We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Great Location, Almost-Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melrose Mansion
Ranked #24 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Location, Almost-Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

First of all, I want to thank the amazing staff of the Melrose Mansion for helping to make our stay in New Orleans so amazing! We ended up getting "stuck" in the freeze for an extra day and the staff was so helpful and accommodating in letting us stay an extra night at a great rate.

The Melrose Mansion is an awesome, restored mansion that is super clean and updated. The lobby is comfortable but modern, and the rooms are very nice. We stayed in a Master Suite, which is really just a very large room with some antique furniture. I feel like we were probably in one of the least desirable rooms, simply because the windows opened up onto a wall, so no real sunlight or view, and the room was a little sparsely furnished, with somewhat uncomfortable antique chairs and no real sitting options other than the bed. BUT the room was large, the TV was great, and the bed was SUPER comfortable. We lounged in that bed a LOT. The bathroom was gorgeous, but the shower leaked all over the floor (maybe invest in some way to seal the door?). We had requested a king-size bed, so it may have been that this was one of the few rooms with a king, but we got some peeks into other rooms in the same building (the Napoleon rooms) and they did look a bit nicer. The rooms in the main mansion also looks super cool. We definitely want to come back and stay in one of the more modern rooms.

The location of this place is incredible if you want to be close to everything without feeling over-Bourbon-y and if you enjoy music and Frenchmen St. We could easily walk into the Quarter, but Frenchmen St was also just a few blocks away. We went on a 6-night streak of seeing live music! There are great smaller spots to eat over in that area as well. The Ruby Slipper on Burgundy has great breakfast.

I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone looking for a quieter boutique-y hotel close to Frenchmen Street but also easily walkable into the French Quarter. If you are looking for a Bourbon Street party hotel, this isn't exactly the place for you. It's also great that there are suite options. I am telling my friends and family about this place for sure!

Room Tip: We were in Napoleon 2 and felt that there were probably better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    52
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
145
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We typically stay in hotels; and coming from a big city, didn't' know what to expect at a quasi B&B. We stayed in a suite outside of the main house, so it was such a nice quite stay! Perfect location, and a comfortable bed. I would rate this place a four star for sure. The gym was also surprisingly nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChitownChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

On a whim, I decided to try out the Melrose Mansion. I got a hug from my wife and daughter for it. Thanks Melrose!

The service was friendly, thoughtful and attentive (without being too attentive!); the room was awesome - newly renovated, well appointed, comfortable bed; and we got a great deal.

Perfect night in New Orleans!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silversprung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very old hotel which has been updated but is still on many levels both inside and out with stairs and joining plates to try and cover up the trip hazard but as the lighting is so bad you can not see the hazards.

The steps to the dining area have very low hand rails, well below safe levels.

Room Tip: Carry a torch wherever you go or buy a miners helmet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed three nights (mid-week) at this lovely French Quarter hotel, in a very spacious second floor room with views of the pool. The hotel was period looking and yet stylishly modern. The room had a TV in the bedroom area and a separate living area with sofa and another TV. There was also a small kitchenette, although the only facilities it seemed to contain were a fridge and coffee machine. Despite this the room was perfect for our needs.

We were also provided with towels to use with the outdoors pool, which was small but is a great addition for either a few morning laps, or to cool down after a long day. The pool is quite shaded though and seems to get most light around midday. A (very) light breakfast was included with the room rate and was served in the communal area, consisting of cereal and pastries. There was not much food or drink put out at any one time, but the staff were happy to refill if the station was running low.

I would say that the main difficulty we faced was with parking in the area. The B&B has a small parking lot, however this seems to be on a first come, first serve basis and was full when we arrived. Though technically on street parking is for permit holders only, it seems common practice for guests to have to park on nearby side streets. Luckily, during our stay we did not have any need to drive around, as most areas we visited were easily walkable.

Despite its flaws, I have given the hotel a top rating as we loved the unusual quirks of the hotel, it had a great location and we had a really enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haellostinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex County
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The mansion is a beautiful bed and breakfast. The bedroom was sparsely furnished, but the bed was very comfortable. There was the bed, of course, a large bureau, one nightstand and one chair to sit in. We had an adequate closet to hang clothes in. The mini bar area served as my dresser with mirror. This was enclosed in a double door closet. This closet had a mini fridge and cabinet with no shelf which made it a great spot for my shoes. There was a huge mirror and plenty of electrical plugs, as well as a coffee maker .The large bureau had the big screen tv over it. It would have been nice to have a small table and perhaps two chairs. My husband was there for a conference and brought his computer. It was difficult for him to use the computer without a table. In all fairness, the only other bed and breakfast I have stayed in, did not have a "work area" as well.
The best part of the room was the glorious, large marble bathroom, with a big walk in shower.
Breakfast was continental. I did not venture into the breakfast room, my husband got me some ok muffins and coffee. They provide you with maybe two bottled waters, which was not replaced each day.
The locations did not seem like a long walk to the French Quarter early in the day, but walking back late at night, felt much further.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MASSmom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
MASSmom6!
Many of our guests could end up lost in the bathrooms, surround by the sparkling Carrera marble and oversized Jacuzzi tubs with Waterworks fixtures. We are glad you enjoyed the space as so many of our guests do. In regards to the lack of “work area” in your Luxury Deluxe Room, we do offer two other room types that do offer ample space for work – our Marigny Studio Suite (560 sq ft) and our Esplanade Executive Suite (some in excess of 1,800 sq ft). Each of these luxurious suites offer full kitchens and ample separated work areas.While our property is less than a block from the French Quarter, it is a little further than most from the hustle and bustle of Canal Street. Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to showing you all that the Melrose Mansion has to offer in the future.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The property is pretty good, comfy bed, good price and excellent location. Quiet, yet very close to the action. What stood out though is that one of the staff (Renee) tracked down my wife's purse that she left on the taxi. Not only that, he did it on his day off. Thanks again Renee! The pool was a great place to hang out and we met many people there.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dnumerow!
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, at the Melrose Mansion. Our team takes great pride in going above and beyond for each of our valued guests, and this situation was no different. Even upon departure each visitor remains a part of our family, and we take care of our family! We look forward to welcoming you back for more pool-side socializing.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#23 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Property: Melrose Mansion
Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing