We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed. Big bummer. Never again!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of International House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Big bummer. Never again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Not friendly.
No umbrellas (or appologies) on a week of torentially pouring rain.
They were not proficient or comfortable giving directions, shopping suggestions, or even having an all inclusive map of NO. Very strange.
The concierges were very sweet, one offered me her personal umbrella, but the manager was down right chilly, and again, had 1001 "good reasons" for not having any umbrellas for guests, not even for the doorman, who was only present on the day we left.
So, to be clear, in the pouring March rain, we had to run 3 blocks to the Marriott to buy 5 dollar ponchos! Thank god they were selling them. And they were so friendly! By the time we got the ponchos we were totally soaked, and my brewing head cold turned into the flu as I froze my butt off until I got back into bed, where I ended up spending the rest of my trip after making our soaking wet meetings.
The room was nicely decorated, but windows looked into an airshaft, the bathroom had a cracked toilet cover, horrible water pressure, broken hair dryer, teeny tiny sink, dings and dents in the doors and walls, and the lighting of the Bates Motel. Awful!
This and the $16.00 they charged me for a large pot of hot water for tea closed the deal--never again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. You are 100% right! We did not have our normal stock of umbrellas as they seemed to disappear during the week of rain that we had. We will be ready for the next storm and offer our most sincere apology to you for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    323
    113
    65
    39
See reviews for
98
488
65
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night before our cruise was to depart. I was immediately impressed by the style of the hotel's entrance - very classy! The room was very clean and comfortable, bathroom seemed recently updated Location is great - in a safe district, but within walking distance to the French Quarter and the River Walk. There are plenty of restaurants nearby as well. Just drop your bags off in your room and take off for food and shopping!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maybell_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The IHH is located right in the heart of the CBD. It's got the sort of character-plus-comfort I want when visiting NOLA, and the combination of quiet, comfortable rooms with good wifi, a cool lobby bar, helpful staff, and walking distance to more or less everything downtown, makes it a lock for my next trip. They let us check in a couple hours early, too, and were good about getting us taxis. Only gripe is that the standard king rooms are a bit small for when my colleagues and I wanted to meet up.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I love staying here. It's so convenient to the qtr and allows you to get away from it. I will be staying again, and probably again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

As a gift to my husband, I wanted to surprise him with a nice room in New Orleans. I called before we drove to confirm our room which was the Terrace King. Our room was confirmed and I was told that we had been upgraded to a penthouse. Okay, that is cool. So we drive in front of the hotel, there is no valet, no bellboy, no help whatsoever. Let's keep in mind that the hotel is on a busy corner with cars whipping by while you are struggling with your luggage. Okay, we checkin and get our key, we are on the penthouse level. And we open our door to see a standard room...which I guess they call a penthouse because it is on the top floor. The room is small and the terrace was a joke. Paint was peeling off the baseboards. You had a lovely view of a parking garage. The bed was okay, the decor was nice, but I seriously felt like I was robbed. One upside to the hotel was the amazing bar which served nice drinks. I was completely underwhelmed especially after paying over $250 a night. La Quinta Inn was next door and if it wasn't for the cancellation fee. I would have went next door.

Room Tip: Stay at La Quinta Inn next door and grab a drink on the way to the Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are truly disappointed that you did not enjoy one of our terrace level rooms. Our terrace rooms are on the 12th floor which is what we refer to as our Penthouse level. I did research the peeling of the paint and indeed we did have some touch up work to be done on the terrace and that has been completed. We do hope that you stay with us again and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you like the French Quarter but don't want to stay right in it, this is a great location. But, the Staff is what will make your stay an incredible experience. From information on where to dine, relax, or tour they were all very knowledgable and always went to great lengths to make sure we had the best experience possible in Nola. This will be my 3rd stay at IH and I will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The rooms are small, poorly finished-out, and noisy. There is almost zero deco in the rooms, which is fine, I guess, but it felt a little sad and tired. The bed was okay -- certainly not the kind of bed you get at a Westin, for example. I would have rated this hotel lower, but the lobby is very nice and the service was pretty good.

If you need to stay in that area, I would try the Omni across the street, the nearby Hilton, or even the Intercontinental (which has larger rooms and more amenities).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roatan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#68 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Property: International House Boutique Hotel
Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing