We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Blend of the past and the present.”
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melrose Mansion
Ranked #15 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I loved the hotel. It is close to everything. The staff is really helpful, the rooms were modern and clean. The rooms are very contemporary. This a great boutique hotel. They do serve wine and cheese for the guest in the afternoon and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Located between the Quarter and Frenchman Street, the Melrose Mansion provides an ideal place to stay when visiting New Orleans - 3 blocks from Frenchman St and right on the edge of the French Quarter. The pool is great. The room walls are a little thin but we were never in the room all that much anyway. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable.Continental breakfast was simple but satisfactory. I would highly recommend staying at the Melrose to anyone travelling to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldenGopher31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Both my husband and I work in corporate hotels in a very busy tourist destination, we are extremely picky about hotel rooms and service. That being said, Melrose Mansion went above and beyond our expectations. Brian at the front desk was amazing, I would hire him in a heartbeat. You can tell he loves his property and loves his job. We extended our stay by three nights because we loved the hotel so much. The gym is unexpected, but is great we loved the yoga room! The Executive Suite is AMAZING! The Wolf appliances are top notch, the kitchen is spacious and would be great for entertaining. The bed is COMFORTABLE, the large soaking tub is a MUST! We moved for our remaining nights to a Junior Suite, also amazing! The staff did the room move effortlessly and easily. The price they are charging for their rooms are very affordable, I really think based on the service and the size of the rooms they could charge much more. The location is great, walkable to Bourbon and Frenchman's street. Buffa's the bar and restaurant across the street is great, there is also a nice convenient store just a block away which you can get everything to stock your fridge. The only thing that was missing in the rooms is laundry detergent for the washing machines. The wine and cheese in the afternoon was a great touch! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive Suite and a Junior Suite, both were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keywestkasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

First of all, I want to thank the amazing staff of the Melrose Mansion for helping to make our stay in New Orleans so amazing! We ended up getting "stuck" in the freeze for an extra day and the staff was so helpful and accommodating in letting us stay an extra night at a great rate.

The Melrose Mansion is an awesome, restored mansion that is super clean and updated. The lobby is comfortable but modern, and the rooms are very nice. We stayed in a Master Suite, which is really just a very large room with some antique furniture. I feel like we were probably in one of the least desirable rooms, simply because the windows opened up onto a wall, so no real sunlight or view, and the room was a little sparsely furnished, with somewhat uncomfortable antique chairs and no real sitting options other than the bed. BUT the room was large, the TV was great, and the bed was SUPER comfortable. We lounged in that bed a LOT. The bathroom was gorgeous, but the shower leaked all over the floor (maybe invest in some way to seal the door?). We had requested a king-size bed, so it may have been that this was one of the few rooms with a king, but we got some peeks into other rooms in the same building (the Napoleon rooms) and they did look a bit nicer. The rooms in the main mansion also looks super cool. We definitely want to come back and stay in one of the more modern rooms.

The location of this place is incredible if you want to be close to everything without feeling over-Bourbon-y and if you enjoy music and Frenchmen St. We could easily walk into the Quarter, but Frenchmen St was also just a few blocks away. We went on a 6-night streak of seeing live music! There are great smaller spots to eat over in that area as well. The Ruby Slipper on Burgundy has great breakfast.

I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone looking for a quieter boutique-y hotel close to Frenchmen Street but also easily walkable into the French Quarter. If you are looking for a Bourbon Street party hotel, this isn't exactly the place for you. It's also great that there are suite options. I am telling my friends and family about this place for sure!

Room Tip: We were in Napoleon 2 and felt that there were probably better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We typically stay in hotels; and coming from a big city, didn't' know what to expect at a quasi B&B. We stayed in a suite outside of the main house, so it was such a nice quite stay! Perfect location, and a comfortable bed. I would rate this place a four star for sure. The gym was also surprisingly nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChitownChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

On a whim, I decided to try out the Melrose Mansion. I got a hug from my wife and daughter for it. Thanks Melrose!

The service was friendly, thoughtful and attentive (without being too attentive!); the room was awesome - newly renovated, well appointed, comfortable bed; and we got a great deal.

Perfect night in New Orleans!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silversprung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very old hotel which has been updated but is still on many levels both inside and out with stairs and joining plates to try and cover up the trip hazard but as the lighting is so bad you can not see the hazards.

The steps to the dining area have very low hand rails, well below safe levels.

Room Tip: Carry a torch wherever you go or buy a miners helmet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,522 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,348 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £105 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing