We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old lady”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #85 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely old lady”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here for Jazz Fest Apr 2012. Couldn't get into the Omni as of Jan or Feb so stayed outside the quarter. Will try not to do this again; 16 blocks from Jackson Sq! However, the service was excellent. Hotel is old and if you like that kind of ambiance, nothing wrong with it. Odd things like the "French" shower door which allows half the water to splash all over the floor. Bed was rather like sleeping on the floor on a yoga mat but after two sleepless nights waking with a backache, asked for a foam mattress pad and they quickly accomodated. Room service breakfasts were excellent, esp the Creole omelet which we had twice. Jazz buffet brunch is way overpriced unless you are going to eat 2 or 3 times as much as you should. The jazz is a nice old guy playing 50's rock who is not a very good piano player. Crystal room dinner was surprisingly exellent. Pool is not accessible if you are in a wheelchair and difficult for people who have a hard time with stairs. A LONG way from elevator, too. And the mural by the pool is atrocious. The whole area needed maintenance and the pool was dirty, but, the water was around 86 and I got some good exercise. Would stay here again if I could not get the Omni or a more convenient location, definitely not my first choice tho.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    659
    240
    136
    118
See reviews for
422
1,097
110
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Sophisticated, warm and friendly. My wife and I stayed for an extended weekend for Jazz Fest 2012.

Don't miss the Sunday Jazz Brunch it ranks among the best in the Big Easy.

Wonderful staff who remember your name and help at every turn.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My 6 year old and I took a girls weekend to the city and thanks to Le Pavillion, we were not disappointed! The staff was very friendly and the accomidations were beyond my expectations!!!! My daughter loved the rooftop pool and also enjoyed 3 PB&J sandwiches while taking a ride downtown on the pedicab. We can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We visited here in Feburary during Mardi Gras. The hotel is at a great location- within walking distance to the Fench quarter, and a couple blocks from the parade routes.

We loved the late night peanut butter treat.

The reason we rated 3 stars because water did not drain well in the shower. We called the service but things did not improve. After a long day out walking in the humidity what we wanted was to enjoy a nice shower but this was not the case because the water pooled up passed our ankles. It was disgusting, I had to stop the shower and wait for all the water to drain, then continue showering.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickymta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Good location nice staff...rooms were nice size and clean. It was my first time in Nola and i went with a friend. And they have free pb&j sandwiches from 10-11 in the lobby!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingo904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent 2 nights in Le Pavillion.

Pros:
1) Friendly and helpful staff. I ended up asking for a few things during my stay there, and for the most part they came through.
2) Beds were comfortable

Cons:
1) Asked for a wake up call - not done.
2) Breakfast was not great. They have a fairly expensive breakfast buffet that is mediocre, and they also charge you extra for drinks including coffee.
3) Rooms are small, old and mine had an unpleasant odour to it.
4) I found 2 plug points in the whole room. I lived in darkness as I had to unplug their lamps to plug in my phone charger and laptop charger. In this day and age, not really acceptable for a hotel in this price range.
5) Bathroom was small, old and had plaster flaking all over the place.

All in all, it wasn't a bad stay. However, at $180-$350 dollars per night, it just didn't make the mark. I have had equivalent if not better stays in budget and mid range hotels for a fraction of the cost. I would probably give it 2.5 stars if I could rather than 2.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrywesterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I took ladies to New Orleans for a short visit, the week after Christmas. What a great time to see the city! We stayed at the Le Pavillon Hotel. Our accomodations were updated to a suite, and I can't say enough about the beautiful hotel or staff. They know what they are doing. It's french themed, and done tastefully. Peanut Butter Sandwiches and hot chocolate was enjoyed even though we weren't even all that hungry. I highly reccomend New Orleans and Le Pavillon for your next stay. The holidays were extra special.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the opposite side of Canal street from the French Quarter area. So if you walk it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dld50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,304 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,905 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
2,322 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing