We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 bdrm w/3 beds & 3 tvs w/ modern decor & lovely amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamothe House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
chicago burbs
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“2 bdrm w/3 beds & 3 tvs w/ modern decor & lovely amenities”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Renee warmly greeted us & carried our luggage to our 2nd floor suite in the carriage house. After our stay ended, another helpful gentleman helped us carry our bags downstairs too. Renee & Jonathon, who work the front desk, are friendly, polite & extremely helpful gentlemen!! Casette (sp?) was very helpful in coordinating our check out so that we could leave our bags with the front desk staff to be supervised while we finished our last trip out to the French Quarter. The alarm clocks have a sound machine on them which is a nice added bonus!! In the carriage house, the ceilings were at least 12 feet high!! I thought the shotgun style carriage house suite would be narrow but it wasn't at all. The bedrooms were very large! The room with the 2 queens even had a balcony overlooking Chartres St. The curtains were upscale & floor to ceiling. The linens were high end & the beds were some of the best we ever slept in!! There is a refrigerator & blow dryer in unit. Good quality shampoos, conditioners & soaps were provided to us. We had a Keurig in our room for coffee & tea. There is another Keurig in the main office with other types of coffee/ tea k cups & apples and oranges for guests also. We were in room 215 which had a living area too. It was a wonderful space for the 3 of us! The courtyard has a fountain & the sparkling clean pool is surrounded by greenery! You can conveniently exit the hotel on either Esplanade or Chartres. If you park here,the gated lot is across the street & uses a remote control for entering. The parking rate is very reasonable. There is a great burger place down the street (Port of Call) & a nearby 24 hour convenient mart too. I'm so grateful to have found this hidden gem near Frenchmen St, the French Market & just a close walk to the French Quarter!! Thank you to Renee, Jonathon, Cassette & especially to Lee for helping us find the perfect suite for our family. Also, thank you to the other support staff! The hotel is immaculate & we very much appreciate everyone's conscientious work values & hospitality that was shown towards our family during our 4 night stay here!!

Room Tip: Room 215 has 2 queen beds & 1 king bed w/ a living area. Although there are stairs, the staff is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much for the kind remarks regarding your recent stay in our two-bedroom suite at the Lamothe House! We love to hear that you not only enjoyed your guestroom but also appreciated the common areas such as the pool and courtyard. The staff at the Lamothe House treat their guests like they are family and truly enjoy going above and beyond to ensure everyone's experience is as special as possible! It sounds like the Lamothe House was the perfect fit your family and we are so pleased you were able to discover our "hidden gem" of the French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We truly appreciate all your kind words and look forward to having you and your family back upon your next visit to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    290
    86
    32
    12
See reviews for
199
485
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A big thank you to Rene and Jonathon for taking great care of the 3 of us Chicago women during our mother daughters vacation. Great location close to Frenchmen Street and short walk to the French market. Room 215 guest house is huge! Foyer area with a couch, fridge and TV. Nice bathroom with 2 more bedrooms. 1 with a king bed and the other room had 2 queen beds. So large with high ceilings. Very clean and super comfy beds. You might hear some jazz at night from the rooms. The pool and courtyard were pretty. Everyone was so nice and went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2vacation2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are so pleased to hear the Lamothe House was able to provide the perfect accommodations for your mother-daughter vacation in New Orleans! It sounds like our two-bedroom suite was the ideal room for your family and our prime location was also exactly what you were looking for. As customer service is our priority, we are thrilled to hear our staff were so friendly and helpful. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A very good place to stay while visiting New Orleans. Walking distance to many attractions including Burbon St, the French Market place, River boats and Frenchman St. A little hard to find at first, and outside of building is not impressive, but the rooms are well done, and modern. A small and handy swimming pool and spa, and secure parking for a fee ($20 per night).

Room Tip: Lower floor as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are pleased you found your recent stay at the Lamothe House to be so great! It sounds like our close proximity to Frenchmen Street, the French Market and Bourbon Street were exactly what you were looking for! Thank you for your kind feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lamothe House was a pleasant place to stay while visiting New Orleans. A little difficult to find, and first impressions are not great, but it has very modern and comfortable rooms with excellent modern AC units. We stayed in Room 117 which is ground floor (no elevators in the hotel) King Suite with lots of room (including a small side room that works great as a "computer study") and a central non-working fireplace that divides the sleeping area from the sitting area. The WiFi signal is strong, but rather slow, but functional.
You are about 7 blocks from the main Burbon street action, but only one block from the Frenchman street local action and a few blocks from the French market, so it is all within easy walking distance.
They offer good coffee for a Keurig coffee maker in your room and apples and oranges at the front desk (which is on the second floor in the main house), but no breakfast.
It should be noted that they do charge $20 per night for parking, but it is a secure parking lot with a gate for which you get a remote control.
All in all it was a very good place to stay for a few days while visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: Chose a ground floor to avoid having to lug your suitcases up the stairs. Room 117 is a large King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philobucktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read you found our location to be within easy walking distance of all you wanted to see while in New Orleans. It sounds as though you enjoyed your King Suite and all of the amenities we had to offer at the hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We took a shot on this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and Boy are we glad we did! If you are OK with staying on the French Market/Esplanade side of the French Quarter, this was the place (Hey, Port Of Call Burgers and Monsoons!!!). We booked a king Jr Suite for 2 nights at a very fair price, and we could have stayed the whole week. very relaxing. room was beautiful, LIKE HAVING MY OWN APARTMENT with hardwood floors, fold out sofa, 3 flat screens, fridge, Keurig coffee maker, granite bathroom, first class ameneties, triple sheeted, extremely comfortable bed, and on and on. WE ARE HEADING BACK THIS WEEKEND!!! And the parking lot was right outside my door, and they give you a gate clicker so you can come and go as you please. The pool was very clean with a nice courtyard, and we always had it to ourselves. These guys have it down pat, and the staff was so friendly. I think I've stayed in every hotel in New Orleans multiple times, but I'm here from now on. JOB WELL DONE!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are so pleased to read that not only did you find your recent stay with us to be so great, but you will be returning this weekend for round two! It is truly the highest form of compliment to hear that we have turned a first-time guest into an every-time guest and it sounds like that's the case with you! Seeing that you are a seasoned traveler in New Orleans, we are beyond thrilled that our accommodations have topped your list of places to stay in our fine city! We truly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to seeing you again (and again) at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

An excellent place to stay, in a nice quiet area but close to EVERYTHING in the French Quarter. The staff is very nice. I wouldn't plan for much in the way of the fresh fruit they claim to provide, but there are so many places close by to eat. Very comfortable, I had a nice large room, I know one of our party had a smaller room, but the beds and bedding were comfortable and cozy.

Room Tip: Ask for the building in the back, not around the courtyard, those rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Lamothe House with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you found your stay to be so excellent and our prime location to be exactly what you were looking for! You are correct in noting that some of our guestrooms are larger than others, however our guests find that all of our guestrooms are comfortable and properly furnished for the size of the rooms. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at the Lamothe House this the weekend of September 13th for a Bachelor party.

Rooms were above average and updated. Great southern setting for a group of Canadian guys. Beds/bedding very comfortable. Location is perfect. We walked everywhere. Bourbon, Frenchmen etc.

The pools is amazing and clean. Lots of fresh towels,. Finally, the staff. Rene specifically was working all weekend and was extremely accommodating. Suggested some great places to eat and ensured we had a good time.

Great experience. This place was great for a group of buddies but all seems great for families and couples.

Room Tip: Anything by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are thrilled to hear you found your recent experience at the Lamothe House to be so great! We love to have groups celebrating special events in house as they always bring so much excitement to our property. You are correct in noting that the Lamothe House is also a great place for families and couples, we truly cater to every type of leisure traveler. Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#41 of 164 in New Orleans
429 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#45 of 164 in New Orleans
939 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#33 of 164 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,583 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 164 in New Orleans
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Property: Lamothe House Hotel
Address: 621 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing