We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME STAFF,Great hotel”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #86 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“AWESOME STAFF,Great hotel”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

To say that I was pleased with this hotel is truly an understatement. I must start with the high point-the staff. EVERYONE was polite, friendly and accomodating. My husband and I booked this trip because we had been given the limitless duty of planning our annual family reunion this upcoming year. We contacted this hotel and many others to get group pricing etc. We decided at the very last minute that we should take a trip to NOLA to scope out the potential places, hotels, parks, and restaurants. We booked our stay through hotels tonight. I was sceptical at first because my experience with booking through these type of means, often have you in the worst room and area of the hotel, NOT THE CASE HERE! We arrived late because we drove from Atlanta right after work. Immediately the bellhop greeted us at the door, the front desk greeted us right away with a smile. The room was nice and clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The following day we got up to eat breakfast. I have never been treated with such great customer service. EVERYONE seemed to really want to make our stay welcoming. Then we met the restaurant manager JAMES MILLER. He was the icing on the cake. We ended up talking with him and explaining our reason for being there. He then took the time out of his schedule and showed us around the hotel. Letting us get a full picture of what our days would be like if we decided to book with them for our family reunion. I promise you I thought customer service had become exstinct like the dinosaurs, this hotel has given me such great joy to say that is hasn't. Le Pavillon can hold conferences to teach other in this field on how to make their customers happy.
Now as far as the hotel itself-Room very clean, a bit small, but overall a great stay. The decore is victorian style presidential type flair. Different but I liked it. I felt like I had stepped into the 1700's and had been invited to a ballroom banquet with our founding fathers. The banquet rooms great, food tastety. And by the way did I mention that I had a rambunctious 2 year old with me! It didnt' seem very kid friendly at first, but the staff immediately changed my mind. My son was a loud, crying, active blur. The didn't seem to mind at all. Giving him a baloon, crayons, bananas, etc. They when out of their way to make him happy as well. If you are looking for a great hotel that is in close proximity to everything, reasonably priced, and has EXCEPTIONAL staff, I would stay here. Like I said the rooms are a bit small, but, we managed just fine! GREAT GREAT PLACE!!! Thanks again James Miller!

The Gregorys
Oct 6 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lataura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    665
    242
    140
    120
See reviews for
427
1,112
110
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Le Pavillon. What a beautiful hotel, but the staff makes the entire experience. I made my reservations through Expedia and noted under comments that we were there to celebrate a birthday (mine!). When we arrived about 10:00 p.m.we received the deluxe King room that was very spacious and had already had turn down service with robes laid out and a bottle of champagne chilling, a chocolate cake with a candle and lovey birthday note from the manager! What a way to start off!

Gustave was at the front desk and so helpful, pointing us to great restaurants, places to go, etc. Lou was the concierge on our first day (and Gustave day 2!) and was so helpful. Cedric was the doorman and we felt every time we left and returned to his big smile and infectious laugh that we were coming home.

Thanks to Le Pavillon we had a great time--it rained almost the entire time we were there, changing our plans from swamp tours, etc. But between Gustave and Lou, we found things to do (World War II museum, covered market, city tour that was fantastic!, etc.) and still enjoy our trip.

We never hit the peanut butter and jelly at the right time, but one night coming in about 12:00 they heard us saying we wished it was still out and provided us with bags of pre-made P,B & J sandwiches all made and wrapped. A perfect snack after a few hours on Bourbon Street! ;-)

In terms of location, it was a nice 15-minute walk to Cafe Dumonde and about an 8 minute walk to Bourbon Street. Very quiet and away from the craziness of the Quarter...

I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor...very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeOrrRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My boyfriend and I live in New Orleans and we wanted to do something special for our anniversary, but didn't really have the time or money to take a trip. We decided to stay at Le Pavillon.
The hotel sent us a questionnaire prior to check in and I indicated that it was our anniversary. Upon arrival, we were not only greeted warmly by the staff, but found a bottle of wine, a tray of chocolate covered strawberries, and a lovely card from the manager. It was a very nice touch.
I've seen complaints that the bedspreads seemed dirty, but our room was spotless. The room does have a historic touch, but I never felt like I was in a dusty old museum! The walls ARE a little thin, but it didn't bother me.
We really enjoyed everything about the hotel--the staff, the rooftop pool and hot tub, the PB&J late night buffet, the beauty of the place itself. I would most certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Took my first trip to NOLA mid-September with a friend. Stayed at Le Pavillion because even though I'm in the hotel industry I wanted something unique and in the true style of the city. I was not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful. Very old, ornate and very French. It is about 5 blocks from the FQ so no worries on noise and even closer to the River and Casino. We took the shuttle from the airport(much recommended) it's easy and very efficient. Took maybe 20 mins or so?? We checked in and found our room delightful. Gorgeous two queen beds(the most comfortable sleep ever), side table and two chairs, bathroom not huge but plenty of room, no closet but dresser drawers. We had asked ahead for a fridge so it, coffee maker and micro were there..not sure if that is standard? Mini bar..be careful..didn't see until later the sign that states once items removed they are scanned as used. The front desk was exceptional about understanding our story of just looking and playing but not actually using. The rooftop pool /hot tub area is amazing. Plenty of chairs, tables and chaises and a great view of the city esp at night. Tip...you can order from the bar downstairs and they will bring to you but 18% gratitiuty and tax...might want to take from the mini bar in room and bring up..a little cheaper or from the bar downstairs or bring your own..plenty of package stores nearby ;)...the bar downstairs is a wonderful hangout. The bartenders are pleasant and knowledgeable and their hurricanes are fabulous and ask for a French martini..delicious. The bar does close at 12:30am so best to stop in before going out unless you retire early like me. We did not try the restaurant but it looked wonderful and someone did order gumbo and have it in the bar and it smelled divine. I loved this hotel. The staff was superb and I would def recommend and return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Great place! Very charming and convenient. About 10 min walk from the French quarter, so it wasn't too loud or crazy, but also on a main street and close to many streetcar and bus lines that go all over the city. The staff are really great and the hotel has a lovely rooftop pool and hottub. The rooms have sort of a nice antique southern style to them, but were nicely updated with modern features (keyless entry, good water pressure, huge pillowtop mattresses, big TVs, fast internet connection). They have a PB&J nighttime snack tradition from 10-11pm each night that was fun, too! The staff are very helpful in terms of providing directions (they know how the buses work!) and storing bags and calling taxis, etc. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
610 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel had been booked by an event coordinator for a group so all credit goes to her. The hotel is about 5 blocks off Canal Street, the center of New Orleans. Bordering the hotel on the south is Carondolet Ave. which turns into Bourbon. For five days we used that pathway to get to and fro the French Quarter.

But what did I like. I liked the service first and foremost. We were greeted upon arrival, arrived in our room where the concierge had flowers delivered for my wife ahead of our arrival. The bell man had luggage at our door within minutes. The concierge also took it upon himself to have a bottle of champagne and four chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room in recognition of our 20th wedding anniversary (which conveniently fell during this meeting).

I liked the vintage look of this hotel including the ornate chandeliers in the lobby, the old world adornment in the hallways, the custom touches in the room with the monogrammed LP for Le Pavillon. Good branding people!

I liked the pool on the 11th floor (although we never used it) I liked the convenience of the bar and the dining room, I liked the promptness of service from the desk people to the door man to the concierge (Gustave Von Budungen). I liked the fact that many of them became familiar to us over five days to the point we could greet them by name. Very comfortable.

And yes, I liked the quirky routine of putting out peanut butter and jelly ingredients each evening at 10:00 pm. I looked forward each night to returning to the warm ambiance of a glowing hotel entrance knowing that I could have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on raisin bread with a cold glass of milk before I went to bed.

Good service at reasonable prices with a convenient location make this a winner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A lovely hotel! Within walking distance of the Superdome and Bourbon Street, this property is full of charming touches! The peanut butter and jelly was a welcomed treat after travel. We plan to return !

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room---unfortunately, we were located next door to a bachelorette party suite. Bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,012 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing