We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
International House Hotel
Ranked #67 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

On a recent trip to New Orleans my husband and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary. The hotel decor is lovely, the lobby and bar being highlights, and all the fresh herbs and fruits on the bar smelt amazing! We were offered an upgrade from a panoramic corner king to a terrace room for an extra $10, which we took (though subsequently realised that we only saving $10 anyway!) and the room was really nice, the terrace was a bonus in the New Orleans heat. The staff however generally did not live up to the hotel's aspirations, the barman being possibly the rudest we have ever met. We were contemplating eating in the restaurant but it was completely empty and so we went elsewhere. Generally we got the perception that everyone is just taking the place a little too seriously and trying to be too cool, at the expense of warm, friendly service (except the bellman who was nice) and, given the price, we would not stay here again. Could be great if the staff were told to relax and learn some customer service!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank mrsjstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. We take great pride in our service and are so very sorry that we let you down. All of your comments are taken very seriously and we will learn from them. Thank you and we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the International House at least 8 times, both before and after Katrina. Over the years we have tried the Windsor Court and the Loew's, but have concluded that the International House is the best hotel for us in New Orleans. The location is superb - an easy short walk to the French Quarter, but outside the craziness and noise.The lobby is fabulous. It's just the right mix of funky and luxurious without being fussy. It has character. We usually stay in a corner room on an upper floor. The rooms are lovely and understated, but do not feel sterile. The black and white photos of musicians on the walls and the decor say "New Orleans". The service can sometimes be a bit casual, but it is always friendly. There's even a more than adequate fitness room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cath116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is not in the French Quarter but it's 2 blocks away which is close enough for me. On Friday night from the sidewalk out front you can hear the pickup band playing on the corner of Bourbon & Canal. Pluses - Free wifi, mini-fridge in the room, comfy bed & pillows, friendly staff in hotel & attached restaurant Rambla. Minuses - no coffee maker in the room, no ice bucket or ice machines - you have to order both from room service. Our room needed wallpaper repair or replacement...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thursdayschile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit!. Please come see us again...good news too....all of the wallpaper in the guest rooms is being removed to showcase our new look by the end of August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The International House is a boutique hotel in a great location in New Orleans, right between the city center and the French Quarter, almost all attractions are within walking distance. Walking into the hotel, you're greeted with Miami Beach-esque interior decor from beautiful chandeliers to plush white couches.

However, what the International House boasts in decor, it lacks in service. This is a hotel after all, and not an art gallery. We booked a windowless rock star room, which proved to be a good value for such a location in New Orleans. My in-laws, who booked a queen room with windows, had a drastically different experience. We arrive at International House at 5:00pm and were told that their room was not ready, which is shocking as it is long past the 3:00pm check-in time. The front desk did not even have an apologetic attitude about it. Upon my mother-in-law's request, the front desk clerk gave a couple of drink tickets for us to wait in the hotel bar for the room to be ready. It's now 6:00pm, the front desk still hasn't called to inform us about the room, and we're anxious to freshen up to go to dinner! My in-laws go inquire about the room, and all of a sudden, it's ready.

We get to their room, and the bed is clearly not a queen size bed, it's a full-size. The in-laws are disappointed because their hotel confirmation clearly stated that they booked a queen room. They go to check with the manager. "We overbooked our queen rooms," he explains. He offers them a discount since the room has a full sized bed. We are irritated that we had to go ask about the bed size difference, instead of the hotel volunteering this information right away.

The hotel did try to make up for the error by putting my in-laws in a king room with windows on the second night of our stay, but somehow it felt like too little too late. Upon check out, even though we had 1 vehicle between the family, they slapped the $38/night parking charge on both of our rooms, and we had to get that corrected.

Also, the wi-fi did not work in our windowless room.

All in all, for such a location and ambiance, the International House could be so much more. But it lacks in service and attention to detail (and honesty?). I am unlikely to return to this property until there is new management.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank donnaaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback. First and foremost, we apologize for your rooms not being ready at check in time. We luckily do not have that happen often and are sorry that it did happen upon your arrival. Our queen size rooms are indeed queen size beds and I am glad that we were able to upgrade you to a king size bedded room based upon the lack of Rock Star rooms available. We strive for perfection and will take each of your comments and learn from them. We do hope that you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is perfectly located. The staff is very helpful and has great recommendations for restaurants. It's small enough that one can develop a relationship with the staff. Rooms are very clean. We had a room with a renovated bathroom with a new shower. The beds are great. We would return to this hotel next time in New Orleans

Room Tip: Ask for the king sized bed and new shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettybee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

A boutique hotel with good prices. I think the location could be a tad bit better but all in all, it's great. The ambiance of the lobby was pure MAGIC!

Room Tip: Not the inside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great boutique hotel at a very economical price. Stayed for 5 nights in a "Rock Star" room. The idea of a windowless room was a bit jarring at first but the price under $100 per night couldn't be beat so we went for it. The room was very large and spacious as was the bathroom. The exposed brick and minimal decor added to the spacious feel. The room could have stood a bit more decor to make it feel more cozy. The room was clean, the bath tub had a rust stain around the drain and the tiles had what appeared to be mold on the first day. Nothing a good can of lysol (a travel must) couldn't handle. The lobby and bar area are beautiful. The staff was friendly and the bar is great. A wide array of mixed "potions" with fresh herbs. Within walking distance to French Quarter madness, the trolley car and Lafayette Park where we went for a free concert on Wednesday. Short cab ride to lots of local attractions. If you want to get away from the usual tourist spots be sure to check out The Joint for BBQ, Lil Dizzy's Cafe for breakfast and Frenchmens Street for music.

Room Tip: If you get a "Rock Star Room" ask for 1108
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRobin5965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,664 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#81 of 166 in New Orleans
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#82 of 166 in New Orleans
2,941 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,584 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#50 of 166 in New Orleans
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Hotel

Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your International House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing