We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last at this Marriot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First and last at this Marriot”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were there for the Elk's Convention and quickly discovered that the elevators were not designed to handle large groups. Waits of 10 plus minutes werre common (7 elevators). No in room refrigerator, small bathroom and $35 a night to park the car. The lobby bar staff was minimal and one would have thought that with a convention there they would have had adequate wait staff
The final straw was the $12.95 per day for internet service that is free even at Motel 6!.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMW143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
BMW143,

Thank you for posting your review about your most recent experience. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. We value your concerns and appreciate your feedback. We have shared the information with our team to take immediate corrective action. We hope that you allow us another chance in the future to regain your trust and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    1,349
    686
    217
    105
See reviews for
459
820
125
1,173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've stayed on this property at least 5 times before, but this will be my last. The rooms we received, after I had paid for the upgrade, was not what I expected. We had paid for a River view, which we did not get, but I left it alone and decided to stick with what they put us in. Although we did have a great view, the ride to the 40th floor took at least 2 to 5 minutes based on how many were getting on and off.

For the room, we had a clogged tub, that also must have been tied in with the toilet, and both were clogged the entire trip. We requested them to be fixed and I know maintenance came in and looked at it, but it was never properly fixed. We just had to "deal" with it. Nothing better than standing in 3" deep water while showering.

This is a very large hotel and they run specials on rooms, which fill it out on a weekend with locals coming into the city for a break. There were also lots of family reunions as well, with large groups. I'm glad we didn't plan on leaving on Sunday because had we, we would have been in an hour long wait for valet to bring us our car. Also, it's $38.00 a day for parking and not worth it for that type of wait. I'm glad we waited to leave on Monday.

As I've stated, I've stayed here before and had good reviews (see prior reviews), but this hotel seems to be slipping and needs these issues addressed ASAP, or they'll end up having to continue to cut room rates to fill up this monstrosity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamBigJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about the your most recent stay. We are delighted to hear about your wonderful interactions with our concierge and front desk staff! It is unfortunate you did not receive the same satisfaction with our guest room. In September, the hotel will undergo a room renovation with a brand new Marriott design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satsuma, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent the weekend here. It was super nice. The beds were comfy. Rooms were clean. The staff is well trained, very friendly and helpful. The restaurant, 5 fifty 5 was excellnt - get the pizza! Great location within walking distance of french quarter attractions.

Room Tip: Book a concierge room so breakfast is included and youll be higher up away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cab1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Cab1130,

Thanks for your feedback! The homemade pizza at 5 Fifty 5 really is delicious, isn't it? We're so pleased to hear that you had an excellent experience with our friendly hosts, comfortable rooms and convenient location. It would be our pleasure to host you again on your next visit from Alabama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great place to stay. Loved the free gumbo and beignets available in the lobby on certain days. Staff was great esp Antonia with housekeeping. Close to nola sites that we wanted to see, close to the quarter, and restaurants galore. Pool was cool. Throughly enjoyed our stay at this Marriot.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear ctiylane,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay with us. We're so happy to hear that you experienced the amazing service typical of the New Orleans Marriott and we will be sure to let Antonia know she was spoken highly of on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights, only because Harrah's was booked solid but we figured, hey it's a Marriott so it should be okay. Boy, were we wrong. The rooms have no in-room safe, no refrigerator and the bathrooms are so small, you need to step out to change your mind. During our stay there was an Elk's convention and the hotel was clearly not equipped to handle all the guests (no offense to the Elk's out there). Waiting 10 minutes for an elevator is ridiculous. At one point, I was yelled at by a security guard who was trying to control the elevators since there were so many people trying to use them. This man screamed at me in front of an entire crowd of people only because I pushed the elevator button for my floor. When I went to the front desk to complain, I was told that the hotel is busy and that's to be expected. As a Marriott Elite member I do not expect to be treated as such nor should anyone else be treated that way. I will never, ever stay at this dump again. Luckily, after 3 horrendous nights here, we were able to transfer to Harrah's, a great hotel in NOLA.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patmac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
patmac61,

Thank you for posting your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your recent experience at our property was unsatisfactory. We have shared your feedback with our team to take corrective action towards the concerns you encountered. In about 8 weeks we begin a complete renovation of our rooms that will consist of a brand new Marriott design where all rooms will be equipped with both refrigerators and safes. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our location in the future and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We truly enjoyed our first trip to New Orleans! Keisha at the front desk greeted us with a smile and great service. My daughter liked her so much she gave her a hug. Our room was a corner room with such a great view. Everyone that was in the lobby greeted us with a smile, a "how are you doing" and a "have a great day". Such friendly staff, beautiful hotel. I highly recommend it and will definitely come back. We travel alot and have never seen such friendly staff elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrZebaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear DrZebaq,

What a pleasure it was to hear about the superb service you received at the New Orleans Marriott! We're so proud of our brilliant hosts and we're delighted that Keisha made your stay extra special. We can't wait to one day welcome you back to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great hotel right on Canal in the French Quater. Street car stop right at the hotel. When we checked in Maya at the front desk was super friendly. This was our first stay at Marriott Hotels. Would stay here again if in New Orleans. Rooms need a little up dating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otis94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Otis,

Thank you for your feedback about the New Orleans Marriott! We're thrilled to hear that you consider us a "great hotel right on Canal Street". Our guests do love our wonderful location on the footsteps of New Orleans' famous French Quarter. It would be our pleasure to host you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing