We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the action with lots of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My friend and I were looking for a place with true New Orleans character and the Olivier House certainly fit the bill. It starts when you have to duck your head around the majestic spiral staircase and make your way to the tiny (and I do mean tiny) elevator. The room was large and the bathroom was very nicely updated. We upgraded to a room with a balcony which would have been great if the weather had been warmer. The staff was very helpful and make sure you take advantage of the free beverages in the lounge. Do be aware that there are lots of steps to navigate and the floors aren't always level. If you're a light sleeper you should opt for a inner room or one facing the courtyard. The street side room had a lot of street noise.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I came down for our anniversary and luckily chose the oliver house too stay. We wanted to stay all 5 nights of our visit but it was sold out during the weekend. The staff were great answered all questions the hotel room was clean. We will stay at the oliver house again. The bed was very comfortable the pillows were memmory foam., the decor was great the balcony room was worth the extra.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carter1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I recently reserved a room at Olivier House for a three-day-long stay celebrating an anniversary. Upon arrival, I was told my room had been upgraded. We settled in the beautiful and clean room only to find that we could hear construction in the room next door. We called the front desk and upon confirming that the construction would not be complete until tomorrow, the representative helping us upgraded us again into "The Cottage," which is honestly an incredible space.

I chose Olivier House because I had a good experience during a prior stay, and because the location of the hotel is IMO the best in New Orleans.

Throughout the course of my stay, I interacted with five different associates - all of whom were exemplary. They fulfilled all requests quickly, completely, and with an excellent attitude. I asked a front desk representative for a restaurant recommendation based on certain specifications and he gave one that was not only good, but profound.

I can't say enough good about this place. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shuamclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The look, the feel and the staff are the classic embodiment of new orleans. Incredibly friendly staff, clasically decorated rooms right in the heart of New Orleans. A nice little pool situated in the center of the rooms and suites. We had both a standard room and a suite for our group. My only complaint would be the proximity to bourbon street, which can be a bit much with the trash and rodents. Seroius charm though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Olivier House Jan 30th through Feb 3rd. This Hotel was everything we hoped for and more. Its a classic NOLA hotel with lots of charm and that mysterious feel that you hope to find. The Olivier's location is close to all the action on Bourbon St and other attractions in the French Quarter, we walked all over the city from the Olivier. The Hotel has some cool balcony rooms on Toulouse St and some more facing the inner court yard and pool. This place is old and you can feel the history of the city when you go inside. The staff is wonderful and helpful we even got an upgrade half way through our stay. If I can score Sugar Bowl tix I know where we're staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vet512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I could go on for hours and hours about this hotel. There is nothing I do not love. The honeymoon suite with its private balcony and adjoining setting room is a must see for anyone who loves French Quarter charm. I recommend this hotel to everyone who will listen.

The Olivier House is a family run business since the 70s and the staff is super friendly and very accommodating! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our second stay at the Olivier House and they will always be our hotel for New Orleans. They were so accomodating to us this weekend due to weather issues. Bobby and John were so nice. We appreciate everything they did for us. I was there for my birthday and they made it very special. Thank you guys!

The location is great, right off of Bourban Street. The rooms are awesome with antique furnishings. They have also started to upgrade the rooms with new vanities and showers. Bed was comfortable. The also have 24 hour coffee and tea with different flavorings for your coffee.

Room Tip: If you don't like the noise of Bourbon Street try to get a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3dsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,791 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,141 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,535 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,248 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £106 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing