We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful, do not stay there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful, do not stay there.”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

There are a lot better places to stay in the quarter. The two bedroom suite was terrible. The furniture was uncomfortable, worn and old. There was mold and an active breeze from outside throughout our stay...say no more. For the same amount of money, we moved to the W hotel and had a fine rest of the trip...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    143
    47
    23
    30
See reviews for
112
242
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This place was a nightmare. I've stayed in many guesthouses in th Quarter and understand that its not like staying at the W or something like that. The sofa had a board under the cushions and the bed that had been in it was gone. We had to go up a very small spiral staircase to th balcony for our bedroom. The mattress was very old and dirty, plus, no mattress pad and torn bedding, The rooms around us weren't locked, in fact slightly open, so anyone could go and stay in there. The pool was more like a cesspool, wouldn't even want to put your feet in it. There were electrical wires etc sitting in pools of water and the bathroom floor, which was carpeted was soaking wet, also the toilet area too. Wasn't sure if it was raw sewage or what. So, the maid bunched up a towel and put it by the toilet. This place would never ever pass a fire inspection, ever. These places are dangerous and one could easily be trapped in there with no way out.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Very casual and friendly.

Reservations were a bit iffy. We paid, in advance, by check, and the check was evidently misplaced for a while. But everything was fine by the time we left for NOLA.

Michelle showed us to our room -- I think she's the head housekeeper, but she's really in charge of guest relations. Lovely woman who gave us our choice of rooms and checked in with us throughout our stay. She's a gem and whatever she's being paid, she deserves more.

The housekeeping itself was a bit iffy -- one day, no towels. They took the soiled ones and left nothing. Not a bit deal to us.

The front-desk staff are friendly, and Bobby, in particular, was very patient when my husband almost lost it over the car situation.

Ah. The car. Free parking has its price. It's the one thing the naysayers posting reviews are right about. We didn't mind handing over the car -- who's going to drive in the French Quarter? But the person who parked - -or moved -- our car left the lights on. Dead battery. We discovered it the night before departure and my husband was livid. But Bobby handled him -- and the car -- beautifully.

And another shout-out to Michelle: When she came by to say "good bye" and hugged my husband, I think a lot of the ill-will drained away from him.

I'm docking a star for the car situation -and for the fact that the elevator is perpetually broken. But we'll be back. And we'll even use the free parking.

If you are a neat freak who needs the sterile environment of a chain or the luxury of fancy hotel, don't stay here. But if you like charming and quaint -- and can put up with a little dinginess, this is it. The location is perfect, the people are lovely and atmosphere is cozy.

Just be sure to check on your car.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

For our first trip to NOLA, I'd say our overall experience at the Olivier Hotel was a positive one. The staff were friendly, helpful, and a good resource for suggestions on things to do around New Orleans. Our room was gorgeous, with a great classic feel for being in the French Quarter. We had a balcony that was great for getting a cool breeze, and sitting with coffee in the morning. The hotel has Free Parking, which is great for us since we drove in; this was also a perk, since the location was awesome, bc we didn't need to move the car our entire stay. Its half a block off Bourbon street which is convenient for the nightlife. Its location is somewhat centered in French Quarter, so it was an easy walk to everything during the day. Felt perfectly safe walking around at night

Unfortunately, all these pros came with some kind of concession. Although the room was wonderfully decorated and seemingly clean, we did find a couple roaches/roach traps right underneath our head board. The walls were so thin, we could hear our neighbors coming in and basically their whole conversation word for word. Although off Bourbon street, you could definitely still hear the street noise. Parking was free, but you have to leave your keys at the front desk and they move the car at their discretion. Although we did not have a problem, I can see others not being comfortable with that. Internet is spotty. Our room was never cleaned our entire stay.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel, for the location the price was just right, but considering everything else.. i think we could have found another moderately priced hotel with better amenities.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank light_my_fire5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This trip was my first to New Orleans, so I didn't have much to work with, information wise. I am from TN and have a 6 year old son, and my cousin met me from Houston with her 10 year old daughter. We found the hotel location was absolutely amazing, its best feature!! I had high hopes after reading prior reviews, and the hotel fell a bit short of them. all in all, I just got an unclean feelin from the hotel. Now, I am by no means a neat freak, but it just felt dirty.
We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, right off the courtyard which was nice. The pool, unfortunately was broken when we got there, which wasn't their fault, so that was a bummer for the kids. But I loved the fact that the hotel was so old, and seemed antique like, I just feel like it can be taken care of a bit better, cleanly wise. The staff was friendly enough as well. I would consider staying there again, and did not let this ruin my first trip to NOLA. All in all we and the kids had an absolute blast and think that everyone should come to enjoy this city at least once in their lives!! It was definitely worth it!!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mybaby71803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

if you've ever seen the British tv show 'Fawlty Towers' it was based on this hotel..we stayed as part of a wedding party, the ceremony was held in the hotel, the staff were really helpful, the housekeeper is an absolute doll, the hotel overall is a little faded and a little worn but then so is the rest of the French Quarter, our room had a lovely balcony on toulouse next to Bourbon, which was fabulous for people watching although could be noisy, it seems to me that the hotel is just like a large b & b, family run as opposed to corporate, and really not all that different from family run hotels in France, you need a sense of adventure to stay here..much more fun than the extended stay..however, it is not suitable for those with disabilites, there are a lot of nooks and crannies and stairs to navigate..we didn't see the elevator. and there is no restaurant or bar although we had a great party both nights and brought drink into the hotel, I'd stay there again

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemadbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We traveled with our toy poodle, our standard poodle, and our yorkie. The room we were given was perfect for pets and even on the ground floor. The staff was so kind to our pets and so welcoming. We were given a list of rules for the pets which was very easy to follow and given paperwork of dog friendly areas. We have also stayed at this hotel just after Hurricane Gustov & it was one of the few that was open. Even in those challenging conditions, this hotel was superb. New Orleans charm and style overflow at this one!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyfarfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Property: Olivier House Hotel
Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing