We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - Fabulous Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamothe House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lamothe House is ideal. This was my fifth visit to New Orleans - I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We traveled with a group of 13 - it was perfect for us as we stayed in the "back house" off of Kerlerec Street. It felt as if we were living the New Orleans lifestyle - with the luxuries of a classy, comfortable hotel. The best thing was that you could hear the musical sounds of Frenchmen Street. The hotel manager Nikki and the Lamothe House staff were super-accommodating, friendly, helpful and provided many suggestions for us to have the best New Orleans experience. The rooms were well situated; comfortable beds, great bathroom and fluffy towels. The Aveda products and in-room Keurig coffee maker were a bonus! I will definitely stay here during my next visit. If you're looking to experience the full flavor of New Orleans - this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you're looking for more of a hotel feel - stay in the rooms behind the front desk. If you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We are so pleased to hear that not only did you enjoy your recent stay with us, but will be returning to the Lamothe House upon your next visit to New Orleans! It sounds like our friendly and helpful staff, prime location and comfortable guestrooms were exactly what your group was looking for. We are thrilled that you felt like a local staying in our Marigny House off of Kerlerec. We truly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

in 20 yrs of coming to New Orleans this wins as the best value for the size of the room and location. Came with 3 other friends and we all agreed this place was perfect. it had New Orleans charm and its own secure parking lot with a remote so u could come and go, thats very rare! Location was one block from Bourbon so you have easy access to everything. the queen room with two beds is very spacious as is the bathroom.conmfortable beds and quality bathroom and coffee products. the entire staff is very friendly! when we comeback will try and get a 2nd floor room with balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ATL-LSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Lamothe House with us! It is truly the highest form of compliment to hear that we have topped your list of places to stay in New Orleans after visiting for the last 20 years! We are pleased you found your guest room to be so comfortable, our staff to be so friendly and the location to be perfect for you. We look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were in the 'back' house on Kelerec Street behind the main house. As such, we had a porch right on the front of the house where we felt like we were part of the neighborhood. You are just a few steps away from Frenchman Street in Marigny which is becoming the 'Greenwich Village of New Orleans.' Great music and restaurants just around the corner. You can hear the music from the front porch, and more importantly you can't from inside the nice quiet rooms. Beds were wonderfully comfortable, bathroom was well appointed with a great shower. We traveled with several other friends so we saw at least 4 of the other rooms which were equally charming and nice. The staff was extremely friendly...it felt like you were visiting relatives. We were give a hand annotated map with highlights of where to go (and NOT to) which made our trip great (and made us feel safer in unfamiliar territory) When it was time to go to the French Quarter, you're just a few blocks away. I felt like just about everything was in walking distance. I can't wait to come back to this wonderful place and visit with Nikki and the awesome staff at Lamothe House.

Room Tip: I really liked the room in the 'back' house on Kelerec. Very quiet and closer to Frenchman
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stgeorgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our Marigny House during your recent visit to New Orleans! It sounds like our prime location, newly renovated guestrooms and friendly staff were exactly what you were looking for. We truly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Agree with other reviewers.. lovely quiet location but so easy to walk -- to everything! Music 2 corners away on Frenchman St, French Market close, the M. river, lots of food and then Bourbon Street. Great first experience of Nola.

Room Tip: Perhaps a suite for more space. Room on higher floor prevent foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We are thrilled to hear you spent your first experience in NOLA staying with us at the Lamothe House! It sounds like our quiet location just off of Esplanade Avenue was exactly what you were looking for. We are pleased you found your stay with us to be both convenient and comfortable! We hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your return to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We went as part of a group trip, and we thought this place was ideal for experiencing the French Quarter in New Orleans! A beautiful property. The place is right near Frenchmen Street, which has plenty of jazz places, including the Spotted Cat. It's also near a nice café for breakfast (Café Rose Nicaud) since the Lamothe house itself doesn't serve breakfast/food. It's about a 15 minute walk to the hustle/bustle of Bourbon Street and the many bars and restaurants in the French quarter.

The rooms are on the smaller side, but very clean and the beds are super comfortable. This historic property has the traditional tall ceilings/windows and the courtyard is super cute -- made us feel like we were at a villa in the French countryside. There were a couple issues that arose during our stay (the electricity went off at one point, and our shower at one point didn't have great pressure), but Jonathan and the other front desk staff were very responsive and resolved these problems in a matter of minutes.

We stayed in Room 208 (King bed) on the second level which we really liked. Our friends stayed in Room 106 which was right near the pool and had its own "stoop", although they said the shower had an odd design. The hotel rooms are split between the actual Lamothe house and an annex in the back, which had nice rooms but for me didn't have the "original" New Orleans feel. Finally, the pool was very pleasant (and visually appealing), although it was closed for part of our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 208 on the second level which we really liked. Our friends stayed in Room 106 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyjoy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Lamothe House with us. It sounds like our prime location near Frenchmen Street was ideal for you and your group and we are thrilled you were able to take advantage of all the great venues within walking distance of our property. We apologize for the issues that arose during your stay but are pleased to hear they were taken care of immediately by our prompt staff. Thank you again for all of your feedback and we hope to see you again upon your next trip to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel was great and our room was beautiful. My husband and I went for our anniversary and we absolutely loved it. It was on the opposite side of the French quarter from canal street so we did a lot of walking, which you have to do with al the amazing food in NOLA :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for choosing the Lamothe House to celebrate your recent anniversary in New Orleans! We are thrilled to hear you found your guestroom to be so beautiful and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Renee warmly greeted us & carried our luggage to our 2nd floor suite in the carriage house. After our stay ended, another helpful gentleman helped us carry our bags downstairs too. Renee & Jonathon, who work the front desk, are friendly, polite & extremely helpful gentlemen!! Casette (sp?) was very helpful in coordinating our check out so that we could leave our bags with the front desk staff to be supervised while we finished our last trip out to the French Quarter. The alarm clocks have a sound machine on them which is a nice added bonus!! In the carriage house, the ceilings were at least 12 feet high!! I thought the shotgun style carriage house suite would be narrow but it wasn't at all. The bedrooms were very large! The room with the 2 queens even had a balcony overlooking Chartres St. The curtains were upscale & floor to ceiling. The linens were high end & the beds were some of the best we ever slept in!! There is a refrigerator & blow dryer in unit. Good quality shampoos, conditioners & soaps were provided to us. We had a Keurig in our room for coffee & tea. There is another Keurig in the main office with other types of coffee/ tea k cups & apples and oranges for guests also. We were in room 215 which had a living area too. It was a wonderful space for the 3 of us! The courtyard has a fountain & the sparkling clean pool is surrounded by greenery! You can conveniently exit the hotel on either Esplanade or Chartres. If you park here,the gated lot is across the street & uses a remote control for entering. The parking rate is very reasonable. There is a great burger place down the street (Port of Call) & a nearby 24 hour convenient mart too. I'm so grateful to have found this hidden gem near Frenchmen St, the French Market & just a close walk to the French Quarter!! Thank you to Renee, Jonathon, Cassette & especially to Lee for helping us find the perfect suite for our family. Also, thank you to the other support staff! The hotel is immaculate & we very much appreciate everyone's conscientious work values & hospitality that was shown towards our family during our 4 night stay here!!

Room Tip: Room 215 has 2 queen beds & 1 king bed w/ a living area. Although there are stairs, the staff is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazyflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you so much for the kind remarks regarding your recent stay in our two-bedroom suite at the Lamothe House! We love to hear that you not only enjoyed your guestroom but also appreciated the common areas such as the pool and courtyard. The staff at the Lamothe House treat their guests like they are family and truly enjoy going above and beyond to ensure everyone's experience is as special as possible! It sounds like the Lamothe House was the perfect fit your family and we are so pleased you were able to discover our "hidden gem" of the French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We truly appreciate all your kind words and look forward to having you and your family back upon your next visit to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#40 of 167 in New Orleans
448 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#42 of 167 in New Orleans
952 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#43 of 167 in New Orleans
802 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,667 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#37 of 167 in New Orleans
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Address: 621 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £99 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing