check in and out. Nice size room with balcony facing inner courtyard which was quiet. Cafe was convenient to have for breakfast and good cup of coffee. This is where to stay when going the French Quarter!

Room Tip: Ask for inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njbelle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We visited this hotel in the run up to Mardi Gras madness of the final weekend! The hotel is very modern though very comfortable and absolutely spotless. The photos on the hotel website simply don't do justice whether of the rooms themselves or the café which was just great and an ideal, and inexpensive, place for breakfast! The room and bathroom were both a great size and it was extremely quiet. Whilst not already having the usual amenities in the bathroom (cotton wool buds, shower caps etc.) - there is an in-room menu of those 'things you've forgotten' - I'd never seen this before and quiet honestly you could have stocked up on your entire vanity bag - delivered to your room in minutes.
The location of the hotel is fantastic and it is on the corner of the famous Bourbon Street. As we were hitting the busiest weekend of Mardi Gras we asked for a quiet room and quite honestly - you couldn't hear a single thing. Once you step in to the hotel, you seem to be a world away from the (highly enjoyable) madness around the corner! Security is tight during Mardi Gras but this was in no way intrusive. All in all a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuddies93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was only here for a couple of nights, but I loved my stay at this hotel. The room was very spacious. The bed was comfortable.... gym was very nice.... staff was friendly.... internet speed was quick.... perfect location for those looking to head to the Quarter. Its a great hotel! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avillebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,499 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £147 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing