We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place we have ever stayed at in new orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This was the nicest stay we have ever had in New Orleans! Can't say enough about the courtyards and the pool. We read all the reviews and never say one mouse except on Bourbon Street. We did meet a couple that was staying there with a little Jack Russell and they said it's the only place they stay at.

The location is fantastic. I can't believe he other hotels charge so much.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legos1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights. It appeared to be clean and rather shabby chic, but we defininitely had mice or bigger than mice in our room (on the third floor). We had snacks in a backpack that were eaten. It was also very loud on the street side of the hotel from street noise from Bourbon St.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francisw_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Nice little courtyard and good location. Unfortunately this place is severely infested with little mice, gray mice, black mice, and large rats that resemble cats. That's right, CATRATS. Just spend a few minutes in the courtyard late at night, and you will see them running all over the place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank goldeneagle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

If you're wanting a fresh and new space, this is not going to be the place for you. However, I love this place. Its classic New Orleans, along with all of its flaws. The location is perfect and its dark and hidden style give off a sense of romance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExLocal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I wish that I could rate this place negative stars. I traveled through New Orleans and stayed here based on a recommendation of a friend who had patronized this "family establishment" five or so years ago. A main draw to this place was its location and its claim to be "pet friendly". Not pet friendly. Unless being a friend to a pet means poisoning it and a 2am visit to an animal hospital...but I'm getting ahead of myself....

My friends and I were initially very charmed by the hotel (more like roach motel, but we'll get to that), and quickly learned that we were one of only two rooms that checked in that night. GREAT! we thought, we'll have the pool to ourselves. We tried to settle into the room, but we quickly fell out of love with the place. Dirty carpets, even in the bathroom, which smelled of mold. Wallpaper peeling off of the walls, and an odd odor encompassing our *thankfully* brief dwelling.

Onto the near death experience of my beloved dog:
She repeatedly kept trying to scratch under the tables and couch, so I looked under a table and found THREE packets of loose rodent poison. My friends and I checked under everything, and found two more packets and thought PHEW! that could have been terrible! Well, later that night the dog crawled under the bed and when she came out, I inspected her mouth and she had blue matter in her teeth, and UH OH down her throat. Having no idea what she had eaten, we looked under a sink and found multiple packs of rat poison. We then lifted the beds and discovered at least 8 cubes of dark green poison that she hadn't eaten. After looking online, we found a 24 hour pet hospital, we raced there and her stomach was purged of the poison... AN ABSOLUTELY ALARMING AMOUNT. $400 dollars later, we went back to the hotel. The drunk desk attendant was worthless and unapologetic about the ordeal. He told me to come back the next day because the owner would be there. I stayed with a friend the last nights in N.O. so that I could give 'the owner' a piece of my mind and try to get compensated for the horror I'd endured . I came back two days later, sobbing because I'd had such a horrible experience and I knew that there was no point in attempting to convince the drug/alcohol addled employees to reimburse me for either the night of the near tragedy, nor the cost of treatment at the hospital. I tried to reason with 'The Owner' who then claimed to be only a manager. Needless to say, I was treated like garbage and didn't a cent or an apology from him. HE BLAMED ME! Disgusting.

DO NOT SUPPORT THIS SHADY ESTABLISHMENT

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank twerdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This place is different than what we expected - no bellboy or doorman. It is a very nice group of several building next to each other and sharing courtyards. We really got the feel of living in the heart of the French Quarter.

Everyone was friendly and helpful. We did use the pool and since it's 1/2 from Bourbon we got to do a little site seeing.

The building is very old but well cared for. Has the feel of a big B&B crossed with a hostel. We all enjoyed it very much and this is where we'll be next time in New Orleans.

Thanks for all the help and directions to places in the French Quarter - see you all soon...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Really enjoyed the view of Toulouse St. from our balcony. It was so New Orleans! Felt more like a bed and breakfast than an actual hotel. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. The sink in our room didn't work very well but we enjoyed the lay out of the room and spaciousness. We were in 201 upstairs. The elevator not working was a pain and walking up the beautiful staircase actually took my breath away! Getting luggage up and down was not good.
The street noise was a bit problematic as we were on the street side and could hear the trash trucks running at 3:30 am.
All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxylibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,916 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#13 of 167 in New Orleans
1,493 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,638 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,397 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Address: 828 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3492
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £112 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing