We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in the City - PERIOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #85 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in the City - PERIOD”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My husband and I stayed there the week of March 26th on a business trip of mine. It was one of the best decisions insofar as hotels that I have ever made. Every aspect of comfort and luxury was attended to by the hotel staff as well as the design of the facilities. As I told a colleague at the conference I was attending - it had the sort of bed that I wouldn't mind dying in - surrounded by family and friends!! I loved the food, the elegant silence and the VERY customer service oriented staffers.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieHAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    659
    240
    136
    118
See reviews for
422
1,097
110
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We were very excited when we booked a "mystery 4.5 star hotel" on Hotwire and learned it was Le Pavillon as we have stayed several times in the past and really enjoyed our stays.

While the lobby was still beautiful and our bellman, Albert, ever so gracious, we were very disappointed in the quality of the room we were given-Room 907. This room was in dire need of a makeover- old lumpy mattresses, worn bedding, noisy AC vent. The worst was the bathroom-while clean the bathroom floor looked dingy as did the bathmat--the tiles were cracked around the rub faucet and the tub NOT inviting at all. Pavillon now offers a "drawn bath" service but I wouldn't spend an extra penny for a bath in this room :(
I believe the whole 9th floor (top floor) is of this quality. When I spoke with the front desk at checkout I was told I had the "standard room" as we had booked online through another source (not Le Pavillon website) If we had booked through them we would have been given a "deluxe room" This is a shame as the quality of our room was certainly not what I would call standard for Le Pavillon--extremely sub standard is more like it.
Their brochure describes the hotel as the "Belle of the South"--this Belle needs needs some TLC--she's showing her age on the 9th floor!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I love NOLA, I'm there alot and have stayed in hostels, BBs, and the luxe places. My husband and I, along with our 5 year old stayed here, booked through Hotwire.com. We arrived and David the doorman assisted right away...this is classy as it gets and he's a super nice guy(who probably deserves a raise). Pleased we had a 4.5 star hotel, we checked in...they didn't have our reservation. It was at least quickly remedied and we got an upgrade to a Deluxe King. Our room was very nice, the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was nicely appointed, but small(old hotel). Problem with the bathroom also is the WATER. The water went from scalding hot to freezing cold about 10 times in a 10 minute shower, this is NOT luxury...we were on the 6th floor(not certain if that makes a difference).

We enjoyed the rooftop pool/jacuzzi. There's no bar on top though, so your only option is to order from a phone and pay dearly for any drinks/food(gratuity+fee+food/drink)...for me, it would be more reasonable to outfit the top with a working bar. The rooftop must be walked up one flight, no elevator after the 9th. The gym is small but nice, it only had one elliptical, which someone hogged the entire 45mins. I did floor work...only after I was leaving did she ask "oh, were you waiting on this?", nope!

Service is the key to this place, PB&J's with milk served at 10pm...this is awesome and very nice/good(different breads, etc). A reasonable all-you-can-eat meat lasagna dinner was also one night for 15 bucks!(we didn't get to partake). There was also a breakfast buffet for 20 bucks(didn't get to that either but the menu looked good). Someone was willing to help at every turn, the staff was super accommodating. You returned to your room at night with turn-down service--robes, cookies(kinda plastic-y), water...nice gesture. If we hadn't gotten a good deal on the room, I probably would've stayed elsewhere with working hot/cold shower. There was FREE Wifi in room, which is rare. It's a nice downtown spot, you can walk everywhere, it's near alot and getting in/out was easy...the valet had your car there in a snap if you needed it...the parking is 35/night though!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remeh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We were a little disappointed with Le Pavillon . We had read the previous reviews and as I like the Victorian charm we went . Our room had 2 queen beds was quiet , very well kept and reasonable in size for a hotel of this age, but the quality of the bedding, in particular the pillows need attention. We had stayed at a Hampton earlier on our trip and there was no comparison .

Staff were attentive and helpful but the inexpensive fixed priced dinner in the dining room was a case of "you get what you pay for" and you can eat out locally far better. Take the street car out to Commanders Palace for lunch and pick up their walking tour guide for a very interesting walk around the Garden District. The old cemetery is directly opposite.

Location wise Good if you don't want to be in the middle of the lively French Quarter and enjoy walking as the top end of the French Quarter is not so far.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank threeday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WICHITA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My fiance and I chose this hotel at random from a list of brochures at the Louisiana travel center. The location is very close to Bourbon, 5 minute walk. The rooftop pool and hot tub is fantastic in the evening. The peanut butter and jelly sandwiches at 10pm in the evening is unique and should be tried at least once to say you did it. Be sure to check at the visitor center and ask about the Visitor Center rate. We got this hotel from Sunday thru Wednesday for $69 per night with free parking! I will definitely stay here again on any future trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ictfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My wife, 4-month old son and I stayed at Le Pavillon FROM 2/18-2/22/2011 for our first family vacation. To say that our experience was a positive one is an understatement. In fact, I registered to use TripAdvisor specifically to leave this review because the hotel left such a lasting positive impression.

This was our first trip to NOLA just at the start of the Mardi Gras season; We wanted to plan a low-key trip with our little one and our only agenda was to relax and get to see as much of the city as possible. Not knowing much about the city, we asked friends for recommendations but ended up picking Le Pavillon based on price (AAA discount) and online reviews.

POSITIVES:
- the hotel was unbelievably accomodating from the very start; The reservations specialist, Beth, was kind, considerate and helpful in ensuring the details of our stay were accurate and that we were getting the best possible nightly rate; Since this was our first trip with our infant son, it was so very kind of the hotel to allow us to check in early, right after we arrived from the airport mid-morning.
- they had a crib available for our son, standard size. We brought our own sheet but the hotel had one of their own as well as an infant blanket, which was nice.
- the hotel, itself, has an amazing and charming ambience; PB&J each evening with hot chocolate was delicious; the roof top is small, but has a great hot tub, small swimming pool (HEATED!) and lounges on which to relax;
- Cedric, the bellhop, was very knowledgable of the surrounding area and, along with the two concierges, offered very personalized recommendations about how to navigate NOLA;
- on day of departure, the hotel was again so very kind to let us stay for a late checkout in order to accomodate our little one's sleep schedule prior to our flight back home; I can't think of any hotels where we've stayed who have been so accomodating to guests as Le Pavillon;
- my wife and I treated this trip as a celebration of our upcoming wedding anniversary; the hotel surprised us on our first night with a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries; this was quite meaningful and totally unexpected.
- the hotel is located perfectly in between the business district and the French Quarter (yet far enough away from too much noise and drunkenness!); we were in great proximity to the French Quarter and Riverwalk as well as the WWII museum and aquarium;
- great vaulted ceilings and decor

NEGATIVES (very few):
- previous reviewers have commented on the deodorizer/scent that housekeeping uses when cleaning the rooms; the hallways smell just fine but the rooms, themselves, can be somewhat overpowering; perhaps cut back a bit?
- one morning the housekeeping schedule seemed to be off - I think rooms from people checking out were cleaned first whereas ours was not cleaned until ~5pm after we called the front desk with concerns (that being said, the room was cleaned perfectly each day and the housekeeping staff was very kind and courteous.
- we travelled with a stroller and the two main entrances to the hotel do not have ramps so getting up and down was sometimes a struggle; but again, the ambience of this old-world hotel lends so much to the stay that the inconvenience of lifting a stroller a few steps is far outbalanced;
- the areas behind the service elevators to the roof deck for handicapped individuals (or those w strollers) are somewhat messy with housekeeping supplies, old room svc food, etc.

OVERALL, we WILL be returning to this NOLA GEM and will highly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glucosedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Went here for Spring Break. Wonderful Historic Hotel. Family loved it. Close to the French Quarter. Rooms were large, good view of downtown and a terrific bathroom

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick-Rozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,301 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,903 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
2,317 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing