We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be great, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #85 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be great, but....”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A beautiful old hotel, with very attentive staff, just like most other reviewers said. Unfortunately, there are problems that sorely need attention. The water faucets leaked. All the faucet handles were very loose. The headboard in the adjacent room repeatedly banged against the wall quite loudly ( and no - not from an ardent couple ). The noise level from the hall was loud, but not nearly as loud as the bathroom vent fan and the air conditioner. Getting a cup of coffee required going to the bar and asking for a cup to go. It was free, but these days, in room coffee is fairly the norm. It was both a birthday and an anniversary for us. We were delighted to find champagne and a chocolate birthday cake waiting in our room. So, 5s to the staff, but the lack of maintenance is dragging this hotel down to only a 3.

Room Tip: Before unpacking, turn on the air conditioner and the bathroom vent fan. If they are too loud, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sosousme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    659
    240
    136
    118
See reviews for
422
1,097
110
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandan, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at the Le Pavillion for a work conference. I was excited but nervous because of the haunted stories. My husband ended up coming too which I was grateful for since I have an imaginative mind when it comes to spooky stuff. The hotel is over 100 years old so seeing the decor and high ceilings was neat. Some of the paintings were creepy though. The hot tub pool area on top is great. My husband loved the PB and J at night. He insisted on going down every night we were there. It is a short walk to the French Quarter, but not too far. It is close to lots of Restaurants. We loved Mothers on Poydras. Didn't see any ghosts but heard stories from the staff. Poor sleep quality is attributed to my worry of ghosts, but the rooms were very comfortable. Conference rooms were not thought out and cramped, but not the hotels fault. A fun unique experience while in NOLA!

Room Tip: try not to get a room on a haunted floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Lucky to find this superb hotel at a reduced rate. Stayed for three nights in November 2013. From their charismatic doormen through to their friendly and efficient reception staff, we were made most welcome. Built in 1907, this hotel retains all it's historic class while offering modern service. A real delight after travelling through from Nashiville, Memphis staying in hotels of variable quality.

Amazing atmosphere, friendly staff, all you could ask for.

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th floor are a good size and well above any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38gordon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcellville
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Ever slip away for a weekend, and find yourself breaking on the hotel you state at on your return trip? We did.

My wife and I married in New Orleans in 2007, and any excuse to return their is a good one. We usually stay at a name hotel near the French Quarter or on the river, but decided to change that process this go around.

I read all the reviews on trip advisor regarding this hotel, but we wanted out of the crazy area, and the change of pace.

It started with the warm welcome we received from the doorman, and they all but opulent settings of the hotel lobby. Before we had even completed checking, we felt at home.

The entire experience was a joy to behold, from the elaborate crystal chandeliers, the beautiful holiday decorations, the brocade-draped elevator doors, and the genuine staff ethic of "happy to serve", We felt like we were enjoying the very best of an Internet be and be experience in a grand old hotel.

Our room was small but beautifully appointed, beautifully decorated, and most enjoyable (it was an end unit, so we had an additional window for light).

Though we seldom eat in the hotel we stayed in, we enjoyed some of the best gumbo I've eaten in New Orleans ever, at the bar.

But the best was yet to come. We found out there was a rooftop terrace, hot tub, and pool, which upon inspection, provided breathtaking views of the city, and at night of the bridge to Algiers.

Were we just lucky?

Perhaps, but rest assured we will go out of our way on our next trip here to enjoy this delightful hotel.

PS: The physical location, and ease of getting in and out of this hotel was most appreciated.

Room Tip: Shop for best "value" package. We tried several weeks to get the "deal" we wante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfischer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

There's nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. The staff was extremely courteous and polite. Check in and out was a breeze. Wonderful location. The rooms are large and comfortable. Beds that will put you to sleep in mere minutes. A ceiling fan. Nice bathrooms. Nice restaurant. I love this place!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yral R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend and had a really great experience. Arrived quite late in the evening, the front desk staff where exceptionally quick, friendly also providing late night hot chocolate, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. The hotel it feels like I traveled back in to the Renaissance with a stunning lobby and entrance. The room was comfortable with modern fixtures, king sized bed, stocked mini bar, 42" LCD and excellent heated bathroom. The hotel is located in the CBD only a short walk (2 Blocks) from Canal Street and the French Quarter and easy access to the Trolly down to the Garden District.

Highly Recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Seemed like a good choice 'till we got there - lobby was freezing cold - rooms were freezing cold and heating system was noisy beyond belief - after 3 room changes we got one that was decent, not over the top but acceptable for $199 per nite. This place needs a serious rework, top to bottom. Surprised to see it as #6 of 150 hotels in NO.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whyland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,301 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,903 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
2,317 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing