We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close to everything to walk to!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So close to everything to walk to!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Went for a couples getaway and this is a very nice hotel. You do not need a car. Walking is so easy to anything or everything. Bourbon Street is 2 blocks away at the start of it ! Harrahs Casino is 2 blocks in the opposite direction. Also a huge mall along the river and a very nice long riverwalk. Parking is a premium at around $40 a day so why get a rental car and you have a very nice transit and cable car system right out the front door for $3 all day on and off ?. We were just there and Bourbon street shut down to traffic about 7 pm. So many restaurtants we just went to eat around 6 pm and watch the street shut down and the Freak show begins! lol Fun Fun Fun trip!!

Room Tip: Very comfortable updated beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear about your great experience during your time in New Orleans. We are also glad that you appreciated the prime location of the hotel and the comfortable accommodations. It's also great that you were able to take advantage of the convenient streetcars and fantastic nearby restaurants! We would love to host you again in the future should your travels bring you back to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    1,330
    680
    215
    105
See reviews for
450
809
125
1,155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our first stay here was great, but I absolutely hated the room we stayed in this go-around. With this great inconsistency in room quality I doubt I'll stay here again although I'm a loyal Marriott member.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
miriamazing,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear that the room you received for your most recent stay did not meet your expectations. We are just under a month away from the start of our complete room renovation which will consist of a brand new Marriott design, the first of its kind. I hope you will provide us with the opportunity to regain your trust for future visits to New Orleans as I am sure you will find our new product to be most comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. The location was excellent! The staff was pleasant and welcoming. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. There is usually some type of fruit infused water available in the lobby as well. Be aware that there is a fee for parking. Overall, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QnA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear QnA11,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We're glad you liked the location and our brilliant hosts, as well as the finer details like our water flavored with fresh fruit and our excellent Starbucks. It would be our pleasure to host you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We decided to stay here after getting a good deal through Hotwire. We were heading out on a cruise on a Sunday and came to New Orleans a day early to meet our family to hang out for the evening. They only have valet parking which is quite expensive @ $38/night but seemed to be standard for the area. The bellhop took our bags to a holding area until we got checked in which didn't take too long considering there were a lot of people in the lobby when we arrive a little after 4pm. There was a choir convention going on that weekend. The elevators were a little different & tricky. You didn't just push your floor number, you had to enter the floor number and then look for which elevator it told you to go to. Once you got the hang of it, it was fine.
The rooms were nice, not very big but nice and comfy. Everything was clean, no issues with that. It was within walking distance to Bourbon Street which we liked. We would stay here for the right price/deal. Check out was easy and simple. Bellhop arrived within about 10 minutes of calling them which I was surprised considering it was close to checkout time. They had a car pulled around within about 10 minutes of getting out there as well. Overall, very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicmicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear nicmicj,

Thank you for kind words! We're delighted that your family enjoyed an excellent stay at New Orleans Marriott before you embarked on your cruise. We always recommend taking a night before or after a cruise to explore the Big Easy. We appreciate all of your feedback, such as your experience with our high efficiency elevator system. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel during the 2014 Essence Music Festival. The hotel was prepared for the influx of Essence music festival visitors. They had welcome maps friendly smiles, specialty cocktails in the lounge area, dj playing some good music. Valet was very helpful with all of our luggage. The room was nice and comfortable with a view of the french quarters. We were also close to all of the attractions and close enough to walk to Bourbon street, the French Quarters and the Casino and mall. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiSkyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear MimiSkyy,

We're glad to hear that you found our hotel impeccably prepared for the busy Essence weekend. It's a great time to visit the city and especially New Orleans Marriott. We hope you tried Chef Rico's St. Louis style BBQ- it was delicious! We eagerly await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luling, LA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott on a recent visit to NOLA to visit with friends, good stay reasonable rate for the area. Check in was busy but soon after we were in line several orher clerks came and started helping out. Overall a good stay, clean room, comfortable beds. Minor complaint about parking, I know this is a large hotel and everyone was checking out, I am thankful my car came fairly quickly (within 10 min). Please plan ahead the guy sitting next to me said he had been waiting 20 minutes for his car.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Luling_Buzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Luling_Buzzard,

We deeply appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us! It's wonderful to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms. We're sorry to hear that your car was not brought out and we hope we can deliver a completely flawless, brilliant stay to you on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during a recent business trip. When you walk in there are several police officers in the lobby - hotel is in a very unsafe part of town so don't go out by yourself. My room smelled dank & moldy the whole time I was there, even with A/C on. The towel bar in the shower was falling off, & there was someone else's hairs stuck on the bathroom door which was weird & kind of gross (there was also hair in the shower), so makes me wonder a little about cleaning staff quality. Towels were scratchy & not soft at all. Several channels on the TV were fuzzy & unwatchable, bad cable connection? My door key cards hardly ever worked, had to have them re-set 3 times. Ate dinner on first night in bar/restaurant downstairs and the food was very poor quality, especially for the price. And on last night the ice machine down the hall started making a thunderous noise like a bulldozer & I had to call for someone to address it.

Positives: good water pressure, Starbucks on site, nice staff in the lobby.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AntK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
AntK13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our hotel. It is great to hear about your pleasant interactions with our staff! Unfortunately, you did not experience the same satisfaction in our guest room. I certainly apologize for the inconvenience it brought you on your trip, and I have reached out to our housekeeping team to re-energize training in our guest rooms. Again, please accept our sincere apologies for any trouble we have caused you, and we hope that you will allow us another chance in the future to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#58 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing