We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamothe House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and two of our dear friends stayed at the Lamothe House Hotel during the week of Halloween. We were immediately impressed with the hotel. Besides being in a perfect location for touring New Orleans, the hotel is beautiful. Rene checked us in and was friendly, attentive, offered to help us with our bags and simply put, lovely.

While our friends stayed in the suite on the first floor and enjoyed a large space decorated with four poster beds, fainting couches and chandeliers we were shown to our more modest dwelling located in the back house across the street. The back house is fine. We had the corner room which came with French doors that opened to a patio. The room was clean and remodeled but extremely tiny.

If you stay in room 407 your room will be next to the maintenance building. There is a fence and a patio but you can still smell cigarette smoke and hear conversations between the staff. By the time the housekeepers get to room 407 they are tired and will actually ask you if you want your room cleaned instead of just cleaning it themselves.

There is a blissful court yard with a pond, pool and spa but I am not sure anybody actually maintains them. The pool water was cloudy which denotes a high PH and low chlorine level, the pool bottom desperately needs to be vacuumed and the spa was cold during the entirety of our six day stay.

Overall this is a fine hotel with one exemplary staff person. As I mentioned earlier the concierge Rene consistently went above and beyond to fulfill our every whim. Do we want to go on a mid day swamp cruise? Rene will arrange it. Do we need a taxi? Rene will arrange it. Do we need a boarding pass printed? Why of course Rene will arrange it. Not only did Rene go above and beyond for our group I noticed that he treated all of the hotel guests the exact same way.

If you decide to stay at the Lamothe House Hotel stay in the main hotel instead of the back house and enjoy the great location and Rene.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel rather than the back house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you were immediately impressed with the hotel and Rene was able to make your stay so delightful. However, we are disappointed you found the cleaning staff to be so tired by the time they got to your room, as well as the location of your room to be less than enjoyable. We have plenty of great rooms in our main house area as well as in our annex further from our maintenance building that we know you would find enjoyable. Should you return to NOLA, we would love the opportunity to upgrade you to one of our suites in the main house so you could share the same experience your friends did in their Antique Suite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This was my third stay at Lamothe House and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in New Orleans. Affordable, clean, safe and a great location. But what really makes this place special are the people that work there. Jonathan is an absolute delight and helped me find a fantastic bakery where I was able to get a special order cake for an event that I attended. Rene is the consummate professional and when I found myself ill and unable to fly home as originally planned, Halen was so kind and understanding and arranged an extra nights stay without me having to change rooms. The housekeeping staff were friendly and made me feel as though I was staying at their home, not just their place of employment. The hospitality at the Lamothe House will keep me coming back. Again, my sincere thanks to all of you.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. It is the highest form of flattery to hear that you truly feel at home at the Lamothe House every time you return to New Orleans. We are always happy to see a familiar face and look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was my first visit to New Orleans and was a bucket list trip for me so as you can imagine my expectations were pretty high!! This hotel was so much more than I expected! Our large group of friends all stayed in the back house of the hotel right on Kerlerec Street. We had several rooms including the two front rooms of the house so we also had the entire front porch right on the street! It was a perfect meeting place for our group throughout the entire trip. We all felt as though we belonged there!

The rooms are beautiful, wooden floors, comfortable big beds with all the amenities you would expect in a hotel but the ambiance & location made it so much more than just a hotel…it was an experience!

Everything was in walking distance including Frenchmen Street (which I fell in love with) to Bourbon Street.

The hotel management and staff were fantastic with excellent restaurant suggestions and tour ideas for our group.

I will be back to New Orleans and can’t imagine staying anywhere by the Lamothe House on my next visit!

Room Tip: The back house on Kerlerec Street is great for larger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We are thrilled to hear we were able to meet your high expectations for your recent bucket list trip to New Orleans! It sounds like our prime location, fantastic staff and beautiful guestrooms were exactly what you were looking for. Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our first trip to New Orleans. I called ahead to make our booking and was advised the Lamothe House should work great for us. They were correct - it was a perfect fit for us. We easily walked wherever we wanted. We slept pretty well. The first night some people sat close to our door in the patio area. They must not have realized their voices carried so clearly. They eventually left about 12:30 AM and we could finally sleep better when it was quiet. Other than that, the place was quiet and very comfortable.

It's a lovely older building. We were delighted with our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid upstairs if possible. The steps might be challenging late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_Oregon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We are so pleased to read you found the Lamothe House to be a perfect fit for your recent trip to New Orleans! It sounds like our prime location and comfortable guestrooms were exactly what you were looking for. We apologize for the guests talking loudly near your room in the courtyard, next time please let our 24 hour front desk staff know so they can take care of the issue immediately. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lamothe House is ideal. This was my fifth visit to New Orleans - I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We traveled with a group of 13 - it was perfect for us as we stayed in the "back house" off of Kerlerec Street. It felt as if we were living the New Orleans lifestyle - with the luxuries of a classy, comfortable hotel. The best thing was that you could hear the musical sounds of Frenchmen Street. The hotel manager Nikki and the Lamothe House staff were super-accommodating, friendly, helpful and provided many suggestions for us to have the best New Orleans experience. The rooms were well situated; comfortable beds, great bathroom and fluffy towels. The Aveda products and in-room Keurig coffee maker were a bonus! I will definitely stay here during my next visit. If you're looking to experience the full flavor of New Orleans - this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you're looking for more of a hotel feel - stay in the rooms behind the front desk. If you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We are so pleased to hear that not only did you enjoy your recent stay with us, but will be returning to the Lamothe House upon your next visit to New Orleans! It sounds like our friendly and helpful staff, prime location and comfortable guestrooms were exactly what your group was looking for. We are thrilled that you felt like a local staying in our Marigny House off of Kerlerec. We truly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

in 20 yrs of coming to New Orleans this wins as the best value for the size of the room and location. Came with 3 other friends and we all agreed this place was perfect. it had New Orleans charm and its own secure parking lot with a remote so u could come and go, thats very rare! Location was one block from Bourbon so you have easy access to everything. the queen room with two beds is very spacious as is the bathroom.conmfortable beds and quality bathroom and coffee products. the entire staff is very friendly! when we comeback will try and get a 2nd floor room with balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ATL-LSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Lamothe House with us! It is truly the highest form of compliment to hear that we have topped your list of places to stay in New Orleans after visiting for the last 20 years! We are pleased you found your guest room to be so comfortable, our staff to be so friendly and the location to be perfect for you. We look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were in the 'back' house on Kelerec Street behind the main house. As such, we had a porch right on the front of the house where we felt like we were part of the neighborhood. You are just a few steps away from Frenchman Street in Marigny which is becoming the 'Greenwich Village of New Orleans.' Great music and restaurants just around the corner. You can hear the music from the front porch, and more importantly you can't from inside the nice quiet rooms. Beds were wonderfully comfortable, bathroom was well appointed with a great shower. We traveled with several other friends so we saw at least 4 of the other rooms which were equally charming and nice. The staff was extremely friendly...it felt like you were visiting relatives. We were give a hand annotated map with highlights of where to go (and NOT to) which made our trip great (and made us feel safer in unfamiliar territory) When it was time to go to the French Quarter, you're just a few blocks away. I felt like just about everything was in walking distance. I can't wait to come back to this wonderful place and visit with Nikki and the awesome staff at Lamothe House.

Room Tip: I really liked the room in the 'back' house on Kelerec. Very quiet and closer to Frenchman
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stgeorgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our Marigny House during your recent visit to New Orleans! It sounds like our prime location, newly renovated guestrooms and friendly staff were exactly what you were looking for. We truly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#47 of 166 in New Orleans
976 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#52 of 166 in New Orleans
483 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#14 of 166 in New Orleans
2,774 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#33 of 166 in New Orleans
838 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 166 in New Orleans
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Address: 621 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £79 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing