We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #26 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

As one other reviewer stated, this Hyatt property is more like a Hyatt Place. The rooms are large in size and bed is comfortable. But, no extras like you would expect. Location can't be beat. I would stay again as long as the price was right. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ID_Sun_Chaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,758 - 1,764 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Maybe it's just that I LOVE this city, but I am writing this review as I sit on the shared balcony on bourbon street listening to a sax player down below!! My idea of a perfect afternoon!!!
From the moment I walked in the door and smelled the magnolia candle I was hooked. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly! The room was a little small, but it fit hubby and I just fine. The marble in the bathroom completed the decor. Very nice bath products, too and TOOTHPASTE!! The blackout window treatments let us sleep waaaaaaay longer than we needed to.
As it sits straddled between Canal and Iberville, it's a perfect location to the French Quarter!!!!! A walk down to the river doesn't take long at all! ENJOY!! We will be back soon!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank latink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Not a bad hotel ticks all the boxes. Great bar with good staff, rooms ok if a little drab. Only fault is pool Bar drinks VERY expensive and not very good. Would definatly stay again as very good location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swiftyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff was the friendliest I have ever seen!
The room was super clean it was in a prime location and it had all the amenities I was looking for. I was very pleased with the hotel as a whole.
My only complaint would be that the pool was closed due to some maintenance issues. I know this may sound crazy but that changed my outlook on the hotel. They should have better maintenance checks. While I know that things do happen this was very unfortunate because this was the main reason I booked this hotel. That would be my only negative but other than that it was great!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebley456, Manager at Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Joel,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We're glad you had a good time here in NOLA. Our sincere apologies regarding the pool being out of service. It happened to be an unexpected repair we had to make and not something we were planning for. Please keep us in mind if your plans ever bring you back to New Orleans and I can ensure you receive a comfortable stay with us.

Warm regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter for a professional conference in May and was very pleased with the room and the amenities. The location is perfect for exploring the Quarter, but also quiet enough if you want to escape the madness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebley456, Manager at Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Katie,

Thank you for the great feedback, sounds like you had a good stay with us. Keep us in mind if you're ever back in NOLA.

Best regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and from the very outset of stepping through the door the staff for incredibly helpful and friendly without being overbearing. They have got the balance spot on! The hotel is situated bang in the middle of town but is just far enough away from the hustle that you don't hear it. There is a restaurant bar and a breakfast/pastry cafe which both serve really good food. The rooms are great; one of the most comfy beds I've slept on (barring my own). Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BoromirsRevenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebley456, Manager at Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi BoromirsRevenge,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay! I agree, our staff is great. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your family sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Arrived on July 27 for 4 night stay.
The staff was excellent
We arrived early@ 10am not expecting to check in - but store bags and return-
We were able to check in to a great room overlooking the pool and with a balcony-
Spent time enjoying the balcony each evening!
Pool was exceptionally clean and well maintained-
Pool bar was nice- waiter was friendly and offered good service-
We visited the Batch Bar several times during the stay for a nightcap - usually to take to our room- service great and the bartender remembered us and what we preferred after our first visit-
Very nice service
Powdered Sugar- the coffee shop was nice and had quite a variety on the menu- only got coffee and water there - every morning but friendly and prompt service-
Housekeeping was excellent- room was spotless and always cleaned before we returned from our activities-
Fitness center was also immaculate! Good machines- cold towels a nice amenity!
Location is great- convenient for walking to many restaurants and attractions-
We will be returning!

Room Tip: Balcony is best! Rooms overlooking pool good also Overall the hotel was quiet and noise was never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cmerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebley456, Manager at Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

HI cmerun,

Thank you for the great feedback!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Agreed, the pool courtyard is a great place to enjoy some sun and our staff at Batch is top notch. Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
3,030 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £133 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing