We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I highly recommend the Omni. We had a magnificent time and were treated like royalty. Perfectly located in the French Quarter, the staff is friendly and helpful. Our king bed was comfortable, the room beautifully decorated, very clean and we slept soundly. As preferred guest, we had WiFi access in our room.

The outdoor pool, bar and fitness center on the 7th floor our well equipped and offer a refreshing oasis as well as a rooftop view of the Mississippi and the French Quarter.

The Rib Room restaurant is excellent. Fine cuisine accompanied with an interesting wine list. I found it to be the best quality in the French Quarter. We were warmly greeted every time, even in our shorts and golf shirts. Please note that men with tank tops will be asked to wear a dress coat at dinner time.

A word of advice: the breakfast at the Rib Rim is unfortunately not up to par with the diner in terms of food quality and service. We spoke to a waiter we befriended about the discrepancies between breakfast and dinner. In response, he truthfully agreed with our impressions and informed us that management was proceeding to changes to the menu and service for the morning meal.

Room Tip: I booked through Hotwire than called the hotel to confirm. I was upgraded to a prefered guest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llecomte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,858
    1,146
    298
    98
    59
See reviews for
659
2,099
158
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

If you look for a great hotel in NOLA, the Omni Royal Orleans is the best quality-price hotel offering an impeccable service. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePerrys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My family enjoyed four days at this historic French Quarter hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday. When we arrived I was dismayed to discover that I'd made an error in booking our reservation; I booked our arrival date as Wednesday, not Thursday when we actually arrived. The front desk staff were professional and polite - they never mentioned that I'd made an error and it wasn't until later that I realized my mistake. Even though it was a busy holiday time, the front desk clerk called manager Rob Huntley over who rectified things without my family even realizing I'd made a mistake. It was an example of the professionalism we experienced throughout our stay at the Omni and it was truly refreshing.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and impeccably appointed. As an older New Orleans hotel it possesses the charm and old-world quality visitors hope to find in French Quarter accommodations. The rooms are adequate in size and housekeeping is above par. The parking costs are comparable to other downtown hotels.
We would select the Omni Royal Orleans again and would enthusiastically recommend the hotel to travelers who are seeking a well maintained, centrally located French Quarter hotel that is far enough away from bustling Bourbon Street to ensure a peaceful night's sleep. It is the professionalism and hospitality of the staff that sets the Omni apart from other hotels, however, and for that reason, above all others, the Omni Royal Orleans earns our 5 star rating.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WVeranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Best location in the French Quarter, with the Napoleon House on one corner and Brennan's across the street, street musicians enliven your stroll down Royal and the hotel staff is sincerely at your beck and call. Room service is prompt and beautifully delivered or left outside the door with a discreet knock to let you know it's arrived. Breakfast in the Rib Room has the best scrambled eggs and bacon in town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wgcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just stayed 4 nights at the Omni Royal Orleans for an extra-long weekend getaway. We've stayed at a number of hotels in the Quarter, and this is one of our favorites. It's not quaint and old like some of the smaller hotels, but it has consistently good service, clean comfortable rooms, and has a great location. We booked a King 'premier' room, and ended up getting a room that had a jacuzzi tub on the end of a hall....bonus! We love the fact that the doormen are ALWAYS there to grab the door for you and welcome you back.

Room Tip: Watch their website for rate specials. If you want the jacuzzi tub, you might try asking for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerveza_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for a weekend in May. We attended a friend's wedding that was also at this hotel. We had a queen room that was very clean and comfortable. Some may think that the room is a little small, but this is often the case in cities. It was the perfect size for a couple.
There is a beautiful pool on the rooftop. Great for relaxing or taking pictures.
What we liked about the location is that you can be in the French Quarter without being on the busiest street.
I also had my hair done at the salon on site. From the outside, the salon leaves a lot to be desired and could really use a facelift. However, the stylist did an excellent job and I received many compliments on my hair.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mango_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This Hotel has an enviable location in the French Quarter. It is clean well maintained and has a very polite staff. The rooms are very small but well laid out. The hotel has a very nice roof top pool which has a great views of the French Quarter. The location allows for easy walking to most of the French Quarter attractions. Overall a very enjoyable stay. We would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uh17tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,119 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,223 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,101 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing