We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #72 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great proximity to Bourbon Street, great Hotel and service.
Great restaurant. The AC was spectacular in the heat of downtown as you walked in you immediately felt it! The food and the drinks were also excellent. The concierge were extremely polite and helpful. The shuttle to the airport can come up to the side of the hotel where there it is covered and you won't even feel the heat of walking outside! Very quiet room and great views from any angle. We had the view of the river which was fantastic day and night with the big ships coming through. All the business lunches and dinners were authentic southern cuisine which added the local flavor to our meetings and lectures.

Room Tip: Any room I believe would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahid04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,250 - 2,256 of 3,514 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at the Marriott for a Thurs-Sun after driving down from South Carolina via Florida. We really wanted to check out the French Quarter but not be right in the middle of a noisy area. The Marriott provided a central location just on the outside of the Quarter with easy access to the best restaurants, bars, cafes and shopping the city has to offer. A close walk to the water was also appreciated to escape from the crowds.

Starting off, our check in was fast and easy. The lady who checked us in was really nice.

The room was as bit small for the $300 CAD per night (tax inclusive) that we payed through Expedia but it was clean, had a great view of the city and had all the amenities you would expect from a good Marriott hotel.

Parking was a bit ridiculous as it was a mandatory $35 USD plus $4.50 valet tax per night. We were aware of this prior to arriving though.

I found it very frustrating that the internet, which was $14.95 per day, was limited to only one device. For instance, it would have cost $30 per day just for both my gf and I to be on our devices at the same time.

We were there during the Women's Basketball Coaches Association convention so it was cool to see all the coaches and some players around the lobby. Suffice to say the place was buzzing at night during the NCAA Final Four. I'm not a basketball fan but it was cool nonetheless.

Awesome bed, no question. Large flat screen TV.

Overall I loved the location but my wallet hates me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The front desk was very helpful and quick.
The beds were comfortable and all of the amenities we needed were available.
There was only 1 electrical outlet available in the room (not including the bathroom) which made it very inconvenient when charging devices we brought with us.
The room was VERY humid! After we showered once the room never got back to a normal state for the remaining two days we were there, no matter how we adjusted the air. The rest of the hotel and the hallways were fine, just our room was very uncomfortable.
The hotel was located in a great place. Only a few minutes walk to all of the major attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csebourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel is nice looking outside, lobby, food is good, pricey a bit, yet good. Service is friendly. Rooms are a bit on smaller side, not fresh look, hotel is a bit run down. Location is terrific, a walk from French quarters.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregR11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kori J, Resident Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear GregR11235, Thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. While we're glad you were able to take advantage of our central location, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay. We're always focused on providing the highest quality service and accommodations, and have no doubt a return visit would more than exceed your expectations. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to earn your repeat business.

Sincerely,

Kori Johnson

Resident Manager
New Orleans Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Marriot for 4 days before we took our Norweigan Cruise. We had a great time there, the reception staff was great - very pleasant and helpful making suggestions on where to go and activities. We were in the River Quarter and had a great room - the bed was super comfortable and the room was well appointed. It was great to be so central to everything - we walked everywhere - great location. We had breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant which was great, room service was fast and friendly and delicious and one night we had appies and drinks in the lobby bar- great hurricane and outstanding service. Really enjoyed our stay there - would do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carebear031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

There are two towers in this hotel. One I would call convention central with washed up old rooms, an HVAC system that is on perpetual and noisy overdrive and elevators that clank along. Sorta like a Marriott from the 1970's. the other tower is a modern up to date Marriott Hotel with amenities that you expect from a Marriott, including a well working HVAC system.

So, if you are confused by the differences in reviews about this hotel - it is simple to figure out. Tower one or two?????

Hopefully the management will get renovs to the older tower on tap soon!! However downtown New Orleans seems to be a bit over Marriotted and what we maybe seeing is a management contract on its last legs for a hotel soon to be rebranded as a Ramada or similar brand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socrates1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent a lovely couple nights here before our cruise, as we had always wanted to visit NOLA but had never had the opportunity. Situated on Canal St, the Marriott is at the dividing line between the French Quarter and the Central Business District. It is an easy walk to the Warehouse district and a short bus ride to the Garden District. Hotel amenities are nice, exactly what you would expect from Marriott. Concierge staff was very helpful. We would certainly stay there again. Many wonderful restaurants were close by. Try Daisy Duke's across the street for a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbrkCherryHill_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 167 in New Orleans
2,392 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 167 in New Orleans
2,314 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,495 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £110 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing