We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hip Without ReallyTrying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International House Hotel
Ranked #72 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

So, I've stayed here several times - as well as stayed at several other hotels in New Orleans and I love this hotel. I've been here on business trips, couples trips and family vacations. It's not located in the French Quarter but it's only about two blocks away. So, you're close enough to the Quarter to enjoy it but you're far enough away that it feels cool and hip and not touristy.

The bar is fabulous! I have met so many cool people there, including locals. The bartenders make the most unique and fabulous concoctions. Alan, the main bartender, is a genius. Give him a couple of taste preferences and he will come up with something magical. Challenge him!!!

Room Tip: On your first day fill out the form to "join the family." After that, they do a great jo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lcf33133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
There are newer reviews for International House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had a king corner room which was nice, but the view was nothing special. Bathroom could have been better lit. Nice deep bathtub and shower had great water pressure. Room had a small sitting area with cool chandelier. Hotel lobby and bar area were really neat. Bar serves no food, but they do have snacks that you can buy. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer a lot of light -- two walls of windows!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Upon entering IH I was immediately impressed by the cool and funky vibe of the lobby and bar. There was a problem with our reservation and the staff was very accommodating. Overall the hotel was quiet and clean. Our room was small but clean and the bathroom was good size. My real complaint with the room was the lack of furniture. Besides three small drawers in the closet and a desk there was no where to put any of our belongings. There was room for a chest or dresser but none there. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the Aveda products were a nice touch. The location of IH is one of the best things about it. Within walking distance of the Quarter and other attractions and easy to get a cab out front. The bar menu was limited in that they only offered specialty beers. overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashleycunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We were on our honey moon so they upgraded us for free to a penthouse suite with a balcony which was pretty cool. Except the room was more like a closet and the a/c didn't work. The tiny room we could get over since we were hardly there but the non-working A/C was a little disturbing. Since it didn't work we had to leave the door to the balcony open and we woke up to a strange man popping his head into our room (he turned out to be with the window washing crew) but it was very scary!!! And then listened to those guys yell and hollar at each other before we just gave up and got dressed. We told the front desk about the a/c and told them not to send anyone up the next day until after noon (we were taking in Bourbon street that night), but no the "engineer" started beating at our door at 7:30 that morning. And then of course wouldn't come back that day due to his full schedule. Needless to say we checked out that morning but then of course the valet brought us three different vehicles before he finally found ours. Not worth the $199.99 a night penthouse or not.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank farout_79703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

First and foremost, congratulations on your wedding!!! We appreciate your comments. The good news is that the exterior waterproofing project is complete so we no longer have sub-contractors working at our hotel. The noise is gone. Yeah!! I am truly sorry about the A/C challenges. As with all hotels, we do experience challenges from time to time and we are truly sorry. We do hope that you will stay with us again...perhaps on your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The International House is one of my favorite hotels in one of my favorite cities. It's a great value, it's in a great location, and couldn't be more comfortable.

Pay for a corner room. The panoramic views are well worth the extra money.

I will hopefully return soon and often.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LRWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We are staying at the hotel for 7 nights whilst attending a conference and doubling up as a holiday. We spent an awful lot of time choosing our hotel and ended up being very let down. Although the staff are pleasant everything is a little unprofessional. We checked in late and had to ask for help with lots of bags, ask about breakfast, wifi..everything. Not what I would expect from a 'boutique' hotel. Our room was another let down. It's small and smells of damp. The only mirror is in the dark bathroom and it's just a bit tatty. It's a shame as the hotel has potential but the finish is really shoddy. I was assured that the smell of damp was just from the cleaning products..I'm not so sure.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, this was not made clear at the time of booking. It closed for refurbishment so you can't eat here or even order a cup of tea. Breakfast is a coffee urn in reception. For 300 dollars a night I'd expect at least a croissant.

The last thing to moan about is the bar...two drinks ordered we pretty terrible. A piña colada presented in an over flowing sticky glass which dripped all over my clothes. The cream has split and it tasted pretty terrible. Even a simple orange juice and lemonade was almost undrinkable..

So, I wouldn't stay here again. It's looks nice in the website, the foyer looks lovely she. You arrive but the hotel lacks soul. It's also really dark and they need to change their brand of cleaning products.

It's needs to put more effort in to customer service..relay the carpets and get so e room service sorted, pronto..

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Foodgrump100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We do take great pride in our service, hotel and bar and are sorry that we let you down. Our restaurant is due to open this summer and we do hope that you will return. I hate to think that our bar loa was having an "off night" as they never do and the comments about our drinks are always really positive. We will address your issues with the Team in loa to see what went wrong...and how to make sure that we do not let this happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was the only hotel we had prebooked on our road trip which started in Orlando , Booked 18months previously as we knew it would be a very busy time in New Orleans , On arrival we were told our rooms had been double booked , but we had been upgraded to a penthouse room , with one King size bed and a very large sofa which divided in two , we decided to stay and glad we had , beautiful hotel , great penthouse , very comfortable , excellent staff , but no coffe or tea making facilities in rooms at all , and no coffe or tea served at hotel in the evenings at all . A nice well stocked bar off the main hotel lobby , but no hot drinks at all , valet parking was very good and all in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had the penthouse which was great , but instead of the piano would have rather had tea and coffee...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#82 of 165 in New Orleans
1,317 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Loft 523 New Orleans
Loft 523 New Orleans
#121 of 165 in New Orleans
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,460 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 165 in New Orleans
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Hotel

Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £101 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your International House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing