We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Poydras St.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heaven on Poydras St.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

There's nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. The staff was extremely courteous and polite. Check in and out was a breeze. Wonderful location. The rooms are large and comfortable. Beds that will put you to sleep in mere minutes. A ceiling fan. Nice bathrooms. Nice restaurant. I love this place!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yral R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    660
    242
    137
    118
See reviews for
422
1,099
110
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend and had a really great experience. Arrived quite late in the evening, the front desk staff where exceptionally quick, friendly also providing late night hot chocolate, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. The hotel it feels like I traveled back in to the Renaissance with a stunning lobby and entrance. The room was comfortable with modern fixtures, king sized bed, stocked mini bar, 42" LCD and excellent heated bathroom. The hotel is located in the CBD only a short walk (2 Blocks) from Canal Street and the French Quarter and easy access to the Trolly down to the Garden District.

Highly Recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Seemed like a good choice 'till we got there - lobby was freezing cold - rooms were freezing cold and heating system was noisy beyond belief - after 3 room changes we got one that was decent, not over the top but acceptable for $199 per nite. This place needs a serious rework, top to bottom. Surprised to see it as #6 of 150 hotels in NO.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whyland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

A great hotel if you like vintage alternatives to chrome and glass monstrosities. Lovely appointments in a hotel that's about 6-8 blocks from the French Quarter. Wonderful restaurant in Crystal Room. Excellent service. No coffee maker in room; free coffee in lobby.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Suddenly we found ourselves headed to NOLA for an overnight so one of our sons could attend a party for a magazine kickoff. I made the selection based upon location and prices of similar spots in the area. What a pleasant surprise! Booking on a site, they had not received our reservation yet and comped us 2 drinks from the lobby bar. With a wedding party taking over the bar and ballroom, we scurried up to a beautifully appointed room. Everything was first class there! Painted ceiling, large HD TV, sumptuous bed, and quiet!

The rooftop is something to visit and see the NOLA skyline, too.

At 10 pm the carts roll out in the lobby and PB&Js are made by you with assorted jellies. I saw several guests and families in their loaner terry cloth robes indulging together. Needless to say, we will be back!

Room Tip: Consult with the front desk as to the level of quiet you would like. They will accommodate for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mowbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Walking around New Orleans a month ago, I was scouting for a hotel that would be suitable for a family trip. I wanted a hotel that was a taste of New Orleans, in a convenient location, and NOT in the French Quarter. This hotel meets fully meets these requirements. My kids had never stayed in a hotel that looked anything like this. They were amazed with how fancy everything looked. The rooms were nice, and the beds were comfortable. Two features stood out for my family: the rooftop pool and hot tub, and the 10pm PB&J sandwiches and hot chocolate in the lobby. I am sure that will be my youngest's lasting impression of the hotel.

Location is great. We walked to the WW II museum, Jackson Square park, and the New Orleans Arena. 20 minutes or less, and all through safe areas.

Hotel staff were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crockett001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at Le Pavillon in September 2013 with friends. Beautiful olde worlde hotel. Very clean. Lovely staff very efficient. Be sure to sample the peanut & jelly sandwiches served every night from around 10pm - there's a lovely story behind this tradition. Roof top pool is also worth a visit with lovely views of New Orleans. French Quarter & of course Bourbon Street are close enough to walk or catch a tram. Would like to return some day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,913 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing