We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #80 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

A friend and I stayed at Le Pavillon for two nights a few days ago. Right from the outset, we knew we were in a quality hotel. The furnishings were sumptuous, but more importantly, the service was impeccable. We were greeted warmly by Nick as we drove up, and Nick's helpfulness and friendly greetings every time we came and went over the next two days were a delight. I have an unusual last name and he remembered it every time....not easy in a job that's as active as his. Jacques, the concierge, went above and beyond to accommodate our vegetarian palates, finding restaurants to suit our tastes. One evening, he even got up and walked us down to a nearby restaurant inside a bank to make sure we could find it,. Talk about service! All the other bellhops, and front desk personnel were extremely friendly and competent. Loved having the guest robes to lounge in, and the rooftop pool made the sunset unforgettable. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in New Orleans!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,584
    652
    233
    131
    110
See reviews for
415
1,083
109
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We loved this place and would definitely stay again. The staff is great. Staying outside the quarter was a good choice. Short walk to Canal st and from there you can catch trolley / bus. Rooftop pool is a winner, as is the beautiful gallery bar and stunning public areas. Smallish but very comfortable rooms (remember, this building is over 100 years old). BEST hotel bed and high end linens.

Room Tip: If you browse the in room bar you will get charges that you didn't use. Be sure and check that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent five nights here and were delighted with our time. While the hotel is not in the French Quarter, it is within walking distance. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the building itself is elegant and beautifully maintained. We loved the rooftop pool and hot tub with views of downtown and, in the distance, the Mississippi River. Plus the morning coffee was very good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a great time here, the hotels main areas are lovely and gracious, when you get to the rooms they are a bit more what you might expect from an older hotel. The staff was amazing and could not do enough for you, and because we had a medical emergency when we were there, this was really appreciated. Our bathroom/ bathtub may have stood to have been updated/ cleaned (crumbly bathtub,dust bunnies on the valanced shower curtain, other peoples hair in the corners), but overall a good choice. My boyfriend wanted to be away from the main part of the French Quarter, and this hotel is about 4-5 blocks from canal street. There is a nice local market about 2 blocks away (Rouse's) where you can get drinks, snacks, etc, There is a peanut butter and jelly snack nightly in the lobby (not a huge fan of pb&j but went down to check it out the first night). Did not get to the pool/ spa, but had a look and it is lovely. Ate a dinner and a breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was pretty good, although there are so many amazing restarants nearby you might not get a chance to try the hotel restaurant.

All in all, a really good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Le Pavillion Hotel is a lovely old hotel within walking distance of the French Quarter. The location is wonderful with restaurants and bars close but not so close that you are kept awake all night due to party animals! The room was very nice and we got lots of benefits by being a member of the Leading Hotels of the World club! Our room was right across from the elevator so it was noisy at times but it really did not bother us…but request a room midway down the hall to avoid the elevator bells and chatter. The bed linens were fabulous…and the beds comfortable! Bathroom was small and hard with two people trying to get to a wedding at the same time! The bar staff was very friendly but drinks kind of weak…restaurant staff very attentive and food (ordered off the menu) was prepared as ordered and promptly delivered to our table. The front desk staff was not very helpful….but the concierge was very helpful with tips from food to fashion!

Room Tip: Join the Leading Hotels of the World program to get room upgrade and other benefits….like bottles of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a fantastic hotel... Stayed for 4 nights. Great service by all staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Great location and cool rooftop pool. Love the turn down service with cookies every night. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCarter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed her for a business convention in April 2014. The convention rate was $150/nt which seemed fair. The hotel is reasonably nice although many of the features seem to be quite old. The fitness center machines and Jacuzzi seem to be about to be about 20 years old.

The hotel puts out peanut butter and Jelly sandwiches which is an interesting tradition. I found the hotel to be a reasonably close walk to most of what I wanted to see. I was also nice for the small convention we had (60 people).

The room was pretty nice. The safe is old school with a key. Not a big deal. The drapes do actually close. This was not obvious to me immediately. The tubs are fairly small and older. There is a desk, frig, and microwave in the rooms.

The mattresses seemed older to me. They are extremely soft and you fall into them like an old mattress which I assume is the case. Maybe I am missing something and this is another style of mattress that I am not accustomed to. Nevertheless I slept fine. The pillows are nice feather pillows which I enjoyed.

I enjoyed running in the area. It turns out what people do is run on the street car tracks on St. Charles Avenue running against the street car traffic. There are not that many street cars in the morning and they go very slow. You can run on the side when a street car comes. There is a park about 4 miles from the hotel that is nice to run to. Running on St. Charles Ave is very nice as there as many large house to see. You also can run mostly continuously.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator. Pool and fitness room is on top floor. Top floor seems like a good location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing