We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The closest hotel experience to palace living I've ever encountered.”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #86 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my Mother in late May and what a wonderful mothers day weekend it was. The rooms are comfortable and gorgeous, staff are delightful and those PB&J's of an evening are just the kind of boutique hotel niceties that make me choose them over major chain hotels. Location was good, far enough away from Bourbon street to ensure you get a good rest but close enough to walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwanderer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,985 - 1,991 of 2,958 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Lovely friendly hotel on Poydras Street. Only a five minute away from the insanity of Bourbon Street. Nice to be so close and yet not on Bourbon Street.

Very comfortable bed. No pay tv/movies so just regular tv, but who needs it you are in New Orleans!

The staff are particularly friendly. Breakfast is fantastic. The ladies in the Bar are fabulous too. Try their appletini. You'll love it.

Every night at 10pm the hotel entrance has self serve PB and Jelly sandwiches with hot chocolate. Yummy!

Small pool, but a nice relief from the heat. Gym is also small but has the necessary equipment.

Location is great. There is also a little nail salon about five doors down from the main entrance (not the Poydras St entrance). Good pedicure.

Dont' forget to have dinner at the Red Fish Grill on Bourbon Street, the BBQ Oysters are the best I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We fell in love with Le Pavillon the moment we arrived and the love only deepened the longer we stayed. Walking into the lobby is a bit like stumbling unexpectedly into a wing of Versailles - huge chandeliers, gilt framed oil paintings, antique furniture. Some might find it overdone and gaudy, but we thought it was charming.

But the rooms and the service are what really make for a great stay. The staff were uniformly superb - from porters right through to the concierge. The rooms are comfortable with good fittings and all the amenities you could ever need. We had a lovely quiet room on the 7th floor with block-out curtains and we slept like babies all four nights.

The rest of the hotel's services are equally excellent. The wifi is fast, free and easy to connect to. The rooftop pool is clean, well serviced, well positioned and has plenty of loungers and fresh towels. We used our complimentary robes when we went to and from the pool - another plus. The food is also good, if fairly conventional. But the cherry on the cake is their wonderfully quirky tradition of serving (complimentary) peanut butter and jam sandwiches in the lobby with hot chocolate and milk. We couldn't resist staying up to enjoy this (near) midnight feast each night.

The hotel is also perfectly located, as least as far as we were concerned: close enough to the French Quarter to enjoy all the fun, but far enough away to avoid the late night drunken shrieking and fighting. It's also really easy to get to from the airport with plenty of parking nearby.

In short, we loved Le Pavillon and we think you would too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Organized a last minute conference for 40 advisors at the Le Pavilion. The staff at the hotel was perfect. Gwenn in Catering, Paul our Banquet Manager and Lisa in reservations help put this together in a matter of days. We were booked to use the Bienville Complex however Paul moved our meeting to the a much larger conference room.
Reservations were easily made with the help of Lisa. In addition to facilitating reservations from attendees in 6 countries, she made certain that they got the best available rooms at check in. Many were upgraded to deluxe rooms with no extra charge.
The hotel is spectacular. The staff is outstanding and most gracious. With its location in the CBD, it is close enough to the French Quarter to walk but far enough to avoid the riff- raff. The hotel is truly a gem

Room Tip: Ask at check-in, the front desk is very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Le Pavillion was a big factor in making our stay in New Orleans special. In a city where things can be pretty, shall we say, smelly and dirty (French Quarter and Bourbon Street), Le Pavillion is a refined luxury. It is part of the Leading Hotels of the World group and on the National Historic Register. The staff is delightful, helpful and well trained. The rooms are gorgeous. The Crystal Room Sunday Brunch is wonderful, and the rooftop pool and spa are quiet and offer a nice view of the city. Enjoy your stay while in New Orleans. It's a wonderful city, like no other.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Always have to take a property that is over 100 years old with a grain of salt (small rooms,bathrooms) this property was nice overall. Moderately friendly staff, good fitness center with fresh fruit, cold water and rooftop pool area. Had breakfast one morning - nice but not the best (table area was dirty as was the utensils). The location is good for biz and French Quarter (close and quiet) Again NOLA is about the charm and culture of this city so if the hotel is the focus of your experience you missed out on a great town to explore. Plenty of huge box properties nearby. PB&J at 10pm in the lobby is priceless! Thanks for a nice stay I will return.

Room Tip: Highfloor - 9th floor also has walking access to pool and fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here last week for five nights when we visited NOLA for the Jazz Festival. My husband and I always look for small, boutique-type hotels and this seemed to fit the bill. The hotel is a historical property, the common rooms, bar and especially the dining room are really beautiful. The front desk staff was very friendly and the concierge was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean and well-appointed, but small. The bed was very comfortable, they must have upgraded their mattresses because we didn't experience anything like some of the previous reviewers.
The hotel is in a perfect location - walking distance to the French Quarter and two blocks from the St. Charles streetcar which leads to the Garden District.
My husband had informed the hotel that it was my birthday, and when we came home one night, there was a tray on the bed with a beautiful chocolate cake and champagne! It was a lovely touch.
My only complaint was with the "$20.00" breakfast buffet. We decided to have the buffet and were shown to a wonderful table near the window. When we were seated, the waiter asked if we would like coffee or juice, we ordered both. When we received the bill, it was almost $30.00 per person for the buffet. When we inspected the bill, we discovered that we were charged for the coffee and juice. We were surprised, having eaten at many, many breakfast buffets and brunches over the years, we have never once been charged for coffee or juice. At the very least, the waiters should tell people this up front.
I would probably stay at this hotel again, but there are certainly better places to have breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,620 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,905 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,050 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £112 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the Royal St., the Frenchmen St., and the Bourbon St. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing