We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My excellent stay at Le Pavillion”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #83 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a grand old world hotel with charm and character. The staff makes your stay warm and comfortable displaying courteous service with each encounter. The night time snack of PB&J is classic and memorable. Would go stay here for all of my New Orleans visits!

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and get the double queen for more value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwenesta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,226 - 1,232 of 2,860 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The ambiance of this hotel was perfect for getting that historical feeling of New Orleans. From the moment that we arrived we felt like very welcome guests. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were professional, friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant served wonderful food and their buffet was exceptional. On the last day of our trip we checked out and the hotel kept our luggage locked up until we needed to catch our flight. We went on an outdoor tour and approximately 30 minutes into the tour there was a huge downpour and we were soaked to the bone. We returned to the hotel and explained our situation. They allowed us back into our room to dry out and change our clothes so we could go home not only refreshed, but also dry. Our next trip we will definitely be staying at the Le Pavillon Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1wholovestravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

As a history buff was worth the stay just to experience the place. The building dates back to the 1890’s and is chucked full of history. Located within walking distance of the the river front, convention center and the French Quarter it’s a great place to stay. Due to the age of the building, you have to forgive how dated the rooms are, they are all kept very clean and the staff does it’s very best to make you feel at home.

Be sure to take a few minutes in the evening and enjoy the view from the pool on the top of the building, it’s a great place to get a way for a few.

Positives - Complimentary PB&J sandwiches in the evening served downstairs to help you fall asleep. The staff, the atmosphere - totally French and totally New Orleans!

Negatives - A bit on the pricy side, but then again so is everything in the Big Easy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brimil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We (my wife and I) did a trip to New Orleans in July and with TripAdvisor help we booked the Le Pavillion. We like it a lot, close to the French area. The staff helped us will all we needed, very friendly, etc... (the best of all).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pretinha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is quietly elegant and full of old-world charm. The service staff was unfailingly professional, polite, and personable. Its location made it easy to get to many of the places we wanted to visit. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Le Pavillon is an older hotel with charm. The hotel provides a great location that is adjacent to but not in the quarter. You have to trek about five blocks to get to the middle of the quarter but for most grownups, this is a good thing. You are close enough to have a good time without being forced to try and sleep in the middle of it all.

The hotel is older and you have to be prepared for what that entails to the downside:
-Limited elevator service
-Smaller bathrooms
-Limited storage

On the plus side, you will find:
-Great free wifi
-A charming bar in the lobby
-Great location

The valet parking is a hose job at $30+ per day but you can get your car any time. The valet lot is actually adjacent to the hotel.

There is ice service on each floor. So, there is no need to roam from floor to floor. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no in-room coffee service. Be prepared for pricey room service.

They do provide a hair dryer but ours was lousy. However, housekeeping immediately replaced it with a good one upon our request.

The PB&J theme is kitchey but cute. The cookies are really good.

All-in-all this is a great place for the right price. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher rooms mean less road noise from Poydras if there is an event at the super dome. HOWEVER, elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rossharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Le pavillion for our 34th wedding anniversary. The beautiful ambiance of this historic hotel and the friendly staff upon arrival made us aware we had chosen correctly. From the moment we drove in, the valet staff and bellhop service was quick and friendly. They removed our luggage from the car and whisked it up to our room. Awesome! We had a great time with my son and his girlfriend relaxing and visiting with them in the antiqued furnished lobby of the hotel after watching the New Orleans Saints win its preseason game. Go Saints! The hotel is within walking distance to the Superdome (an added plus).
I especially appreciated the added fluffy pillows in the closet as I enjoy sleeping with extra pillows.
I found the ceiling fan over the bed a great southern charm which we appreciate in our own home.
The bed was comfortable, the rooms were clean and smoke free. The hallways were even decorated with antiques at the elevator entrances.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mike Lea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 167 in New Orleans
2,595 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
1,498 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,537 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,250 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £105 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the Royal St., the Frenchmen St., and the Bourbon St. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing