We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older accommodations but spotless rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Older accommodations but spotless rooms”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We made our reservations for this hotel a few months ago after reading good reviews. As we got closer - wifey started to get second thoughts. I read more reviews here in TA and I was convinced we made the right decision.

Be advised - this is not the high end, spacious, luxurious high rise of the big city and the cost reflects that. This is an older, architecturally perfect setting right on the fringes of the French Quarter. I saw craftsmen working every day trying to update different features - always painting - etc.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Rolita. This woman was absolutely wonderful. She guided us daily - helped us with different tours and there was absolutely no pressure for us to take a tour. (Remember, many hotels get a reward for booking specific tour companies - this was NOT the case for us.)

Our room was approximately 11' x 11' with a queen bed, ceiling fan, a flat screen TV, and our bathroom had a tub. Again - the room is older style - wide pine flooring - tile in the bathroom - but spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 209, after originally checking into room 203. We wanted to be further away from the noise of the main street and 209 was back in the courtyard area. (I think 203 would have been fine - but I love my wife.) We were there in early April, and had the A/C on while we were there.

I read in other reviews about room problems. We had none - plenty of hot water - everything worked - WiFi was great. No complaints whatsoever about our room.

The rooms do not have refrigerators - so we went to a local corner store - Matassa's at 1001 Dauphine St, and purchased a Styrofoam cooler, beer and wine. The hotel has a small and large ice machine and it worked perfect for us.

There are no elevators so pack lightly. Again - remember - this is an older New Orleans mansion. The woodwork is amazing - the building itself very rich in history. Although the weather was warm, we did not use the swimming pool.

There is a simple continental breakfast each day consisting of self made waffles, orange juice, plenty of muffins, bread for toast, and bagels. On Saturday, there was a tray with meat and different cheeses. Guests were cordial and comparing different tours they had taken, or were about to take. In this dining area, there is also a computer/printer to access reservations, etc.

We walked miles and miles each day - Rolita giving us some guidelines on where to be cautious if walking out late at night. We felt safe regardless of the time of day - and the heart of the French Quarter - Bourbon Street - was a 5 minute walk.

I believe you will enjoy staying at this hotel. The price is right. The staff even better. Feel free to send me a private note via TA.

Room Tip: When we first arrived, we were given a room towards the main street. It is a very busy thoroughfare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for staying with us. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    101
    44
    22
    19
See reviews for
54
135
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in New Orleans. We stayed here several nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us many suggestions of things to do and places to see. The location was great. We were within walking distance of everything in the French Quarters. The hotel provided the best continental breakfast that we have ever experienced. They continuously worked hard to keep the food stocked. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CathyPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am glad to hear you had a great time in New Orleans. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I had a good stay, but there were some really touchy things that bothered me. We stayed four nights, our first night was in a room near the Main Street. It was noisy at night and noisy in morning, meaning very little sleep was to be had. Additionally the shower was so tiny it was like showering in a coffin. There was nowhere to hang towels to "save the planet". Bead was comfy after requesting extra pillows(they pillows are a bit flat). So, next day we asked to be transferred to a more peaceful room. They were gracious to accommodate us. The first day was a Thursday morning and we had the complimentary continental breakfast of mediocre coffee and sad excuse for pastries. There was only citrus fruits and when I asked for something else such as a banana since I am allergic to citrus I was given a very rude answer. Needless to say we had to grab a snack almost immediately upon venturing out for the day. They do have waffles if you like them but it should be said that not everyone wants a shot of sugar and carbs first thing in the morning. I just wanted some cheese, fruits...good coffee, but not to be that day. Our new room was much better even though it was next to the laundry facility. More peaceful to say the least. The tub was more roomy thankfully but the thing had some nasty mineral stain deposits and really was bordering on gross. The water adjuster did not work properly, it was near impossible to adjust from scalding hot to a temperature that could be tolerated. Still nowhere to hang towels and the shower caddy was nasty too with mineral deposits. It just needs spiffing up. Need was firm but very high to get in and out of...I am short and a stool would have been helpful.
Now the location is fantastic! It really cannot be beat and as for the breakfast we were surprised to find that each day something else was added to the breakfast. Some ham and cheese and bananas were added and we were uncertain as to why this progression occurred, by Sunday morning it was a perfectly acceptable continental breakfast. My husband speculated that maybe they only do it for the weekenders. Regardless, a decent repass was appreciated.
Parking is very expensive...$25 a day. Lot is very big, no reason it should be so high. It was a clean hotel with charm.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for staying with us. Your comments have helped us become better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed several nights and had an uneven experience. The location was wonderful: close to the French Quarter but away from the noise. The management was very nice and caring but their sincerity couldn't overcome problems with the hotel. There's a point when charm and eccentricity pass into the category of inconvenience. Our room definitely fit in the inconvenient category.

The door to our room was so warped that there was a 1/2 inch wide and 3 foot long gap which let daylight, noise, and cold air in. We were safe; the warp of the door overlapped the frame enough to install a secure lock. Unfortunately, we heard the traffic noise on Rampart Street until quite late at night and the room was very cold. (We clearly weren't the first people with this problem. The hotel keeps a huge supply of earplugs behind the front desk.) The hot water was unreliable. Plenty of hotels show some fluctuation in hot water depending on usage down the line, but one morning of our stay, we had no hot water.

Room Tip: If you stay there, make sure you have a room close to the main building so the hot water is more rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetNitNoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for staying with us. Your review has helped us become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankford, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had a small but comfortable and very clean room facing the courtyard for 4 nights in January. Enjoyed the beautiful well kept architecture and the courtyard. Everyone working there was extremely helpful and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to see what a nice selection of offerings for breakfast ( waffles, muffins, assorted breads for toast, fresh fruit, and beverages).
Available early in the morning so you can get an early start on your day. The location was great.
They are in the French Quarter and walking distance (for walkers) to all of it. We parked our car with them and did not have the need for it until we left. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks we are so glad you loved staying with us. It was really our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

If you want a taste of old New Orleans stay here. The architecture is beautiful! We stayed facing the courtyard and pool on the second floor. We had a balcony entrance. The floors were original wood. The queen bed was so high we had to climb it! The room was small and the bathroom was even smaller. This is usually the case for 1800s homes and hotels. there was a 3" clearance beside my shoulders when I was at the sink. A hook on the door would have been nice to hang my towel on. The shower is a standing only shower- no tub. Some rooms have tubs. Since we were in New Orleans in the winter, we had a cold front come in and wind just blew in from the gaps in the door. Brrrr! The courtyard rooms would be best in warmer weather and then you could hang out by the lovely pool. Good security here as well. We felt very safe. No problem walking the 3 blocks to Bourbon Street. As in any larger city I don't recommend walking alone after dark anywhere. Great time, fun people no matter what time of the year you go.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor courtside have brick floors and bathtubs. They provide a nice continent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPM-Hotels, Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks again for staying with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed at the New Orleans courtyard this weekend .. Not my usual hotel but tried this one for this trip... I was beyond happy with my experience at this hotel ... The managers / owners have to be some of the nicest people I have met.. Making my stay there so comfortable... Breakfast in the morning was beautifully done.. Such lovely touches to make it feel special... Staff was warm and attentive.. Extremely helpful ... The price was very very affordable .. Courtyards are gorgeous .. The rooms have a wonder feel of the history of this great city... Just a great experience

Room Tip: Slaves quarters on courtyard are a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tnewmark73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPM-Hotels, General Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you are already planning your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#96 of 162 in New Orleans
371 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
803 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 162 in New Orleans
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 162 in New Orleans
925 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
125 reviews
French Quarter
Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Courtyard Hotel

Property: New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
Address: 1101 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2434
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — New Orleans Courtyard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners 2009. The New Orleans Courtyard Hotel is one of several historic New Orleans homes and cottages that have been lovingly restored and converted into beautifully appointed Rooms, spacious Multi-bedroom Suites, luxury Townhouses and charming Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your New Orleans Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard
Courtyard New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing