We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old hotel”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #87 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice old hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here Sunday through Tuesday for Mardi Gras. The hotel was in the perfect location for us. It it's just 4 blocks away from the French Quarter, where we dined and had drinks and it was only 2 blocks away from the parades. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The beds, pillows and blankets are extremely comfortable. We had the breakfast there one morning. It was okay but I would suggest venturing out. New Orleans has a few amazing places to go for brunch. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    676
    252
    142
    124
See reviews for
443
1,124
112
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkins, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I arrived as part of a business trip with about 45 other travellers. Prior to arrival, I had requested a fridge in my room and a room on a high floor.

When I arrived at 4:30 PM, I went to the front desk for check-in and was told that there were no rooms on high floors available so I would have to wait for one. After I was told this, two others from my party who had not requested high floors were given rooms on the 9th (top) floor, and went on their way. I had to wait for an hour and a half for my room and I was finally given a room on the third floor.

When I asked about the fridge, I was told that they had overbooked their fridges (even though both of my companions got one). I was told by the staff that I could have anything out of the mini bar because of the error. To clarify, I asked Jessica, the front desk person, if that meant I would not be charged for anything I ate/drank from the mini bar. She said that was right. She said she would put a note in the system not to charge me for anything out of the mini bar. Because of this, I was willing to overlook the long wait after an exhausting flight and the lack of accomodations as I had requested.

That evening, as I was leaving for dinner, I re-asked the question about the mini bar and I was once again told that the mini bar was being comped. So, I used the mini bar. I only drank waters and a couple of sodas (I didn't touch any of the alcohol) and I ate some of the candy.

The day before checkout, I went to the front desk and wanted to make sure that Jessica's note had made it to everyone else. I was told by a rude front desk supervisor that Jessica would have had no right to make that decision and that I would have to pay for everything I took which added up to $140 ($6 waters add up quick). After arguing with her for a half an hour, she told me she would lower the bill to $43. I still didn't think that was fair, but I could tell that she wasn't budging anymore. Even if you took all that I ate/drank, it wouldn't add up to $43 in a normal setting.

Otherwise, the hotel was fine. The bed was comfortable. It had almost everything you would want in a hotel room. I just can't get past the horrendous customer service I experienced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomita, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I thought the hotel was beautiful and the staff and service is top notch! There are so many details in the decorations, it's amazing! The peanut butter and jelly served every night was such a nice treat as well!! I will stay there again when I go back!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonifejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Of course the building itself is impressing and the lobby too. Besides that you are in an OLD hotel with furniture and bathrooms outdated. Nothing out of the ordinary. The location is perfect, my bed was excellent and service was above average, besides that you are not missing too much. I have to recognize that I only spent one night at the hotel, checking in late and checking out around in the morning. There was some noise easily audible but it was Carnival so you have to be prepared. And update to this hotel starting from the elevator, passing through bathrooms and ending in the alarm clock, is urgent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Old world charm, exceptional service, super comfortable beds! What more can you ask for in a hotel? All this and PBJ sandwiches and the best cocoa ever at 10pm.
This is not a hotel, it is an experience.i couldn't shine going to New Orleans without staying there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

From the minute you are greeted at the door you are in for a wonderful experience. The lobby, lounge, and restaurant are beautiful. Our room had an old-world charm and was a generous size by today's standards. Bathroom was beautifully appointed though counter space is a bit cramped. Location is convenient and only a 5 minute walk to Canal Street and 10 minutes to Jackson Square. Lovely place. Lovely stay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

disclosure: did not stay on the property, but ate there, enjoyed the lobby, and were impressed with everyone and everything from the parking lot attendants, to the cute concierge (from Switzerland, no less) to the young lady staffing the front desk (a local, earnest and just starting her life). We actually went by the place 2x (long story -- our time in NOLA was very brief this trip). I hope to stay there on my next visit. The lobby itself is worth the visit...full disclosure: feeling culture-starved in SoCal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeperson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
2,515 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,425 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,301 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,661 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the Jazz Suite, the Parlor Suite, and the Bourbon Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing