We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Service Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #73 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel to attend a conference. The hotel is well located and allowed us to access many wonderful places in New Orleans, including the riverfront. We were able to visit such places as Jackson Square easily. We felt very safe in the area around this hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent. We had breakfast at the hotel and the food was great. That was our only meal at the Marriott.. Our room had a small fridge, but we were disappointed that it did not have a safe. We also did not have Wifi in the room and that would have been nice to have. We could only access it in the lobby.
The pool was great and is a private retreat after being busy on the town. There are also some nice restaurants nearby and the concierge gave us some helpful suggestions. Overall, we were very happy with our choice in hotels. Its easy access to the Convention Centre and its friendly staff were both appreciated. Our group of five really liked this accommodation!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 20th floor and liked our view of the Mississippi River. We liked watching the boat...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoRdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear GoRdrs,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the New Orleans Marriott. It sounds like this was the perfect hotel for you during your convention, conveniently located near all of New Orleans' major downtown attractions. We're glad you had a chance to walk to Jackson Square and the rest of the French Quarter. It's great that you were very satisfied with your room's cleanliness and that you found the staff very friendly. We apologize that there are not safes in the rooms nor free wifi in the guest rooms. We do provide free WIFI on the first floor of the hotel, as well as a safe that we can store your valuables. We apologize if you were not made aware of either of these complimentary amenities. Thank you again for your time and we hope to host you on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,483)
There are newer reviews for New Orleans Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,748 - 1,754 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I spent a weekend at the New Orleans Marriott during Jazz Fest (early May). My room was comfortable and quiet, allowing for a good night's sleep. The hotel uses "smart" elevator technology which makes the trip to your specific floor much quicker and more efficient. So, you don't have to dread the trip back up to the room if you forget something. The hotel lobby bar area is huge and a great place to relax with comfortable seating. The hotel is located in the southeast section of the French Quarter with lots of great restaurants, shops, and bars in the adjacent blocks. I dined in the hotel's restaurant (5 Fifty 5) my first night in town. I had a gumbo appetizer and a salmon entree … both were great and the salmon was cooked perfectly. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again the next time I travel to New Orleans.

Room Tip: There are great views from the higher floors. I was on the 21st floor of the River Tower.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Tim,

It's wonderful that you had a great Jazz Fest visit with us. We're delighted that you really enjoyed Miss Debbie's award-winning gumbo at 5Fifty5, as well as the salmon. It's also fantastic that you experienced the friendly and helpful service typical of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we hope to have the chance to host you for Jazz Fest 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We just left the Marriott for the second time this trip. Located just at the border of the French Quarter, it was very easy to walk to where we wanted to go, be it the French Quarter, along the Mississippi or into the Warehouse district. The staff were very helpful - we checked out two days ago, spent four hours at the airport and returned to the hotel after American Airlines cancelled our flight (not so helpful staff at AA) - and on our return, they set us up in an even bigger room and made sure the whole stay was very enjoyable for us. There is a good gym and pool which was great for some daily exercise and to pass some of the heat of the day and the hotel restaurant has quite good food - we ate there once due to apocalyptic rain that prevented us from really walking even a few feet away from the hotel.
I heard some people being disappointed with the hotel, annoyed that there wasn't a jacuzzi or that the place may not be as modern as others and to them I say check out the amenities before you come, think about the weather that New Orleans buildings have to suffer through and also, consider that it is a four star hotel, not some palace in Dubai. We had a very comfortable stay.
The hotel is very air conditioned so if you're like me and get cold easily, bring something to put on if you're in the conference rooms or in the lobby etc. Otherwise, really couldn't fault the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. If you have to choose between a room with a fridge and one without, don...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noush777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Noush777,

We're glad to hear that you had not just one but two comfortable stays at the New Orleans Marriott! Thanks for taking the time to post your experience. It's unfortunate that you had to experience that flight cancellation, but we're so pleased that our staff was able to make your second stay an enjoyable one. It's also great to hear that you were impressed by the cuisine at 5Fifty5, our restaurant which features award-winning gumbo and a delicious new neo-Creole menu. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your future trips to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my dad's retirement as well as the Jazz Fest.
Justin checked us in at the front desk, and even though we arrived very late at night, he welcomed us very nicely, and as soon as I mentioned about my dad's retirement, he offered a suite room upgrade for very reasonable price. My dad was stunned with the idea and he enjoyed every bit of it. Not only that Justin offered free drink/appetizer for us to celebrate! My mom's eyes were falling out of her face from the happiness and kindness. Never had such an outstanding service in the past.
House keepers were friendly and nice, understood every need we requested. A+!

Another awesome thing about this place was the concierge.
I regret not remembering this gentleman's name, but he went waaaaay out of his way to arrange my requests. He was very professional, efficient, and elegant. My parents enjoyed his service so much.

Bell Captains Keith great too, I asked him where to eat and he gave me tips and tricks if there was a huge line at the restaurant.

Oh forgot to mention about the cab-manager Mike. He was so much fun, and I just couldn't wait to get a cab from him every day at the main front door.

I don't know what it is about this hotel, but everything was beyond my expectations.
Maybe it's the southern hospitality or the whole jazz festival fever, greatest experience, and I'd love to go back to stay again.
Thanks Marriott for making our first NO experience such a memorable trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekkachan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear ekkachan s,

It is such a pleasure to hear that we made your father's retirement celebration and your first visit to New Orleans a truly exceptional experience. We love stories about our hosts hosting brilliantly, as Justin, Keith and Mike certainly did in your case. It's also great to know that you attended Jazz Fest, one of our cities' premiere music festivals. We hope to have the opportunity to amaze you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Business convention - Very nice hotel. Room was spotless and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Valet parking was easy, but expensive. Extremely convenient to French Quarter and popular sites and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Randy,

What a delight it was to read your review! It's fantastic to hear that you found your room spotless and comfortable. We are so proud of our housekeeping staff, who is known for not only their thorough cleaning but also their personalized service. It's also great that you found the staff helpful and friendly, which is something we often hear from guests. We are sorry that you found the valet cost expensive; our valet is similarly priced to our hotels in our neighborhood, which is a very high demand downtown area. There are nearby self-parking options for any guests who find valet cost-prohibitive. Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for Jazz fest weekend and to attend a conference. Front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. The elevators use a system where you punch in which floor you are going to then get assigned one of 7 elevators. Once you're in, there are no buttons to press. Apparently it's more efficient. The rooms are fine, clean, but nothing special. See if you can get a room facing the river. The gym and pool are on the 5th floor. There are 2 small rooms with several treadmills and ellipticals available. One small weight rack. The pool area is nice, and there are 2 heated pools (one very shallow). The problem for us was the sun was blocked by the nearby tall hotel buildings for most of the day so it was actually too cold (usually not a problem in NOLA). The conference rooms and food were nice. The concierge level lounge serves breakfast daily and is fairly small. The hotel is ideally located a short walk away from Bourbon St, Royal St, and Decatur St and the Mississippi. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havefuneatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Havefuneatwell,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We're glad to hear you had a great Jazz Fest and conference experience with us. It's wonderful to hear that you found us ideally located on scenic Canal Street, nestled by the French Quarter, the Mississippi, and close to Harrah's Casino It's also great that you were able to enjoy lounging by the pool, although we do apologize for any shadows! It would be our pleasure to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great place to stay during jazz fest, nice size rooms, heated pools, ideal location enough street traffic to feel safe but not as noisy as staying on Bourbon St; Centrally located to all the major ave (Decatur, Royal, Bourbon etc); Nice restaurants, helpful and friendly staff

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Caren,

We're glad you had a great stay during your trip from Brooklyn. We definitely agree about our central location. It's so nice to walk out of our lobby doors and immediately begin exploring the French Quarter, whether you prefer the Royal Street art galleries, the museums, the major landmarks like Jackson Square, or if you just want to live large in the Bourbon Street bars and restaurants. It's also wonderful that you experienced the friendly, helpful service typical of our amazing hosts. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 166 in New Orleans
2,377 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,461 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 166 in New Orleans
2,287 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £109 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing