We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique romantic charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamothe House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is ideally located, on the edge of the french quarter, so easy to access everything but a little more relaxed than Bourbon street. It also backs onto Frenchman street which actually has far better restaurants and music than the French Quarter. That said we said in the rooms in the main house which front onto the street and you can still hear noise from the street in the night, but anyone coming to NOLA for peace and quite is in the wrong place to start with.

The rooms was lovely, it had a huge bed and was furnished with a real feel for antebellum New Orleans charm. We had a suite with a bedroom and a sitting room area, which was very spacious. We also had the extra room for a child, which was great, a fabulous querky room. I would say though that even by our European standards the bathroom was absolutely tiny and the shower pressure was pretty poor - but these old places weren't made for modern plumbing. If you value home comforts over authentic charm then they do have some purpose built rooms around the pool which would probably be better.

The pool is heated which is lovely after a hard day's sight seeing. They don't have any breakfast facilities in the hotel but there are plenty of cafe's near by.

Finally the service is fantastic, both Rene and Jonathan couldn't have been more helpful with planning our trip and all of the staff helped with sorting out a package I needed delivered.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank hnnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are so pleased you appreciated the authentic charm of the Lamothe House during your recent stay with us in December. It sounds like the ambiance of your Antique Suite, located in the main house, was exactly what you were looking for! We are thrilled you found Jonathan and Rene' to be as fantastic as we do. Both Jonathan and Rene' are great front desk agents and we absolutely love having them on our team! Thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We visit New Orleans several time a year and have stayed in a large variety of places. Lamothe house is now our favorite place to stay. Location is great for walking to French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. We arrived early and we're able to park and leave our bags and head out for the day. Room was very quite at night. Room and bathroom were VERY clean, not something we have always found in French Quarter hotels. Beds had down comforters and plenty pillows.

All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful

In room kurig and bottled water and Avada bath products were very nice touches.

Look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apri1ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Woo Hoo! It's music to our ears to hear we have topped your list of favorite places to stay while in New Orleans! It sounds like our prime location, quiet and clean guestrooms, comfortable beds as well as helpful and friendly staff were everything you were hoping for. Thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Whatever Lamothe lacks in mod-cons (some small bathrooms) it more than makes up for in atmosphere, very friendly & helpful staff and superb location (minutes from restaurants and music on Frenchmen St). We were thrilled to be upgraded to one of the large main rooms at the front, especially when we realized the rate had been downgraded to match a sale price! Only quibble: when the guests in the room above got up early one morning we could hear every footstep. Not surprising in an historic building, but perhaps a carpet or two would help. However, we will definitely stay there again when next in New Orleans.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank FredDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found your free upgrade to one of our Antique Suites to be such a pleasant surprise! It sounds as though our prime location, with such close proximity to Frenchmen Street, was exactly what you were looking for. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great place to stay, away from all the madness, yet so close to everything. Housekeeping needs improvement but who cares, the room we stayed in was just fine, the staff very helpful and pleasant. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone going to NOLA.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House with us! We are pleased you found our location to be so great, far enough away from the chaos of Bourbon Street while still close enough to be within walking distance, as well as our staff to be so helpful and pleasant. We appreciate your recommendation of the Lamothe House to others and hope to see you again upon your next trip to NOLA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Reading other's reviews I can see that staying her is a bit of a gamble, but we certainly won Our friends met us in NOLA - they had tons of luggage and asked for a larger room. They got one of the antique rooms facing the street, which was palatial. As we admired their new digs, our host Rene offered us the "matching room" on the other side of the hall, which we happily took, though we were perfectly content with the simple room in the back we had originally booked and set our bags in.

If there are downsides it might be these...if you like big bathrooms, these old rooms don't have them. If you want sound insulation, these old buildings don't have it .If you are short like me you need a stepstool to get into the bed.

As mentioned in other reviews, lots of luggage up the curved wooden staircase might be problematic, but these two rooms were on the ground floor.

There were brief periods without power and another without wifi, but all was resolved ASAP.

The location was perfect - away from Bourbon Street and close to Frenchmen Street. Street noise was not an issue.

If you are booking one of these two rooms, ask for the one under reception which is on the second floor. Much quieter than the one under another guest room. Take earplugs anyway. It's old and it's charming, and well worth the little inconveniences..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mss059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our first floor Antique Suites. Our authentic charm seems to be exactly what you were looking for in your accommodations while in New Orleans. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our "perfect" location as well as our helpful staff. In regards to the power outages, they are not a common occurrence and we apologize for any inconvenience they may have caused during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Love the hotel/ house ambiance. If you are looking to experience history, this is it! The cracking sound of the stairs and old pictures from the late 1800's. By far, the most layback staff ever! We stayed during Christmas Eve and Rene was so kind to let us eat at the master's dining room. Housekeeping was ok, just make sure you get it done before 1pm, otherwise you'll be looking for towels only

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nervegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed Christmas Eve at the Lamothe House in New Orleans! it sounds like our authentic charm and old New Orleans ambiance was exactly what you were looking for. Thank you for your feedback in regards to our housekeeping stay over staff. They now stay a bit later to accommodate our guests that might be sleeping in a bit later. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Have you seen pretty photos of this hotel on their website? Me too. Is it all there as promised? Yes! But wait there is more! I was a "lucky" customer who received a room in the shack across the hotel... You can try and find it in the photos but you won't. Because it ain't pretty. It's a small barrack divided onto tiny boxes that somebody ingenuously called rooms. Why boxes, may be they're just tiny rooms that French Quarter is known for? No, rooms have windows by definition and my did not! Come on, but there was that glass opening above the entrance door (at about 6 feet high), yes, the one that kept the room lit with street light at night despite the piece of cloth attached to it. Hm, but unless you 8-9 feet tall you can't look in it so it's not a window!
OK, now stop and sum it all up: small windowless box in the former barrack with walls so thin that they not only give you impression of direct participation in all your neighbor's conversations but also provide you full account of nocturnal bodily functions across those walls (advice - get lucky and get the healthiest neighbors possible).
And was it cheap may be? Here's best part. It was not. Similar prices were available in 3 and even 4 star hotels in French Quarter except (and that's what killed me) for Sat.-Sun. night. I should have moved out after the first night but was reluctant to argue about cancelling the reservation.
Also the service seemed nice and quite possible that people in the real part of the hotel were happy. If you are adventurous and are in a habit of playing the lottery of getting the right rooms then this is a place for you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OM_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor. In regards to your mention of not having pictures of our Marigny House rooms on the website, that is incorrect as we do have them as the examples of some of our guest room type pictures, as all of the modern furniture in our Deluxe guestrooms is identical. As we are a historical property, the sizes of the guestrooms do vary, however some of our largest deluxe guestrooms are located in the Marigny Annex. We find that our repeat guests find a room that best suits their needs and request it each time they return, sometimes choosing a few they like best (some of which are in the Marigny Annex). You are correct in noting that the service is quite nice at the Lamothe House and our agents are available 24 hours a day to accommodate any requests you may have, including moving you to another room to better suit your needs. We are most disappointed to read of your experience and opinion of the Lamothe House and hope that you would consider giving our property another chance upon your next visit to New Orleans. You just may find your stay to be as authentic, memorable and relaxing as most of our other guests have who have shared their experiences on TripAdvisor as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#55 of 166 in New Orleans
473 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#44 of 166 in New Orleans
971 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
2,731 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#40 of 166 in New Orleans
822 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Address: 621 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £82 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing